Bridging the Seas by Larrie D. FerreiroHow the introduction of steam, iron, and steel required new rules and new ways of thinking for the design and building of ships. In the 1800s, shipbuilding moved from sail and wood to steam, iron, and steel. The competitive pressure to achieve more predictable ocean transportation drove the industrialization of shipbuilding, as shipowners demanded ships that enabled tighter scheduling, improved performance, and safe delivery of cargoes. In Bridging the Seas, naval historian Larrie Ferreiro describes this transformation of shipbuilding, portraying the rise of a professionalized naval architecture as an integral part of the Industrial Age. Picking up where his earlier book, Ships and Science, left off, Ferreiro explains that the introduction of steam, iron, and steel required new rules and new ways of thinking for designing and building ships. The characteristics of performance had to be first measured, then theorized. Ship theory led to the development of quantifiable standards that would ensure the safety and quality required by industry and governments, and this in turn led to the professionalization of naval architecture as an engineering discipline. Ferreiro describes, among other things, the technologies that allowed greater predictability in ship performance; theoretical developments in naval architecture regarding motion, speed and power, propellers, maneuvering, and structural design; the integration of theory into ship design and construction; and the emergence of a laboratory infrastructure for research.
Publication Date: 2020-01-21
Britain's Historic Ships by Paul BrownThe British Isles have a long, rich and celebrated seafaring history stretching from the earliest times through the victories of Drake and Nelson, the voyages of discovery of Cabot and Cook and the defence of the realm by vessels of all types in the present century. Much of this history is recorded in literature and in museums but reaches its most tangible form in the large number of historical ships that have been preserved and are continually restored as monuments to a proud past. This lavish book explores 20 of the most celebrated and accessible ships and offers a comprehensive history of each vessel's design, construction, active service and subsequent restoration and preservation. Presented in order of each ship's launch date, each entry is written by the acknowledged expert on a particular vessel, gives full specification details and is sumptuously illustrated with contemporary photographs, historical illustrations and a full set of scale plans. In addition to the featured entries, an appendix presents all of the necessary contact details and opening times where applicable. The appendix also lists (and provides details for) other vessels of historical importance including a small number of working replicas such as the Matthew and the recently commissioned eighteenth-century frigate The Grand Turk, featured in the recent Hornblower television series. Principal vessels include: Mary Rose, HMS Victory, HMS Trincomalee, SS Great Britain, Cutty Sark, RRS Discovery, HMS Warrior, HMS Belfast, HMY Britannia, HMS Alliance, HMS Cavalier, Gypsy Moth IV and HMS Plymouth.
Publication Date: 2016-10-06
Dutch Deltas by Werner ScheltjensIn Dutch Deltas, Werner Scheltjens examines the emergence, functions and structure of the Low Countries' maritime transport system between ca. 1300 and 1850. Scheltjens introduces the delta as a suitable geographical unit of analysis for understanding the regional economic origins of communities of maritime transporters. The author proves that changes in maritime trade networks and in the structure of regional economies entailed a process of specialisation, which led to the emergence of 'professional' maritime transport communities and the development of an integrated maritime transport market with Amsterdam and Rotterdam as its main centres. Dutch Deltas offers the first comprehensive study of the economic geography of the Low Countries' maritime transport sector and its long-term development between 1300 and 1850.
Publication Date: 2015-07-17
Effective Project Management by Garth G. F. WardA practical and accessible guide to managing a successful project Effective Project Management is based around an activities and action check list approach to project management. It provides a guide to the basic principles and the disciplines that managers need to master in order to be successful. The author's check lists approach (based on his years of practical experience on projects) ensure that project managers are following valid processes, helping them to be innovative in their approach to developing plans and resolving problems. In addition, the author's check list pick and mix format is designed to be flexible in order to meet the individual needs of the reader. Effective Project Management also contains some information on the theories underpinning project management. Knowledge of the theory helps in the understanding of how project management works in practice. In addition to the book's check lists of what activities need to be performed, the author offers suggestions on how tasks could be carried out. This important resource: Covers a wide range of project management topics including the project management process, programme and portfolio management, initiating and contracting a project, personal skills and more Offers a highly accessible guide to the author's verified check list approach Presents flexible guidelines applicable for a wide range projects Includes guidance for project managers at all levels of experience Written for project managers working on engineering or construction projects, Effective Project Management reviews all aspects of a project from initiation and execution to project completion together with the specialist topics and personal skills needed to manage projects effectively.
Publication Date: 2018-06-06
The Exclusive Economic Zone by Charles QuinceTraditionally, the law of the sea was divided into the territorial sea and the high seas which accounted for the application of different rules under different circumstances. Concerning the territorial sea, the coastal state enjoys full sovereignty to the right of innocent passage, while under the high seas rules all countries enjoy multifaceted uses of the sea qualified only by the limitations imposed by international law. The development of the exclusive economic zone ended this traditional dualism and ushered in guidelines that are embodied within the text of the LOS Convention. The Exclusive Economic Zone presents to academia and the general reading public a comprehensive study of the EEZ concept as it relates to the LOS Convention and state practice. The Exclusive Economic Zone shows that even through coastal states have the right to develop a 200 miles EEZ and that this right is an integral part of contemporary international relations, it is also true that the EEZ concept is shrouded in legal ambiguities. Using qualitative and inductive methods, the scholarship draws on treaties, official proclamations, government archives, and scholarly works that are germane to the development of the EEZ. Students, scholars, and members of the general public with an interest in international law will find that The Exclusive Economic Zone deepens their understanding of the evolution of the EEZ concept.
