LibGuides: Maritime Services: e-Resources

Databases@VTC

Current VTC students and staff get access to the Library subscribed web-based e-resources through EZProxy for user authentication and usage review, so please use the links listed using your VTC email username and password.

BSOL (British Standards Online Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BSOL is a comprehensive online standards library giving you access to over 90,000 British standards, adopted EN, ISO and IEC standards.
IEEE STEM Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers numerous technology areas such as Aerospace, Biometrics, Computer Hardware & Software, Electronics, Optics, Medical Devices, Electrical engineering, Nanotechnology, Optics, Robotics, Telecom, Wireless Technology and more; plus ~45 IEEE e-periodicals and also IEEE spectrum. (Remote access is not available for this resource.)
Browse IEEE STEM Journals Collection
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Brings together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
McGraw-Hill Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering delivers multidisciplinary information and provides access to BioEngineering, Chemical Engineering, Communications Engineering, Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Operations management and etc.,. It comprises online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, and personalization tools to organize project information.
Merriam-Webster's Unabridged Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Merriam-Webster Unabridged includes over 476,000 entries, 100,000 quotations from skilled writers, 3,000 illustrations, and 143,000 etymologies describing word origins. Definitions are enriched with quotations from both spoken and written English. Supplementary notes provide additional context, and usage paragraphs offer clear guidance and suggestions for words with confused or disputed usage.
ProQuest: Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include aeronautics, astronautics, communications, computer and information technology, electronics, lasers, solid-state materials and devices, space sciences, and telecommunications.

DieselNet
Online information service on clean diesel engines and diesel emissions.
more...less...
Login information

Please bear in mind that the Libraries are granted with access right for all VTC staff and students only by the database vendors. So please

a) keep the following usernames and passwords to yourself only, and
b) remember to properly logoff after searching to allow other VTC users to have access to the valuable and limited resources.

Flipster This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Flipster is an easy-to-use digital magazine newsstand and offers a wide range of English e-magazines covering various topics such as art and design, hobbies, interests and DIY, science and technology.
Guide on how to use Flipster
PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PressReader contains over 4000 eMagazines and 3000 eNewspaper around the world.

Offsite access by using Android and iOS Apps, please connect through VTC VPN service. Details please see HERE.

Ausmarine
Ausmarine is the leading source of information and inspiration for the Australian and New Zealand commercial, government and military marine sector.
more...less...
Coverage: Sep 2009 - present
International Journal of Marine & Coastal Law (via Academic Search Ultimate)
The International Journal of Marine and Coastal Law addresses all aspects of marine and coastal law. In addition to normal in-depth scholarly articles, the Journal contains a distinctive feature: a vigorous ‘Current Legal Developments’ section which provides notes and commentary on international treaties and case law, national statute law, national court decisions, and other aspects of state practice; includes the relevant original documentation where appropriate; and monitors developments in relevant international organizations at a global and regional level.
more...less...
Coverage: May 1997 - present (with 36 months delayed)
Journal of Maritime Law and Commerce
The Journal of Maritime Law and Commerce is a scholarly publication devoted to all aspects of admiralty and maritime law, including the law of the sea.
more...less...
Coverage: Jan 2005 - present
The Journal of Navigation
The Journal of Navigation contains original papers on the science of navigation by man and animals over land and sea and through air and space, including papers presented at meetings of the RIN, and from its special interest groups and other organisations associated with navigation. Papers cover every aspect of navigation, from the highly technical to the descriptive and historical.
more...less...
Coverage: Jan 2001 - present (delayed 1 year)
Journal of Territorial and Maritime Studies
The Journal of Territorial and Maritime Studies (JTMS) is a Scopus indexed interdisciplinary journal of research on terrestrial and maritime territorial issues. The journal provides an academic medium for the advancement and dissemination of research results in the field of history, international law, international relations and peace studies.
more...less...
Coverage: Summer/Fall 2016 - present
Journal of Transportation Security
Journal of Transportation Security disseminates new research, thought, and analysis for teachers, researchers, policy makers and practitioners who view transportation security as a critical element of our world.
more...less...
Coverage: Mar 2008 - present (delayed 1 year)
Journal of Transport Geography
The Journal of Transport Geography is a leading interdisciplinary journal focusing on the geographical dimensions of transport, travel and mobility. It is international in its outlook, and welcomes both conceptual papers and theoretically-informed, empirically-oriented contributions on the movement of people, goods and/or information by any mode and at every geographical scale.
more...less...
Coverage: Mar 1992 - present
Marine Log (Trade Journal)
Marine Log is the source for online maritime news coverage and the industry's most respected monthly magazine.
more...less...
Coverage: Apr 2003 - present
Maritime Economics & Logistics
MEL is a peer-reviewed quarterly scientific publication committed to the methodological analysis of global supply chains; that is, ocean transportation, ports, marine terminals and maritime logistics.
more...less...
Coverage: Mar 2003 - present (delayed 1 year)
Maritime Gateway (Magazine)
Maritime Gateway covers, analyses, comments on wide-ranging news on Ports, Shipping, Logistics that drive South Asian Maritime Industry
more...less...
Coverage: Apr 2013 - present
Maritime Policy & Management: The flagship journal of international shipping and port research
Maritime Policy & Management ( MPM ) is a multi-disciplinary and international refereed journal, it brings together papers on the different topics that concern the maritime industry. It provides the latest findings and analyses. Emphasis is placed on business, organizational, economic, sociolegal and management topics at port, community, shipping company and shipboard levels.
more...less...
Coverage: Jul 2006 -present

