Languages: Printed Collection

The Oxford Dictionary of English Grammar is a straightforward and accessible A-Z guide of the diverse and often complex terminology of English grammar. It contains over 1,600 entries with clear and concise definitions, enhanced by numerous sample sentences, as well as relevant quotations from the scholarly literature of the field. This second edition is written and edited by Professor Bas Aarts of University College London, writer of the acclaimed Oxford Modern English Grammar. It has been fully revised and updated, with particular attention paid to refreshing the sample sentences included within the text. There are over 150 new entries that cover current terminology which has arisen since the publication of the first edition, and there are new entries on the most important English grammars published since the start of the 20th century. Hundreds of new cross-references enhance the user-friendly nature of the text, and the list of works cited has been thoroughly updated to reflect the current state of the field. A short appendix of web links has been added.

Two Essential References in One! - Nearly 60,000 dictionary entries with nearly 500 new thesaurus entries added. - More than 13,500 thesaurus entries including extensive synonym and antonym lists - Dictionary and thesaurus entries combined alphabetically - Clear and concise word guidance including abundant example phrases

This major new edition of the Collins COBUILD English Usage is a modern, easy-to-use and in-depth guide to English usage, aimed at upper-intermediate and advanced learners and teachers of English. Collins COBUILD English Usage has been designed to help learners to use individual words correctly, and choose the right words and structures for the meaning they want to convey. The title not only explains what English words mean, but also provides information on how the words actually work. The title covers a range of different areas of the English language, to help learners use the language naturally and effectively. It provides clear information on easily confused words, words with similar meanings, and help with words that are often tricky for learners to understand. Entries are organized alphabetically so that they are easy to find, and each has a clear explanation of when and how to use the word. Each entry also includes examples from the Collins Corpus, which show how the words are really used in everyday English. In addition to information on usage, the title includes helpful grammar boxes, which explain elements of English grammar which students need to be able to write and speak in English. A supplement of various topics, including punctuation and academic writing, will help to ensure that learners have all the information they need to be able to communicate effectively and accurately. Collins COBUILD English Usage has been thoroughly revised and updated, based on extensive corpus research and is now easier to use than ever. With additional information on American English, and warning notes highlighting particular problems, Collins COBUILD English Usage is an indispensible tool for learning English today.

The Collins Cobuild IELTS Dictionary contains all the vocabulary students need to succeed in the IELTS (International English Language Testing System) exam. It has been specially created for learners of English who plan to take the IELTS exam to demonstrate that they have the required ability to communicate effectively in English, either at work or at a university.

This is a learner's tool presenting the 500 most commonly used Chinese idioms. With a practical bias, this dictionary will present: the idiom in both simplified & traditional characters, the idiom in pinyin romanisation, a literal English translation & English equivalents, two suitable example sentences, plus explanations & usage notes.