Publication Date: 2019-06-15
A Guide to the Collision Avoidance Rules [EBOOK] by A. N. Cockcroft; J. N. F. LameijerA Guide to the Collision Avoidance Rules is the essential reference to the safe operation of all vessels at sea. Published continuously since 1965, this respected and expert guide is the classic text for all who need to practically and legally understand and comply with 'The Rules'. This seventh edition includes the full text of the International Regulations for Preventing Collisions at Sea, with practical discussion of the implications of the rules included alongside all updates seen over the years, including the most recent amendments which came into force in December 2007. The books sets out the 'COLREGs' with clear explanation of their meaning, and gives detailed examples of how the rules have been used in practice by seafarers, as well as excerpts from court judgments to illustrate how they have been interpreted in practice. Written for seagoing engineers, navigating officers, senior crew, cadets and those in training, plus ship operators, marine lawyers and anyone concerned with the safe operation of shipping, this is an essential reference at sea and on shore.
Publication Date: 2011-11-17
Intertidal History in Island Southeast Asia by Jennifer L. GaynorIntertidal History in Island Southeast Asia shows the vital part maritime Southeast Asians played in struggles against domination of the seventeenth-century spice trade by local and European rivals. Looking beyond the narrative of competing mercantile empires, it draws on European and Southeast Asian sources to illustrate Sama sea people's alliances and intermarriage with the sultanate of Makassar and the Bugis realm of Boné. Contrasting with later portrayals of the Sama as stateless pirates and sea gypsies, this history of shifting political and interethnic ties among the people of Sulawesi?s littorals and its land-based realms, along with their shared interests on distant coasts, exemplifies how regional maritime dynamics interacted with social and political worlds above the high-water mark.
Publication Date: 2016-06-15
Marine Systems Identification, Modeling and Control by Tony Roskilly; Rikard MikalsenMarine Systems Identification, Modeling and Control is a concise, stand-alone resource covering the theory and practice of dynamic systems and control for marine engineering students and professionals. Developed from a distance learning CPD course on marine control taught by the authors, the book presents the essentials of the subject, including system representation and transfer, feedback control and closed loop stability. Simulation code and worked examples are provided for both Scilab and MATLAB, making it suitable for both those without access to expensive software and those using MATLAB in a professional setting. This title considers the key topics without superfluous detail and is illustrated with marine industry examples.
Publication Date: 2015-03-09
Maritime Container Port Security by Xufan Zhang; Michael RoePlacing special emphasis on the significant security issues associated with modern container international transport, this book provides in-depth exploration of both United States and European Union port and shipping policy, alongside that of wider international trade. The authors take an original and topical look at the security initiatives introduced by the USA and their impact in the EU. Based on original research by renowned experts in the field, this book provides vital insight for academics, government policy-makers and practitioners.
Publication Date: 2019-02-25
New Technologies for Emission Control in Marine Diesel Engines by Masaaki Okubo; Takuya KuwaharaNew Technologies for Emission Control in Marine Diesel Engines provides a unique overview on marine diesel engines and aftertreatment technologies that is based on the authors' extensive experience in research and development of emission control systems, especially plasma aftertreatment systems. The book covers new and updated technologies, such as combustion improvement and after treatment, SCR, the NOx reduction method, Ox scrubber, DPF, Electrostatic precipitator, Plasma PM decomposition, Plasma NOx reduction, and the Exhaust gas recirculation method. This comprehensive resource is ideal for marine engineers, engine manufacturers and consultants dealing with the development and implementation of aftertreatment systems in marine engines. Includes recent advances and future trends of marine engines Discusses new and innovative emission technologies for marine diesel engines and their regulations Covers aftertreatment technologies that are not widely applied, such as catalysts, SCR, DPF and plasmas
Publication Date: 2019-08-29
Project Management, Planning and Control by Albert LesterProject Management, Planning and Control, Managing Engineering, Construction and Manufacturing Projects to PMI, APM and BSI Standards, Seventh Editions an established and widely recommended project management handbook. Building on its clear and detailed coverage of planning, scheduling and control, this seventh edition includes new advice on information management, including big data, communication, dispute resolution, project governance, and BIM. Ideal for those studying for Project Management Professional (PMP) qualifications, the book is aligned with the latest Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK) for both the Project Management Institute (PMI) and the Association of Project Management (APM), and includes questions and answers to help users test their understanding. Includes new sections on data collection and use, including big data Contains major updates to sections on governance, adjudication, BIM, and agile project management Focused on the needs and challenges of project managers in engineering, manufacturing and construction, and closely aligned to the content of the APM and PMI 'bodies of knowledge' Provides project management questions and answers compiled by a former APM exam assessor
Publication Date: 2017-02-18
Safer Seas by Koji FukuokaMarine accidents can occur at any time and everywhere in the world, resulting in loss of life, property, environment and reputation of the companies involved. Preventing accidents and establishing a safer world without accidents is an important agenda for the maritime industry. Since the enforcement of the International Safety Management Code in 1998, companies have taken various kinds of measures to prevent accidents. Unfortunately, measures have been undertaken in a disorganized manner, and have not been effective. Experts of risk management, the safety management system, and accident models have each undertaken accident preventive measures within the scope of their specific fields, but have not looked beyond the realm of their own fields. This book discusses systematic accident prevention by integrating multi-disciplinary expertise based on academic research, the quality management system which has already proved its effectiveness in other fields, and findings of the author's research. In systematic accident prevention, the weaknesses of a system within which accidents and incidents have occurred are viewed by combining scientific accident investigation data based on the International Maritime Organization model and the accident model. The nature of every type of marine accident, such as collisions, groundings, occupational casualties, etc., are derived by combining the accident model and statistical data. System weaknesses are rectified by the risk reduction method of risk management, and the rectified performance is incorporated in improvement in the system by the PDCA cycle, which is the core of the Safety Management System. We can see the weakness in the system and reduce the number of accidents and incidents while utilizing limited resources optimally to prevent accidents and incidents.
