LibGuides: Languages: More e-Resources

Databases@VTC

Database
Journal

Current VTC students and staff get access to the Library subscribed web-based e-resources through EZProxy for user authentication and usage review, so please use the links listed using your VTC email username and password.

Mingpao ePaper This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a series of digital contents : i) Mingpao eNewspaper; ii) Liberal studies platform (life.mingpao.com); iii) Bilingual Editorial (with English VO)
Net Languages Online English Course This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1) The Grammar Practice course series includes "Basic", "Intermediate" and "Advanced" levels. Each level contains over 150 interactive grammar practice activities as well as an integrated grammar reference.
2) The General English course series includes "Lower intermediate", “Mid-intermediate” and “Upper intermediate” levels. Each level contains materials for around 120 to 150 hours of study.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Brings together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
South China Morning Post (SCMP e-Paper) This link opens in a new window
The South China Morning Post (SCMP) brings you news and analysis about Hong Kong, China and the rest of Asia. It also provides digital replica of the full printed newspaper, "SCMP ePaper", starting from Aug 2018 to current issue.
Workplace English Training E-Magazine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Workplace English Training E-Magazine is an online monthly magazine for people who want to learn business English or improve their business English. Includes hundreds of online lessons, scripts, interactive exercises, audio and video podcasts and more.

Merriam-Webster's Unabridged Dictionary
The Merriam-Webster Unabridged includes over 476,000 entries, 100,000 quotations from skilled writers, 3,000 illustrations, and 143,000 etymologies describing word origins. Definitions are enriched with quotations from both spoken and written English. Supplementary notes provide additional context, and usage paragraphs offer clear guidance and suggestions for words with confused or disputed usage.
Workplace English Training E-Platform
Workplace English Training E-Platform is an online business English training resource for non-native speakers of English who want to develop and improve their business English.

Past issues of e-magazines are available.
more...less...
Login information
Please bear in mind that the Libraries are granted with access right for all VTC staff and students only by the database vendors. So please
a) keep the following usernames and passwords to yourself only, and
b) remember to properly logoff after searching to allow other VTC users to have access to the valuable and limited resources.

If you need help for registration or sencondary login, you may download the login guide provided by The Language Key Ltd.

English Today
English Today provides accessible cutting-edge reports on all aspects of the language, including style, usage, dictionaries, literary language, Plain English, the Internet and language teaching, in terms of British, American and the world’s many other Englishes.
Journal of Basic Writing It publishes articles related to basic and second-language writing using a variety of approaches: speculative discussions that venture fresh interpretations; essays that draw heavily on student writing as supportive evidence for new observations; research reports written in non-technical language that offer observations previously unknown or unsubstantiated; and collaborative writings that provocatively debate more than one side of a critical controversy.
Journal of English as a Lingua Franca
The articles and other features explore the global phenomenon from a wide number of perspectives, including linguistic, sociolinguistic, socio-psychological, and political, in a diverse range of settings where English is the common language of choice.
Journal of Narrative Theory : JNT
It showcases theoretically sophisticated essays that examine narrative in a host of critical, interdisciplinary, or cross-cultural contexts.
Narrative (Columbus, Ohio)
Official journal of the International Society for the Study of Narrative; includes a broad range of scholarship featuring English, American and European novels, nonfiction narratives, films and narratives as used in performance art.
ORTESOL Journal
It publishes articles on topics of significance to individuals concerned with the teaching of English as a second or foreign language, especially in elementary and secondary education, and in higher education, adult education, and bilingual education.
Tradition Today
It focused on all aspects of English language, including traditions, cultures both in the British Isles and internationally.

Languages: More e-Resources

Databases@VTC

Find Articles & More