RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create his/her own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources. Users can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowRefWorks is a reference management service that supports the needs of students, faculty and librarians. With a streamlined user experience, full-text management and collaboration features, RefWorks gives students and faculty a tool that enables a more efficient and reliable process for producing research papers.
Note on User Categories: Existing Users and New Users
In this brief introduction to RefWorks, you'll learn how to find and save references while doing your research, how to organize references once they're in RefWorks, and how to cite those references in your writing.
RefWorks is an online research tool to help you manage your references when writing and collaborating with fellow researchers. RefWorks organizes, stores, and shares all types of information, and can instantly create citations and bibliographies.
Watch full playlist on Getting Started with New RefWorks.
See more details in the RefWorks User Guide.
This RefWorks training session will show how to edit citation styles, including editing styles for yourself or your institution using the Citation Style Editor in RefWorks, and editing styles for the open-source Citation Style Language project.
Watch full playlist on Advanced RefWorks Features.
See more details in the RefWorks User Guide.
Includes Information Literacy on What is Plagiarism, Why Cite, When to Cite, How to Cite Properly, Citation Styles, Citation Tools, and How to Check Plagiarism.
Prove It! Using Textual Evidence, Levels 3-5 by
Knowing how to cite textual evidence is a key component in reading and writing in education today. This resource equips teachers with the strategies they need to teach students how to cite and annotate textual evidence when reading and writing. Students will learn how to find evidence to support their opinions, incorporate that evidence in their writing, and accurately cite their sources. The ten lessons include proper MLA formatting, paraphrasing, the use of credible sources, avoiding plagiarism, and more. Students will apply what they've learned through twenty practice exercises. Citing textual evidence powerfully strengthens students' writing, develops analytical thinking and logic, and readies students for college and career with lessons that are aligned to McREL, TESOL, and WIDA standards.
Prove It! Using Textual Evidence, Levels 6-8 by
Knowing how to cite textual evidence is a key component in reading and writing in education today. This resource equips teachers with the strategies they need to teach students how to cite and annotate textual evidence when reading and writing. Students will learn how to find evidence to support their opinions, incorporate that evidence in their writing, and accurately cite their sources. The ten lessons include proper MLA formatting, paraphrasing, using block quotation, creating a bibliography, the use of credible sources, avoiding plagiarism, and more. Students will apply what they've learned through twenty practice exercises. Citing textual evidence powerfully strengthens students' writing, develops analytical thinking and logic, and readies students for college and career with lessons that are aligned to McREL, TESOL, and WIDA standards.
Cite Right by
Thousands of students have turned to veteran teacher Charles Lipson for no-nonsense advice on how to cite sources properly--and avoid plagiarism--when writing their research papers. This new edition of Cite Right, the popular overview of all major systems of citation, has been updated to reflect the most current versions of Chicago, MLA, APA, and other styles, and to discuss citation methods in the rapidly changing context of the Internet, digital publishing, and e-books. Best of all, it's very easy to use. Lipson first explains why it is so important to use citations--and to present them accurately--in research writing. He then outlines the main citation styles students and researchers are likely to encounter in their academic work: Chicago; MLA; APA; AAA (anthropology and ethnography); CSE (biological sciences); AMA (medical sciences); ACS (chemistry); physics, astrophysics, and astronomy;and mathematics, computer science, and engineering. New sections have been added on IEEE and ASCE styles, often used in engineering. Each style is presented simply and clearly with examples drawn from a wide range of source types crossing all disciplines, from the arts and humanities to the sciences and medicine. The second edition has also been updated to include a discussion of the merits and pitfalls of citation software, as well as new examples showing proper citation style for video blogs, instant messages, social networking sites, and other forms of digital media. Based on deep experience in the academic trenches,this thoroughly revised edition is intended to appeal to anyone--student, professional, or academic--who needs an efficient, authoritative guide for citing sources across a wide range of disciplines.
The complete guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism by
This excellent new edition of The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism continues to demystify the referencing process and provide essential guidance to make sure you are not committing plagiarism. It provides clear guidelines on why and when to reference as well as how to correctly cite from a huge range of sources.
Cite Them Right by
All assignments need to include correct references: this book shows you how. Cite them right is the renowned guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism. It is an essential resource for every student and author, providing clear and comprehensive coverage of a crucial part of academic study. Now in its ninth edition, the book continues to provide detailed examples for all print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art and images. Key features: • Cite any information source, from ancient texts to Twitter • Examples are given in Harvard, APA, MHRA, MLA, OSCOLA and Vancouver referencing styles • Simplified advice on referencing online publications • More sources now covered, including translated and non-English publications, graffiti, packaging, wills, medical images, statues, PowerPoint presentations and collected works • Guidance on what is plagiarism and how to avoid it