Publication Date: 2019-07-05
Ships and Maritime Landscapes by Jerzy Gawronski (Editor); André van Holk (Editor); Joost SchokkenbroekThis volume gathers 88 contributions related to the theme 'Ships and Maritime Landscapes' of the Thirteenth International Symposium on Boat and Ship Archaeology (ISBSA 13) held in Amsterdam on the 7th to 12th October 2012. The articles include both papers and poster presentations by experts in the field of nautical archaeology, history of ships and shipbuilding, and naval architecture. The contributions deal not only with the theme of maritime landscapes but also with a variety of ship related subjects, like regional watercraft, construction and typology, material applications and design, outfi tting, reconstruction and current research.
Publication Date: 2017-09-25
The Sulphur Cap in Maritime Supply Chains by Olli-Pekka HilmolaThis book examines the current and controversial topic of the sulphur cap in maritime supply chains, a new regulation set to be enforced in 2020. The author presents extensive research on three northern countries - Finland, Sweden and Estonia - and the effects they felt when these regulations were rolled out in 2015. These regional case studies are presented alongside extensive private sector data, annual reports and interviews to assess and forecast how the maritime supply chain will cope with rising costs and alternative approaches to environmental regulations. This book includes advanced regression analyses alongside interactive simulation models for the reader to evaluate new supply chain strategies and study the effects of these regulations.
Current VTC students and staff get access to the Library subscribed web-based e-resources through EZProxy for user authentication and usage review, so please use the links listedusing your VTC email username and password.
Cargo Work by David HouseAn essential reference for merchant seamen around the world, Cargo Work provides a guide to the key characteristics of a wide range of cargoes. Fully revised and expanded to comprehensively reflect the unit load containerised systems that are now employed in all aspects of cargo handling and international shipping, while retaining the necessary detail on transporting key classes of cargoes safely, efficiently and profitably. This book covers general principles and the latest international regulations that affect all cargo work, including cargo types, coverage of roll-on/roll-off cargo handling, containerisation, equipment and offshore supply. A crucial reference for both students and serving crew Covers the latest International Maritime Organisation (IMO) codes, plus key elements of the International Port and Ship Security Code (ISPS) Includes two new chapters on Passenger Vessels and Offshore Trades
The Complete Rigger's Apprentice: Tools and Techniques for Modern and Traditional Rigging, Second Edition by Brion TossRevised and updated--the only book you need on sailboat rigging and marlinspike arts From its initial publication, The Complete Rigger's Apprentice has been the definitive go-to resource for weekend sailors and maritime professionals who want to master the fine art of rigging. In this revised second edition, master rigger Brion Toss expands upon the traditional basics of ropeworking to give you the most comprehensive, up-to-date information on the latest tools, techniques, and tricks of the trade. Features include: A complete rigging primer of essential gear, principles, and procedures Classic ropeworking techniques you can adapt for today's modern rigs Money-saving tips on the newest equipment, materials, upgrades and designsI llustrated instructions for tying knots, splicing rope, and making repairs Professional guidelines for inspecting and maintaining rigs for longer voyages Emergency procedures, troubleshooters and fixes to ensure smooth sailing New technologies for multihull rigs, soft-shackles, Sta-Lok terminals, and more Need-to-know resources including a portfolio of rigs and glossary of terms PLUS rope tricks and puzzles that will delight your passengers
Publication Date: 2016-09-13
Container Atlas by M. Buchmeier (Editor); H Slawik (Editor)This book presents a wide range of projects in container architecture - a contemporary architectural phenomenon. It features container structures used as pop-up stores and temporary exhibits as well as sophisticated housing and office spaces that provoke and inspire while setting new standards in functionality and aesthetics. But the book is not only visually inspiring. Because it documents plans, describes associated costs, and suggests concrete solutions for common problems, it is a practical reference for architects, planners, and cultural activists as well as event and marketing managers, to guide them in deciding what types of containers are best suited to their upcoming projects.
Publication Date: 2010-04-27
Cruise Ship Tourism by Ross K. Dowling (Editor); Clare Weeden (Editor)Completely updated and revised, Cruise Ship Tourism, 2nd Edition covers the economic, social and environmental impacts of cruising, combining the latest knowledge and research to provide a comprehensive account of the subject. Despite the industry growing rapidly, there is a substantial gap in the related literature, and this book addresses the key issues for researchers, students and industry professionals. This second edition: - Reviews the fundamental principles of the industry, the cruise experience from a passenger perspective, marketing, planning and destination development. - Includes case studies throughout, translating theory into practical management advice. - Comprises contributions from over fifty international contributors to portray a truly global perspective. - Provides numerous full colour illustrations to bring the subject to life. A valuable 'one-stop-shop' for those interested in cruise ships and maritime tourism, this new edition from major names in the field is also an invaluable resource for anyone concerned more widely with tourism and business development.
Publication Date: 2017-03-01
Design Principles of Ships and Marine Structures by Suresh Chandra Misra The Definitive Reference for Designers and Design Students A solid grasp of the fundamentals of materials, along with a thorough understanding of load and design techniques, provides the components needed to complete a marine platform design. Design Principles of Ships and Marine Structures details every facet of ship design and design integration, and highlights the design aspects that must be put together to create an integrated whole product. This book discusses naval architecture and marine engineering applications and principles relevant to the design of various systems, examines advanced numerical techniques that can be applied to maritime design procedure at the concept design stage, and offers a comprehensive approach to the subject of ship design. Covers the Entire Sphere of Marine Design The book begins with an introduction to marine design and the marine environment, describing many of the marine products that are used for transportation, defense and the exploitation of marine resources. It also discusses stability issues relevant to ship design, as well as hydrodynamic aspects of resistance, propulsion, sea keeping and maneuvering, and their effects on design. In addition to covering the various systems and sub-systems that go into making a complex product to be used in maritime environment, the author explains engineering economics and its application in ship design, and provides examples wherever necessary. Written by an author with more than 35 years of teaching experience, this book: Describes various design methodologies such as sequential design process with the application of concurrent engineering and set based design factors in the use of computer-aided design techniques Highlights the shape design methodology of ship forms and layout design principles Considers design aspects relative to safety and risk assessment Introduces the design for production aspects in marine product development Discusses design principles for sustainability Explains the principles of numerical optimization for decision-making Design Principles of Ships and Marine Structures focuses on ship design efficiency, safety, sustainability, production, and management, and appeals to students and design professionals in the field of shipping, shipbuilding and offshore engineering.
