Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cambridge IELTS 10 Student's Book with Answers
Call Number: PE 1128 .C35893 2015
Publication Date: 2015-04-16
Cambridge IELTS 10 provides students with an excellent opportunity to familiarise themselves with IELTS and to practise examination techniques using authentic test material prepared by Cambridge English Language Assessment. It contains four complete tests for Academic module candidates, plus extra Reading and Writing modules for General Training module candidates. An introduction to these different modules is included in each book, together with with an explanation of the scoring system used by Cambridge English Language Assessment. A comprehensive section of answers and tapescripts makes the material ideal for students working partly or entirely on their own.
Practice Tests for IELTS by
Call Number: PE 1128 .T733 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-01
Prepare yourself thoroughly for the IELTS exam By using Practice Tests for IELTS, you will: Feel completely confident about how the IELTS exam works Know what to expect on the day of the exam Improve your score through realistic practice All you need for your ideal IELTS score: Four complete Academic IELTS tests PLUS Two complete General Reading and Writing papers A clear guide to how the IELTS exam works A whole section full of useful tips on how to do well in the exam A CD (+ transcript) with accurate model Speaking and Listening papers Answers and explanations for all four papers (including model answers for Speaking and Writing) You can trust Collins COBUILD Practice Tests for IELTS contains a mini-dictionary with definitions based on COBUILD content. The 4.5-billion-word Collins Corpus is the world's largest database of the English language. It is updated every month and has been at the heart of Collins COBUILD for over 20 years.
Check Your English Vocabulary for IELTS by
Call Number: PE 1128 .W95 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-13
The Test of English for International Communication (TOEIC) is a multiple choice English language proficiency test which measures comprehension, speaking, writing and reading skills in an international environment. Scores indicate how well people can communicate in business, commerce and industry. Check Your English Vocabulary for TOEIC by Rawdon Wyatt is a must-have workbook for all non-native English speakers wishing to expand their language skills in preparation for the Test of English for International Communication. This workbook provides exercises to help teach and build vocabulary related to the TOEIC examination and also covers grammar, use of English, comprehension and spelling."
Grammar for IELTS by
Call Number: PE 1128 .A372 2012
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Improve your grammar with 'Collins Grammar for IELTS' and get the score you need. IELTS is the world's leading test of English for higher education and migration and is recognised by 6000 institutions in over 135 countries.
McGraw-Hill Education 6 IELTS Practice Tests with Audio by
Call Number: PE 1128 .S672 2015
Publication Date: 2015-07-20
Get the intensive practice you need to succeed on the IELTS! McGraw-Hill Education 6 IELTS Practice Tests with Audio is the ideal way to sharpen skills and prepare for this high-stakes English proficiency test required for admission or hiring by hundreds of schools, multinational corporations, and government agencies worldwide. Created by a veteran IELTS teacher and grader, it offers the intensive IELTS practice students need for success. The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is a paper-based test that consists of four modules--Listening, Reading, Writing, and Speaking. Question types include multiple choice, sentence completion, short answer, classification, matching, labeling, and diagram/chart interpretation. McGraw-Hill Education 6 IELTS Practice Tests provides intensive practice with tests just like the real IELTS in format, topic coverage, and degree of difficulty. Downloadable audio tracks are provided for all listening portions of the tests. Features 6 full-length IELTS practice tests just like the real exam Clues embedded in the first two tests guide students and help them answer. Complete answer explanations and model essay responses for the first two tests; answer keys only for the last three tests. Scripts for all Listening sections with highlighting to indicate answers to test questions
Collins Cobuild IELTS Dictionary by
Call Number: Reference PE 1625 .C654 2015
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
The Collins Cobuild IELTS Dictionary contains all the vocabulary students need to succeed in the IELTS (International English Language Testing System) exam. It has been specially created for learners of English who plan to take the IELTS exam to demonstrate that they have the required ability to communicate effectively in English, either at work or at a university.
Academic Vocabulary in Use by Academic Vocabulary in Use Second Edition is the perfect study aid for anyone using English for their academic work. Ideal for students of any discipline, this second edition has been updated to reflect changes in education, technology and communications, includes a selection of new reading passages, and is now in full colour. 50 easy-to-use, two-page units give clear explanations of new vocabulary, along with a variety of practice exercises. A comprehensive answer key, and phonemic transcriptions to help with pronunciation, make it perfect for self-study as well as for use in the classroom. This book is designed for students at good intermediate level and above, and is also useful for those preparing for IELTS and university entrance examinations.