Analysis of the global maritime transportation system as a layered network
Alderson, D.L., Funk, D. & Gera, R. 2019, "Analysis of the global maritime transportation system as a layered network", Journal of transportation security.
The Art of Witnessing: The Sewol Ferry Disaster in Hong Sung-dam's Paintings
Kal, Hong. “The Art of Witnessing: The Sewol Ferry Disaster in Hong Sung-Dam's Paintings.” Korean Studies., vol. 43, University Press of Hawaii,, 2019, pp. 96–119, doi:10.1353/ks.2019.0009.
Cover Image Safety behaviour at sea: Policy implications for managing seafarers through positive psychology
Yuen, K.F., Bai, X. & Wang, X. 2020, "Safety behaviour at sea: Policy implications for managing seafarers through positive psychology", Marine policy, vol. 121, pp. 104163.
Fuel consumption and emissions of ocean-going cargo ship with hybrid propulsion and different fuels over voyage
Sui, C., de Vos, P., Stapersma, D., Visser, K. & Ding, Y. 2020, "Fuel consumption and emissions of ocean-going cargo ship with hybrid propulsion and different fuels over voyage", Journal of marine science and engineering, vol. 8, no. 8, pp. 588.
The Golden Rule and Business Ethics: An Examination
BURTON, B.K. and GOLDSBY, M., 2005. The Golden Rule and Business Ethics: An Examination: JBE. Journal of Business Ethics, 56(4), pp. 371-383.
more...less...
The phenomenon of globalization of markets has been accompanied by calls for a globalization of ethical norms. One principle often referred to in such calls is the so-called Golden Rule. The rule, often stated as "Do unto others as you would have others do unto you," has long been used and referenced in the business literature. But those who use it often do so without full realization of the rule itself and what it stands for. This paper examines the history, meaning, and problems of the rule and attempts to show, through a case analysis, how these problems surface when using the rule in a business context. In so doing it attempts to clarify exactly what the rule means and how it can fit into a universal code of morality. [PUBLICATION ABSTRACT]
The Impact of Seafarers’ Perceptions of National Culture and Leadership on Safety Attitude and Safety Behavior in Dry Bulk Shipping
Lu, C., Hsu, C. & Lee, C. 2016, "The Impact of Seafarers’ Perceptions of National Culture and Leadership on Safety Attitude and Safety Behavior in Dry Bulk Shipping", International journal of e-navigation and maritime economy, vol. 4, pp. 75-87.
An improved RISS-GPS ship navigation approach via azimuth updates and magnetometer-calibration technology
Zhang, C., Cao, C., Li, T. & Guo, C. 2021, "An improved RISS-GPS ship navigation approach via azimuth updates and magnetometer-calibration technology", Measurement : journal of the International Measurement Confederation, vol. 175, pp. 109-101.
Integrity Concept for Maritime Autonomous Surface Ships' Position Sensors
Zalewski, P. 2020, "Integrity Concept for Maritime Autonomous Surface Ships' Position Sensors", Sensors (Basel, Switzerland), vol. 20, no. 7, pp. 2075.
Maritime safety: Prevention versus mitigation?
Puisa, R., McNay, J. & Montewka, J. 2021, "Maritime safety: Prevention versus mitigation?", Safety science, vol. 136, pp. 105151.
Nighttime Navigating: Moving a Container Ship through Darkness
Borovnik, M. 2017, "Nighttime Navigating: Moving a Container Ship through Darkness", Transfers, vol. 7, no. 3, pp. 38-55.
Overweight among seafarers working onboard merchant ships
Nittari, G., Tomassoni, D., Di Canio, M., Traini, E., Pirillo, I., Minciacchi, A. & Amenta, F. 2019, "Overweight among seafarers working on board merchant ships", BMC public health, vol. 19, no. 1, pp. 45-45.
THE STCW MANILA AMENDMENTS AND THEIR IMPACT ON MARITIME ENGLISH
PETER, T. and CLIVE, C.W., 2012. THE STCW MANILA AMENDMENTS AND THEIR IMPACT ON MARITIME ENGLISH. Universitatii Maritime Constanta.Analele, 13(17), pp. 239-244.
Structural safety of ships developed by lessons learned from the 100-year history of break-in-two accidents
Sumi, Y. 2019, "Structural safety of ships developed by lessons learned from the 100-year history of break-in-two accidents", Marine structures, vol. 64, pp. 481-491.
A Study on Identification of Development Status of MASS Technologies and Directions of Improvement
Chae, C., Kim, M. & Kim, H. 2020, "A Study on Identification of Development Status of MASS Technologies and Directions of Improvement", Applied sciences, vol. 10, no. 13, pp. 4564.
Turning the tide: reducing mortality among Danish merchant seafarers
Ugelvig Petersen, K., Lyngbeck Hansen, H., Kaerlev, L. & Hansen, J. 2020, "Turning the tide: reducing mortality among Danish merchant seafarers", Occupational and environmental medicine (London, England), vol. 77, no. 11, pp. 761-768.
Vessel scheduling in liner shipping: a critical literature review and future research needs
Dulebenets, M.A., Pasha, J., Abioye, O.F. & Kavoosi, M. 2019, "Vessel scheduling in liner shipping: a critical literature review and future research needs", International journal of flexible manufacturing systems, , pp. 1-64.

PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PressReader contains over 4000 eMagazines and 3000 eNewspaper around the world.

Offsite access by using Android and iOS Apps, please connect through VTC VPN service. Details please see HERE.

Guide on how to use PressReader

Flipster This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Flipster is an easy-to-use digital magazine newsstand and offers a wide range of English e-magazines covering various topics such as art and design, hobbies, interests and DIY, science and technology.

Offsite access by using Android and iOS Apps, please connect through VTC VPN service. Details please see HERE.

Guide on how to use Flipster

Internet Resources

The Baltic Exchange The Baltic Exchange is an FCA authorised benchmark provider, under EU Benchmark Regulation for the shipping markets.
BIMCO Baltic & International Maritime Consultative Organisation
Clarksons Clarksons is the world’s leading provider of integrated shipping services, bringing our connections and experience to an international client base.
Code of safe working practices for merchant seafarers 2020 2020 Amendment, advising on improving the health and safety of seafarers primarily on board UK registered ships.
The Digital Ship Digital Ship magazine provides the latest information about maritime satellite communications technology, software systems, navigation technology, computer networks, data management and TMSA. It is published ten times a year.
Drewry Shipping Consultants Limited Drewry is the specialist research and advisory organisation for the maritime sector. Four integrated business units provide an industry leading, unrivalled knowledge base.
ESC: European Shippers’ Council The European Shippers' Council is a non-profit European organisation representing cargo owners i.e. freight transport interests of around 100.000 companies throughout Europe, whether manufacturers, retailers, wholesalers (import and export, intercontinental).
ICS: International Chamber of Shipping ICS was established in 1921 to ensure the development, promotion, and application of best practices throughout the shipping industry. ICS continues to support shipping and be the leading advocate for high operational standards and a regulatory environment embracing safety, environment, open markets and fair competition.
IMO: International Maritime Organization IMO – the International Maritime Organization – is the United Nations specialized agency with responsibility for the safety and security of shipping and the prevention of marine and atmospheric pollution by ships. IMO's work supports the UN SDGs.
The IMO Guidelines for Ships Operating in Arctic Ice-Covered Waters: From Voluntary to Mandatory Tool for Navigation Safety and Environmental Protection? FNI Report 2/2007. Lysaker, FNI, 2007, 32 p.
Intercargo: International Association of Dry Cargo Shipowners INTERCARGO provides the forum where dry bulk shipowners, managers and operators are informed about, discuss and share concerns on key topics and regulatory challenges, especially in relation to safety, the environment and operational excellence.
InterManager: International Ship Managers Association InterManager was initially founded under the name ISMA (International Ship Managers’ Association) in 1991, with the first steps in the creation of what is now known as InterManager beginning back in 1988 when five leading ship management companies – Barber International, Columbia Shipmanagement, Denholm Ship Management, Hanseatic Shipping Company, and Wescol International Marine – met to discuss the possibility of improving standards within the ship management sector and the shipping industry in general.
International Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers (STCW) The Manila amendments to the STCW Convention and Code were adopted on 25 June 2010, marking a major revision of the STCW Convention and Code. The 2010 amendments are set to enter into force on 1 January 2012 under the tacit acceptance procedure and are aimed at bringing the Convention and Code up to date with developments since they were initially adopted and to enable them to address issues that are anticipated to emerge in the foreseeable future.
Intertanko: International Association of Independent Tanker Owners INTERTANKO (the International Association of Independent Tanker Owners) is a trade association that has served as the voice for independent tanker owners since 1970, representing the interests of its Members at national, regional and international levels.
ITF: International Transport Workers’ Federation The International Transport Workers’ Federation (ITF) is a democratic, affiliate-led federation recognised as the world’s leading transport authority.
Marine Insight Marine Insight is a global leader in providing maritime news and training maritime professionals with an expert panel of writers, news reporters, and consultants. The content from Marine Insight is used by global online media, institutes, and Organisations as a reference tool for Maritime and Shipping Industry.
Maritime and Aviation Training Fund (MATF), HKSAR The $100 million Maritime and Aviation Training Fund (MATF) approved by the Legislative Council in January 2014 came into operation on 1 April 2014. In May 2019, $200 million was approved to be injected into the MATF to sustain and enhance existing training schemes and scholarships, as well for launching new initiatives for the maritime and aviation sectors. The aim is to build up in due course a vibrant, diversified and competitive pool of professionals and technical personnel to support Hong Kong’s future development in the two sectors.
Maritime Autonomous Surface Ships (MASS) European Maritime Safety Agency's involvement on MASS
Standards of Training, Certification & Watchkeeping (STCW) The International Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers (STCW), 1978, as amended, sets the standards of competence for seafarers internationally.
STCW 2010
more...less...
This video explains the key elements of STCW 2010.
UNCTAD: Review of Maritime Transport The Review of Maritime Transport has been published annually since 1968. This flagship report provides an analysis of structural and cyclical changes affecting seaborne trade, ports and shipping, as well as an extensive collection of statistics.
What are the main steps of designing a new ship? (forum) The design spiral is a methodology for developing ship designs. As ships are complex systems with highly interdependent variables, it quickly becomes impossible to calculate factors simultaneously. Instead, the design spiral describes a process of iterative refinement to 'zero in' on an efficient design. Each successive iteration is referred to as a 'spin' of the spiral. Phases or cycles are considered once a given level of technical refinement has been achieved. It is important to note that is not a concrete, defined checklist: particularly in the early stages, the order of evaluation may be rather hap-hazard.
World Shipping Council The World Shipping Council's goal is to provide a coordinated voice for the liner shipping industry in its work with policymakers and other industry groups with an interest in international transportation.
‘Manila Amendments’ to the STCW Convention A Quick Guide for Seafarers prepared by International Shipping Federation & International Chamber of Shipping