Publication Date: 2015-11-24
Electronic Navigation Systems by Laurie Tetley; David CalcuttMaritime navigation has rapidly developed since the publication of the last edition of the title with methods of global position fixing for shipping becoming standardized. As in the previous two editions, this edition will provide a sound basis for the understanding of modern navigation systems and brings the student or professional up-to-date with the latest developments in technology and the growing standardization of maritime navigation techniques. Developed with close scrutiny from the US Merchant Marine Academy and the major maritime navigation centres in the UK, out-dated techniques have been replaced by an expanded section on the now standard Navstar GPS systems and the Integrated Nav. In addition, a new chapter on the application of electronic charts will also be included, as well as problems at the end of each chapter with worked solutions.
Publication Date: 2001-04-03
The Handbook of International Trade and Finance by Anders GrathInternational trade, and its financing, is now a key component of many undergraduate and postgraduate qualifications. For anyone involved in international sales, finance, shipping and administration, or for those studying for academic or professional qualifications in international trade, The Handbook of International Trade and Finance offers an extensive and topical explanation of the key finance areas. This essential reference resource provides the information necessary to help you to reduce risks and improve cash flow, identify the most competitive finance alternatives, structure the best payment terms, and minimize finance and transaction costs. This fully revised and updated 4th edition of The Handbook of International Trade and Finance also describes the negotiating process from the perspectives of both the buyer and the seller, providing valuable insight into the complete financing process, and covering key topics such as: trade risks and risk assessment; structured trade finance; methods and terms of payment; currency risk management and bonds, guarantees and standby letters of credit. The Handbook of International Trade and Finance provides a complete and thorough assessment of all the issues involved in constructing, financing and completing a cross-border transaction, as an indispensable guide for anyone dealing with international trade. The new edition also includes a section on risk management, which plays an increasingly important role in international trade from currency fluctuations to political risk and natural disasters. N.B. This covers the principles of international trade and finance that are common across the globe and is relevant to anyone wanting to understand the subject, wherever they are located. Specific national issues (such as the UK's Brexit decision) do not affect the content. Online supporting resources include PowerPoint lecture slides.
Publication Date: 2016-08-28
Maritime Safety, Security and Piracy by Wayne TalleySecurity and other safety issues are more important than ever in the maritime industry. Maritime Safety, Security and Piracy is the first book to discuss safety, security and piracy in the maritime context. The book is divided into two parts, ships and ports, and covers issues such as: * Ship safety assessments * European ship safety * Ship accidents * Pirates' behaviours * Port state control inspections * Port security * Port theft
Publication Date: 2008-12-31
Maritime Transport by Ulla Tapaninen; Joel Andelin (Translator)Maritime transport is the transport of people or goods by water. It is the backbone of world trade and globalization. Twenty-four hours a day and all year round, ships carry cargoes to all corners of the globe. Maritime Transport focuses on the operational side of this important industry, covering many topics such as sea traffic currents, passenger transport, short sea shipping and dangerous cargoes. Parts one and two of Maritime Transport present the concepts, theory and background information, then part three presents more complex and deeper issues such as the maritime transportation of the future. It covers topics such as intelligent shipping, data exchange at sea and maritime security. In addition, the book includes fascinating case studies and examples, such as maritime transport in the Baltic sea, ship strategies in Norway and Greece and the benefits of slow steaming. At the end of each chapter there are questions that will help students to gain a deeper understanding of the many topics covered.
Publication Date: 2020-05-26
Reeds Weather Handbook 2nd Edition by Frank SingletonThis pocket-sized guide will equip sailors with the knowledge to read and predict the weather. Weather determines when we sail, where we sail to and whether we arrive safely. This essential pocket-sized guide equips the reader with all the necessary tools to predict and deal with local and distant weather conditions, whether on a day trip or a longer cruise, along the coast or further offshore. Each topic is broken down into digestible chapters, explaining the origins and effects of the full spectrum of weather conditions, including: - using and evaluating weather forecasts - depressions, fronts, isobars and other coastal effects - waves and swell - weather lore and sky watching. Meteorology is still advancing and sources of forecasts are changing. This new edition keeps the handbook up-to-date, with a particular focus on the increasing use of GRIB files, computer weather modelling and sources of forecasts, especially with the proliferation of computer forecasts becoming available free of charge. With practical explanations and helpful diagrams and photographs, this is the ideal guide for skippers and crew, especially those studying for their Day Skipper and Yachtmaster exams.
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
Routledge Handbook of Maritime Management by Photis Panayides (Editor)This handbook provides a wide-ranging, coherent, and systematic analysis of maritime management, policy, and strategy development. It undertakes a comprehensive examination of the fields of management and policy-making in shipping by bringing together chapters on key topics of seminal scientific and practical importance. Within 21 original chapters, authoritative experts describe and analyze concepts at the cutting edge of knowledge in shipping. Themes include maritime management and policy, ship finance, port and maritime economics, and maritime logistics. A study examines the determinants of ship management fees. Aspects of corporate governance in the shipping industry are reviewed and there is a critical review of the ship investment literature. Other topics featured include the organization and management of tanker and dry bulk shipping companies, environmental management in shipping with reference to energy-efficient ship operation, a study of the BIMCO Shipping KPI standard, utilizing the Bunker Adjustment Factor as a strategic decision-making instrument, and slow steaming in the maritime industry. All chapters are written to provide implications for further advancement in professional practice and research. TheRoutledge Handbook of Maritime Management will be of great interest to relevant students, researchers, academics, and professionals alike. It provides abundant opportunities to guide further research in the areas covered but will also initiate and inspire effective maritime management. , utilizing the Bunker Adjustment Factor as a strategic decision-making instrument, and slow steaming in the maritime industry. All chapters are written to provide implications for further advancement in professional practice and research. TheRoutledge Handbook of Maritime Management will be of great interest to relevant students, researchers, academics, and professionals alike. It provides abundant opportunities to guide further research in the areas covered but will also initiate and inspire effective maritime management.