Please check out 2008 edition from IVE LRCs
Call Number: PE 1449 .M335 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-12
Writing Academic English by The Longman Academic Writing series is the essential course to prepare students for academic success
Call Number: PE 1408 .O73 2006
Publication Date: 2005-10-27
English for Academic Research by This book is based on a study of referees' reports and letters from journal editors on reasons why papers written by non-native researchers are rejected due to problems with English (long sentences, redundancy, poor structure etc). It draws on English-related errors from around 5000 papers written by non-native authors, around 3000 emails, 500 abstracts by PhD students, and over 1000 hours of teaching researchers how to write and present research papers. The exercises are organized into ten chapters on: punctuation and spelling word order writing short sentences and paragraphs link words - connecting phrases and sentences together being concise and removing redundancy ambiguity and political correctness paraphrasing and avoiding plagiarism defining, comparing, evaluating and highlighting anticipating possible objections, indicating level of certainty, discussion limitations, hedging, future work writing each section of a paper Some exercises require no actual writing but simply choosing between various options, thus facilitating self-study, e-reading and rapid progress. In those exercises where extended writing is required, model answers are given. Exercise types are repeated for different contexts, for example the importance of being concise is tested for use in papers, referees' reports, and emails of various types. Such repetition of similar types of exercises is design ed to facilitate revision. The exercises can also be integrated into English for Academic Purposes (EAP) and English for Special Purposes (ESP) courses at universities and research institutes. The book can be used in conjunction with the other exercise books in the series and is cross-referenced to: English for Research: Usage, Style, and Grammar English for Writing Research Papers
Call Number: PE 1449 .W346 2013
Publication Date: 2015-12-14
English for Academic Study: Extended Writing and Research Skills 2012 Edition by English for Academic Study: Extended Writing and Research Skills This fully updated 2012 edition of English for Academic Study: Extended Writing & Research Skills will help develop the practical skills you need to tackle extended essays and projects and encourage the development of an independent approach to studying. The units are organized as follows: Introduction to extended writing and research Using evidence to support your ideas Sourcing information for your project Developing your project Developing a focus Introductions, conclusions and definitions Incorporating data and illustrations Preparing for conference presentations The units take you step by step through the process of producing an extended piece of academic writing. Authentic source materials, model answers and detailed advice are included to help support and guide you. This course will require you to apply skills and strategies you have already studied in order to help you complete a project independently. The Course Book includes unit summaries to give you a quick overview of what you have covered, and a comprehensive glossary of terms. Each unit also has weblinks offering additional information and activities, relating to both listening skills and the topics covered in the units. Visit the dedicated English for Academic Study website at www.englishforacademicstudy.com for even more resources. This book can be used in conjunction with the following books in the English for Academic Study (EAS) series, also published by Garnet Education: EAS: Reading & Writing Source Book, EAS: Reading, EAS: Writing, EAS: Speaking, EAS: Listening, EAS: Vocabulary, EAS: Pronunciation, and EAS: Grammar for Writing
Call Number: PE 1408 .M34 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-29
50 Steps to Improving Your Academic Writing by 50 Steps to Improving Your Academic Writing 50 Steps to Improving Your Academic Writing addresses the challenges facing every student beginning a program of academic study. This comprehensive guide gives you everything you need to write well-constructed academic essays. It is packed full of information that is critical to attaining better marks, including: how to apply critical thinking skills how to strengthen your arguments how to include paper referencing how to avoid plagiarism 50 Steps has been developed to mirror best practice in academic essay writing: researching, planning, writing and then proofreading an essay. Multiple entry points allow you either to work through the book in chronological order or to dip in and out depending on your needs. The book contains a detailed answer key, a full glossary of terms, plus comprehensive reference material that provides study templates and useful hyperlinks, as well as additional examples and information about academic writing. Chris Sowton, author of 50 Steps to Improving Your Academic Writing, answers your essay-writing questions here!
Call Number: LB 2369 .S69 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Writing research papers : a complete guide by The definitive research paper guide, Writing Research Papers combines a traditional and practical approach to the research process with the latest information on electronic research and presentation.
Call Number: LB 2369 .L4 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Academic writing : from paragraph to essay by While taking students through the writing process, this book also teaches attention to form, format, and accuracy. Academic Writing is an advanced, process-oriented writing text. The central goals are to teach the process that writers go through to produce texts and to provide instruction on how to meet the demands of the academy through attention to form and accuracy.
Call Number: PE 1413 .Z453 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Academic English by This book features five theme-based units on cross-disciplinary academic English skills, focusing on the needs of first-year undergraduate students. Each unit covers academic writing, reading and speaking skills. The units progressively take students through the steps needed to complete three common academic assignments: the essay, report and tutorial discussion. These steps include searching for sources, note-taking, establishing personal stance, synthesizing information from multiple sources and structuring academic texts. Each unit also includes opportunities for students to analyze texts, apply their critical thinking skills, try out what they have learnt in productive tasks, as well as reflect upon their progress. It is aimed at first-time university students. Many of the readings in the book are related to China and the broader Asian context. As such, this textbook might appeal to first-year university students in Hong Kong, Mainland China and Taiwan.