International Journal of Supply and Operations Management International Journal of Supply and Operations Management (IJSOM) is a scholarly peer-reviewed international scientific journal and is committed to publishing scholarly empirical and theoretical research articles that have a high impact on the engineering & management field as a whole. All aspects of the subject in relation to Logistics, Supply and Operations Management are covered.
Journal of International Maritime Safety, Environment Affairs and Shipping Publishes all aspects of international maritime safety, environment affairs, shipping, and recent issues discussed within International Maritime Organization.
Journal of Marine Science and Engineering Journal of Marine Science and Engineering (ISSN 2077-1312) is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal of marine science and engineering, published monthly online by MDPI.
Journal of Shipping and Trade Journal of Shipping and Trade (JST) is an open access, multi-disciplinary publication that focuses both on business & management, as well as transportation-related fields. JST aims to promote practices in shipping and to improve the management of global trade activities.
Marine Economics and Management Published in association with Ocean University of China. MAEM covers research in integrated marine systems, marine modeling and prediction, marine planning and marine management, presenting theoretical insights and developments, as well as real-world case studies.

Maritime, nautical and shipping dictionaries

Balkan Lloyd's Shipping Dictionary
a dictionary provided by Balkan Lloyd Maritime Services
Dictionary of nautical terms - Splash Maritime Training
The Seafarer's Word - a PDF file for maritime dictionary
Glossary of nautical terms
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
MarineTerms.com
A-Z Shipping dictionary and abbreviation
The OOW Maritime Dictionary
Here you can find the definition or clarifications for approximately 2500 terms.

Online English/Chinese dictionaries and translators

Bing Translator
a website for translation with language auto-detection
Cambridge Dictionary
English-Chinese Dictionary by Cambridge University Press
Chinese Character Database (粵語審音配詞字庫)
Phonologically disambiguated according to the Cantonese dialect
MyMemory Translation
translate with matching algorithm and human contribution
S. L. Wong's A Chinese Syllabary Pronounced according to the Dialect of Canton (黃錫凌《粵音韻彙》)
on the research of Cantonese pronunciation
WordReference.com
a virtual translator

Description of the video: In a collaboration with the Vocational Training Council (VTC), students have produced an 360-degrees interactive video featuring various exhibits at HKMM. This professionally edited video provides an immersive visiting experience during the closure of the museum. To navigate, use your mouse on the screen to view different directions or pan around your mobile device. (Produced by: Vocational Training Council, Higher Diploma in Multimedia and Virtual Reality, Department of Interdisciplinary Programmes)

The Cutty Sark Conservation Project
The world’s only surviving tea clipper, the Cutty Sark is one of the most distinctive attractions of Greenwich’s Royal Museums.

Government websites

Code of Safe Working Practices for Merchant Seamen 本守則由海事及海岸警衞局(Maritime and Coastguard Agency, MCA) 出版，並獲國家海上職業健康及安全委員會(National Maritime Occupational Health and Safety Committee, NMOHSC)、英國航運商會(UK Chamber of Shipping)、Nautilus International 及國家鐵路、海事及運輸工會(National Union of Rail, Maritime and Transport Workers, RMT) 認可為改善船上健康及安全的最佳執行指引。本守則主要供英國註冊船舶的商船海員使用。
Labour Department, The Government of HKSAR
Marine Department, The Government of HKSAR
Maritime and Aviation Training Fund (MATF)
Transport and Housing Bureau, The Government of HKSAR