Publication Date: 2019-05-08
Seamanship Techniques by D. J. HouseIdeal for Merchant Navy Officers from Cadet rank to Master Mariner, the fifth edition of this highly respected book is in full colour, and has been updated to include more information on topics as diverse as electronic navigation and AIS technology whilst still including essential information on subjects such as safety at sea, rescue operations, watchkeeping duties and pollution control. It covers international standards and works well on courses throughout the world. Seamanship Techniques is written for serving mariners and nautical students from cadet to master level, studying for professional marine qualifications under the International Maritime Organization as per STCW requirements. Used by training establishments around the world, this best seller is the only reference to both shipboard practice and ship operations that seafarers will need.
Publication Date: 2018-07-02
Shipping and Logistics Law by Felix W. H. Chan; Jimmy J. M. Ng; Sik Kwan TaiThis book provides a general introduction to the basic principles of shipping and logistics law in Hong Kong. It contains many practical examples and illustrations from case law. Extracts of the relevant legislation and sample shipping documents are annexed in this book for reference. In this second edition, the authors have reformatted some of the materials. The book has been reoriented to concentrate on the parts of the legal framework which are most directly relevant to the logistics and maritime industry of Hong Kong. This new edition takes account of a number of new cases, new international conventions (such as the Rotterdam Rules), and significant changes introduced by legislative amendments since the last edition. The book is intended primarily for students and teachers of transport studies and business logistics management and also provides useful guidance to shipowners, carriers, shipping agents, traders, insurers, bankers, logistics managers, arbitrators, mediators, and lawyers who need to acquire a clear understanding of the key principles in a practical context.
Publication Date: 2016-05-01
Short Sea Shipping in the Age of Sustainable Development and Information Technology by Tiago A. Santos (Editor); C. Guedes Soares (Editor)This book provides a thorough understanding of Short Sea Shipping (SSS) and its role in transport chains, presenting a revision of EU policies for SSS. Infrastructure and equipment required for the success of SSS are discussed, including critical features of modern roll-on/roll-off (Ro-Ro) ships and terminals. Models are proposed for the evaluation of transportation demand in SSS, including the potential effects of external costs, and its results are used within the scope of methods for Ro-Ro ship and fleet sizing. A discussion of methods used to calculate such costs is provided, and a comparison of aggregated demand with and without internalisation of external costs is carried out, pointing towards solutions for 'greening' freight transportation. Applications of multi-criteria decision-making and simulation techniques to supply chains based on SSS are presented. The role of information and communication technologies (ICT) in the promotion of SSS is also discussed. A number of case studies illustrate the different research methods and techniques. This book is a useful resource for students and researchers studying transportation, as well as policymakers and practitioners involved in this field and anyone with an interest in the promotion of environmentally sound transport solutions.
Publication Date: 2020-04-24
Social Research Methods by Sigmund GrønmoStructured around one of the concepts students struggle with the most--the research question--this book begins with how to understand the role of good questions before demonstrating how questions underpin good research designs and how social research can be framed as asking and answering questions. Perfect for undergraduate students new to methods, it teaches students how qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research can be used to answer these questions."An incredibly resourceful book that contains a forensic insight into social research methods, offering the full range of contemporary approaches. Students will find particular value in the accessibility and detail of the text. Each chapter provides a set of learning outcomes, study questions and further reading." - Dr Ruth McAreavey, Newcastle University Supported by a website that maps online resources to key stages of the learning process, it helps students: - Understand the scientific method - Learn the vocabulary of social science research - Plan and design research - Practice with and interpret data - Explore social science literature and improve assignments with good citations - Improve critical thinking.- Extensive visualizations, overviews, examples, exercises, and other learning features, make this the perfect introductory text to build confidence and best practice around research methods.
Publication Date: 2019-11-21
Strong to Save by Stephen DaviesThis is a history of one of the most enduring institutions of Hong Kong, and the first of its kind. Using the Club's own records as well as a wide range of sources both from within Hong Kong and from the seafaring world at large, this is a comprehensive account of the life of the Missions, the tenancy of the different chaplains, managers, and stewards, the changes in seafaring practices and shipping, and the transformation of Hong Kong itself.
Publication Date: 2017-07-01
Theory and Design of Air Cushion Craft by L. Yun; A. BliaultThis definitive text describes the theory and design both of Air Cushion Vehicles (ACV) and Surface Effect Ships (SES). It begins by introducing hovercraft types and their development and application throughout the world in the last three decades, before going on to discuss the theoretical aspects of ACV and SES craft covering their hovering performance, dynamic trim over calm water, resistance, stability, manoeuvrability, skirt configuration and analysis of forces acting on the skirts, ACV and SES seakeeping, and the methodology of scaling aerodynamic and hydrodynamic forces acting on the ACV/SES from model test data. The latter chapters describe a design methodology, including design criteria and standard methods for estimating craft performance, lift system design, skirt design, hull structure, propulsion systems and power unit selection. Much technical information, data, and references to further work on hovercraft and SES design is provided. The book will be a useful reference to engineers, technicians, teachers, students (both undergraduate and postgraduate), operators etc. who are involved in ACV/SES research, design, construction and operation.
Publication Date: 2000-05-26
The Weather Handbook by Alan WattsThe fourth edition of this bestselling book explains how to combine professional weather forecasts with information from self-assessment of the signs in the sky, as well as from websites and apps, to arrive at a local forecast of coming weather. The Weather Handbook is the essential guide to how the weather is formed, providing readers with the ability to look at the sky and interpret its signs. This handbook has been the standard reference for over 20 years for skippers and crews of cruising and racing yachts. The fourth edition has been updated and expanded with new photos and explanatory text, addressing new sources of weather information. There are countless websites and apps providing forecast data, andThe Weather Handbook guides users in how to use and interpret this information for themselves, taking a general forecast for a wide area to provide a local forecast for a specific location. "The perfect introduction to understanding weather" -Practical Boat Owner
Publication Date: 2021-01-19
The Worst-Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Expert Advice for Extreme Situations (Survival Handbook, Wilderness Survival Guide, Funny Books) by Joshua Piven; David BorgenichtThings certainly don't seem to be getting better. On the 20th anniversary of its original edition - and needed now more than ever - the authors and experts behind the internationally bestselling Worst Case Scenario Survival Handbook are back with a NEW edition to deliver crucial advice and guide readers through anxious and uncertain times bringing all of the must-know information from the original up-to-the-moment and adding half again as many new scenarios for 21st century perils. Fully revised, updated, and streamlined, the core advice of the original book is as clear as present as the enduring dangers it addresses (quick-sand, shark attacks, the need to perform a sudden tracheotomy, or jump from a moving car...) Added to this must-know info are 20 all-new scenarios for 21st century threats, technological (how to evade a drone), sociological (how to determine "fake news") and environmental (how to escape a sinkhole). All packed in a sturdy hardcover handbook, here's the emergency instruction readers need now to be prepared for the worst.
Reference Collection and MSTI Book-Room materials are available for in-library use only.
Branch's Elements of Shipping by Alan Edward Branch; Michael RobartsSince it was first published in 1964, Elements of Shipping has become established as a market leader. Now in its ninth edition, Branch's Elements of Shipping, renamed in memory of Alan Branch, has been updated throughout and revised to take in the many changes that have occurred in the shipping industry in recent years, including the impact of the economic crisis, the Panama Canal expansion and new legislation. All tables and data have been brought up-to-date and many new illustrations have been added. The book explains in a lucid, professional manner the basic elements of shipping, including operational, commercial, legal, economic, technical, managerial, logistical and financial considerations. It also explores how shipping markets behave and provides an overview of the international shipping industry and seaports. Filling a gap for the discerning reader who wishes to have a complete understanding of all the elements of the global shipping scene together with the interface with seaports, international trade and logistics, it remains essential reading for shipping executives along with students and academics with an interest in the shipping industry.
Flag State Responsibility by John N. K. MansellAll of these flag States have the right to sail ships flying their flag on the high seas (LOSC Article 90) ; and those ships enjo y the freedom of navigation upon the high seas (LOSC Article 87) . W ith this freedom comes a concomitant duty upon the flag State to effectively exercise its jurisdiction and control in administrative , technical , social (LOSC Article 94 (1)) and en vironmental protection (LOSC Article 217) matters over ships flying its flag. 1.2 Flag State Responsibility The absence of any authority over ships sailing the high seas would lead to chaos. One of the essential adjuncts to the principle of freedom of the seas is that a ship must fly the flag of a single State and that it is subject to the jurisdiction of that State. (Brown 1994 , p. 287) This opinion of the International Law Commission in 1956 on a draft article of the High Seas Convention (HSC) was a product of its time; a time of traditional maritime States and responsible long-established shipping companies operating for 3 the most part under the effective maritime administrations of their national flag .
Publication Date: 2010-10-19
Human Factors Engineering and Ergonomics by Stephen J. GuastelloAlthough still true to its original focus on the person-machine interface, the field of human factors psychology (ergonomics) has expanded to include stress research, accident analysis and prevention, and nonlinear dynamical systems theory (how systems change over time), human group dynamics, and environmental psychology. Reflecting new developments in the field, Human Factors Engineering and Ergonomics: A Systems Approach, Second Edition addresses a wide range of human factors and ergonomics principles found in conventional and twenty-first century technologies and environments. Based on the author's thirty years of experience, the text emphasizes fundamental concepts, systems thinking, the changing nature of the person-machine interface, and the dynamics of systems as they change over time. See What's New in the Second Edition: Developments in working memory, degrees of freedom in cognitive processes, subjective workload, decision-making, and situation awareness Updated information on cognitive workload and fatigue Additional principles for HFE, networks, multiple person-machine systems, and human-robot swarms Accident analysis and prevention includes resilience, new developments in safety climate, and an update to the inventory of accident prevention techniques and their relative effectiveness Problems in "big data" mining Psychomotor control and its relevance to human-robot systems Navigation in real-world environment Trust in automation and augmented cognition Computer technology permeates every aspect of the human-machine system, and has only become more ubiquitous since the previous edition. The systems are becoming more complex, so it should stand to reason that theories need to evolve to cope with the new sources of complexity. While many books cover traditional topics and theory, they to not focus on the practical problems students will face in the future. With broad coverage that ranges from physical ergonomics to cognitive aspects of human-machine interaction and includes dynamic approaches to system failure, this book increases the number of methods and analytical tools that are available for the human factors researcher.
The International Law of the Sea by Yoshifumi TanakaThis new edition has been fully revised and updated to include the contemporary issues together with new cases delivered by international courts and tribunals, such as the ICJ, ITLOS and Arbitral Tribunals, treaties, UN resolutions, and other instruments. It retains the clear chapter structure of the first edition, but has expanded the topics on marine spaces beyond national jurisdiction, maritime delimitation, protection of the marine environment. A new concluding chapter has also been included and presents a perspective on the future development of the international law of the sea. Detailed footnotes and further reading sections, combined with illustrations and tables ensure understanding of the subject. By offering clarity of expression and academic rigour, The International Law of the Sea remains the best choice for students.
Publication Date: 2015-04-16
The ISM Code: a Practical Guide to the Legal and Insurance Implications by Phil AndersonThe ISM Code has been mandatory for almost every commercial vessel in the world for more than a decade and nearly two decades for high risk vessels, yet there is very little case law in this area. Consequently, there remains a great deal of confusion about the potential legal and insurance implications of the Code. This third edition represents a major re-write and addresses significant amendments that were made to the ISM Code on 1st July 2010 and 1st January 2015. This book provides practitioners with a practical overview of, and much needed guidance on, the potential implications of failing to implement the requirements of the Code. It will be hugely valuable to DPAs, managers of ship operating companies, ship masters, maritime lawyers and insurance claims staff.
Lives in Peril by David Walters; Nick BaileyLives in Peril demonstrates how and why seafarers are a vulnerable group of workers. It argues they are made so by the organisation and structure of their employment; the prioritisation of profit over safety by the actors that engage and control their labour; the limits of enforcement of the regulatory framework that is in place to protect them; and by their weakness as collective actors in relation to capital. The consequences of this vulnerability are seen in data on their occupationally-related morbidity and mortality - evidence that probably only represents a partial picture of the actual extent of the physical, mental and emotional harm resulting from work at sea. This volume's central argument is that this situation is likely to remain broadly unchanged as long as global maritime governance and regulation remains in thrall to the neo-liberal economic and political arguments that drive globalisation, and fails to enforce regulatory standards more robustly.
Publication Date: 2013-09-24
Marine Insurance Law by Ozlem GursesThis book expertly introduces and clearly explains all topics covered in marine insurance law courses at undergraduate and postgraduate levels, offering students and those new to the area a comprehensive and accessible overview of this important topic in commercial law. Beginning by introducing the general principles of the subject, the structure and formation of insurance contracts, Marine Insurance Law then looks to individual considerations in detail, including: brokers, losses, risks and perils, sue and labour, reinsurance, and mutual insurance/P&I clubs. This title has been developed with the needs of courses specifically in mind, and its content has been tailored to include the most important and commonly taught topics in the field. Each chapter contains end of chapter further reading to support student research, ensuring this new textbook provides a reliable and accessible gateway into this important topic in maritime law
Publication Date: 2015-02-25
Maritime Law by Yvonne Baatz (Editor)Now in its third edition, this authoritative guide covers all of the core aspects of maritime law in one distinct volume. Maritime Law is written by a team of leading academics and practitioners, each expert in their own field. Together, they provide clear, concise and fully up-to-date coverage of topics ranging from bills of lading to arrest of ships, all written in an accessible and engaging style. As English law is heavily relied on throughout the maritime world, this book is grounded in English law whilst continuing to analyse the key international conventions currently in force. Brand new coverage includes: Regulation (EU) No 1215/2012 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 12 December 2012 on jurisdiction and the recognition and enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters (recast) The coming into force of the 2006 Maritime Labour Convention and the Merchant Shipping Regulations 2014 The approval of the 2012 edition of the Norwegian Sale Form Regulation 100/2013 heavily amending Regulation 1406/2002 establishing the European Maritime Safety Agency Greater detail on piracy in the Public International Law chapter and discussion of the M/V Louisa, ARA Libertad and Arctic Sunrise cases in the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea Expanded sections in the marine insurance chapter Analysis of recent cases including Golden Ocean Group Ltd v Salgaocar Mining Industries PVT Ltd; Starlight Shipping Co v Allianz Marine & Aviation Versicherungs AG and Griffon Shipping Ltd. v Firodi Shipping Ltd. This book is a comprehensive reference source for students, academics, and legal practitioners worldwide, especially those new to maritime law or a particular field therein.
Maritime Transport Security by Khalid Bichou (Editor); Joseph S. Szyliowicz (Editor); Luca Zamparini (Editor)Maritime Transport Security offers a multidisciplinary framework and a comparative analysis of maritime transport security policies and practices in several key countries.Policy makers and industry stakeholders have established a set of international measures, procedures and benchmarks for maritime security. Yet the way these are designed and implemented often diverge due to technical, market and policy issues. This unique book includes both an interdisciplinary survey of the main concerns related to maritime security and an examination of a number of relevant country case studies.Providing a comprehensive study of the critical themes, issues and frameworks surrounding maritime transport security, this book will be of great interest to practitioners and academics in the field. It will also be of great value to institutions that provide courses or programs in maritime management and related issues.
Publication Date: 2014-02-28
Modern Maritime Law (Volumes 1 And 2) by Aleka Mandaraka-SheppardThis unique title examines in depth issues of jurisdiction, maritime law and practice from a modern perspective and highlights the importance of risk management with a view to avoiding pitfalls in litigation or arbitration and minimising exposure to liabilities. The third edition has been fully revised and restructured into two self-contained volumes, the first covering jurisdictional issues and risks and the second exploring the diverse aspects of maritime law, risks and liabilities. The first volume tackles a wealth of complex jurisdictional aspects, ranging from the enforcement of maritime claims to a detailed analysis of the conditions of arrest of ships, including reconsideration of wrongful arrest, beneficial ownership, forum non-convenience and limitations upon the jurisdiction of the English courts. The second volume tackles the substantive maritime law with a particular emphasis on risk and liabilities, and analyses issues of contract, tort and criminal law, causation and remoteness of damages. Key features of Volume One include: Expert analysis of the very latest case law, including noteworthy cases in international jurisdictions Highlights important recent changes and developments in: piercing the corporate veil - State immunity conflict of laws and jurisdictions stay of proceedings for breach of jurisdiction or arbitration agreements issues arising from tiered dispute resolution clauses anti-suit injunctions Timely examination of the EU jurisdiction scheme and the Review of the Brussels I Regulation New Chapter on Freezing Injunctions as compared with the US Rule B Attachment Key features of Volume Two include: An analysis of the regulatory regime, new EU and IMO safety at sea legislation, reforming practices for flag states and recognised organisations, vetting, codes of good practice, and International Conventions. An explanation of the Rules of attribution of liability, the impact of the ISM Code upon liabilities, including criminal, corporate manslaughter, and the new Directive for ship-source pollution. Important developments in areas including: Ship-managing risks, best endeavours and fiduciary duties Mortgagees risks and economic torts New BIMCO standard terms of contracts Ship-sale risks - including sale "as is" and "as she was" Shipbuilding risks - guarantees and performance bonds New trends on wrongful acts of employees, collisions and measure of damages, salvage issues, environmental salvage, and towage contracts Piracy risks cases and general average New perspectives on risks and liabilities of port authorities Pollution liabilities, including trends of prosecution of class societies and charterers and new limits of liability under International Conventions This book serves as an invaluable reference for lawyers, academics, and a host of shipping and risk management professionals worldwide Both volumes are also available to purchase individually: Volume 1 at http://www.routledge.com/books/details/9780415835169/ and Volume 2 at http://www.routledge.com/books/details/9780415839068/
Publication Date: 2014-02-25
Reeds Vol 13: Ship Stability, Powering and Resistance by Jonathan Ridley; Christopher PattersonThis indispensible guide to ship stability covers essential topics such as flotation and buoyancy, small angle, large angle and longitudinal stability, water density effects, bilging, ship resistance, and advanced hydrostatics. Each chapter has a comprehensive list of aims and objectives at the start of the topic, followed by a check-list at the end of the topic for students to ensure that they have developed all the relevant skills before moving onto the next topic area. The book features over 170 worked examples with fully explained solutions, enabling students to work through the examples to build up their knowledge and develop the necessary key skills. The worked examples, which range in difficulty from very simple one-step solutions to SQA standard exam questions and above, are predominantly based on a hypothetical ship. The reader is supplied with extracts from a typical data book for the ship which replicates those found on actual ships, enabling the reader to develop and practise real-life skills.
Safety of Marine Transport by Adam Weintrit (Editor); Tomasz Neumann (Editor)Providing high-quality, scholarly research, addressing development, application and implications, in the field of maritime education, maritime safety management, maritime policy sciences, maritime industries, marine environment and energy technology. Contents include electronics, astronomy, mathematics, cartography, command and control, psychology, operational research, risk analysis, theoretical physics, operation in hostile environments, instrumentation, ergonomics, financial planning and law. Further, logistics, transport and mobility are addressed n this volume. The book provides a forum for transportation researchers, engineers, navigators, ergonomists, and policy-makers with an interest in maritime researches. Covering scientific, technological, political, economic, cultural and social aspects of maritime shipping, transportation and navigation, this booh publishes innovative, interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary research on marine navigation subjects and is set to become the leading international scholarly publication specialising in discussion and debate on maritime subjects. The work is especially concerned to put maritime studies in a broad international and comparative context and is addressed to scientists and professionals in order to share experience, expert knowledge and research results, on all aspects of navigation and sea transportation.
Publication Date: 2015-06-03
Shipbroking and Chartering Practice by Lars Gorton; Patrick Hillenius; Rolf Ihre; Arne SandevärnShipbroking and Chartering Practice provides a sound knowledge of the law and economics of international shipbroking and chartering in a practical way that enables the principles described to be applied in everyday situations. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised to take account of chartering practices, cases and standard forms that have surfaced since the last edition, providing an excellent commentary.
Publication Date: 2009-05-01
Shipping Law by Simon BaughenIn this well-established textbook, Simon Baughen expertly covers the whole spectrum of English shipping law, placing the highly specialised rules of shipping in a commercial context and relating them to the general principles of contract and tort law. The book¿s accessible narrative and useful glossary of key terms will particularly benefit students new to Shipping Law or from non-law backgrounds. In-depth commentary on judicial decisions and well-balanced coverage and analysis of recent and key cases, such as The New Flamenco, The Ocean Victory, and The Kos, provide an up-to-date reference for all students on Shipping Law courses. The comprehensive overview of topics also ensures that the book is ably suited to course use, including discussion of such areas as: Bills of lading Charterparties Salvage Marine Pollution Arbitration Accidents and collisions Fully updated throughout, this sixth edition provides an invaluable source of reference and will be of use to both students and to those in practice.
Safe Sailing by Stephen MurrellSafe Sailing prepares sailors for communicating safely at sea by providing thorough practice of the International Maritime Organisation's Standard Marine Communication Phrases (SMCP). This standardised set of English phrases is essential to overcoming language barriers at sea and avoiding misunderstandings which can cause accidents. Through a variety of interactive exercises, this CD-ROM gives seafarers the practice they need to use these phrases confidently and effectively. It covers areas such as Standard engine orders, Handing over the watch, Fire protection, and Cargo care.
Publication Date: 2009-05-28
Safety on board ship 郵輪安全問題 by Vincent, Tatiana.; David, Marie.; France teĺev́ision.; Tabb Productions (Firm); Grand Angle Distribution (Firm); MediaMatters (Firm)Over one year after the sinking of the Costa Concordia this programme offers a review of the safety measures in place aboard these giants of the seas. Every day, more than 300 cruise liners furrow the oceans of the world. They are veritable floating cities with numerous restaurants, bars, casinos and entertainment venues and they carry several thousands of passengers. How can you guarantee the safety of all these people? How can you evacuate them if a problem arises? Have the rules been changed since the sinking of the Costa Concordia? To find out, we set sail aboard these giants of the seas. We take you behind the scenes and we show you what is planned for your safety when you take a cruise on this types of vessel. We also follow the future captains of these super liners during their training. What do they learn? How is the rest of the crew trained? Can we sail safely on these giants of the seas?