Call Number: P 301.5 .A27 L44 2017
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
A Brief Guide to Writing from Readings by NOTE: You are purchasing a standalone product. MyWritingLab(tm) does not come packed with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyWritingLab, search for ISBN-10: 0134118715 / ISBN-13: 9780134118710. This includes ISBN-10: 0133800334 / ISBN-13: 9780133800333, ISBN-10: 0133944131 / ISBN-13: 9780133944136, and ISBN-10: 013394414X / ISBN-13: 9780133944143. MyWritingLab should only be purchased when required by an instructor. For college courses in Writing Across the Curriculum (Composition) and Research Writing (Composition) Mastering the art of critical essay writing A Brief Guide to Writing from Readings is a clear, process-oriented guide to academic writing. The guide covers the subtleties of rhetorical analysis and argumentation strategies as well as the technical aspects of writing with sources. Students will learn first to examine texts critically and then to clearly, accurately and creatively respond in essay form. In-text tools including summary charts and revision checklists help students tackle source-based essays step by step. Instructors will rely on the guide as a one-stop reference tool; students can apply their learning to any discipline, whether for class work or independent study. In the Seventh Edition, in response to student and faculty feedback, Wilhoit includes a new chapter on analyzing readings and composing analytical essays; more coverage of literary analysis and a new short story; eight academic readings; and expanded coverage of how to cite electronic sources in APA and MLA style. Also available with MyWritingLab(tm) This text is also available with MyWritingLab -- an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program that provides engaging experiences for teaching and learning. Flexible and easily customizable, MyWritingLab helps improve students' writing through context-based learning. Whether through self-study or instructor-led learning, MyWritingLab supports and complements course work.
Call Number: PE 1408 .W586 2016
Publication Date: 2015-01-08
The Literature Review by
Call Number: LB 2369 .R525 2012
Publication Date: 2012-07-31
This Second Edition of Diana Ridley's bestselling guide to the literature review provides a step-by-step guide to conducting a literature search and literature review, and guides the reader in how to write up a literature review as part of a PhD thesis or Masters dissertation.Ridley outlines practical strategies for reading and note taking, and guides the reader on how to conduct a systematic search of the available literature, and uses cases and examples throughout to demonstrate best practice in writing and presenting the review.New to this edition are examples drawn from a wide range of disciplines, a new chapter on conducting a systematic review, increased coverage of issues of evaluating quality and conducting reviews using online sources and online literature and enhanced guidance in dealing with copyright and permissions issues.This book also comes with a companion website containing a wide range of examples of successful literature reviews from a wide range of academic disciplines.
How to Use Your Reading in Your Essays by Reading is part and parcel of academic writing, and knowing which sources to include in assignments and go about this process can be challenging. That's where this handy guide comes in. With over twenty years' experience in the field, Jeanne Godfrey is no stranger to essay writing. Taking students step-by-step through the process, from choosing their sources to checking their work, she helps students to develop the skills and confidence they need to use their reading effectively in their essays. Concise and practical, it breaks down the 'why' and 'how' of using reading in academic writing and contains valuable guidance on paraphrasing, comparing the views of different authors and commenting on sources. This book is ideal for students of all disciplines, and can be used by college students, undergraduates and postgraduates.
Call Number: LB 2369 .G58 2013
Publication Date: 2013-04-26
Academic Writing Skills 1 Student's Book by A three-volume essay writing course for students in American English. Academic Writing Skills 1 takes students through a step-by-step process from writing a paragraph to essays. It is appropriate for students new to academic writing who need general training in essay writing skills.
Call Number: LB 2369 .C45 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-15
Language for Study, Level 1 by Skills and Language for Study is a three-level course (B1+ to C1) in academic skills and language aimed at students preparing for university-level studies in English. Academic skills and language are introduced through lectures and authentic academic texts in two complementary books. The core Skills for Study book focuses on the academic skills required to function effectively in a university environment whereas Language for Study explores the language needed to practise those skills. Language for Study Level 1 (B1+ to B2) provides language needed for expressing opinions, paraphrasing, comparing texts and summarising information. Additionally, it provides analysis of key grammatical, phonological and lexical features of the texts presented in Skills for Study. Complete course audio material is downloadable at www.cambridge.org/elt/forstudy
Call Number: PE 1128 .L365 2012
Publication Date: 2012-09-06
Study Reading by Study Reading is a course for learners of intermediate level or above who need to advance their reading skills for study purposes. Study Reading: * adopts a learner centred approach suitable for classroom as well as self-study use. * has clearly labelled sections which allow users to select and focus on the skills areas most appropriate to their needs. * includes authentic texts from textbooks, journals, reference works and study guides currently used in universities, colleges, and other institutions of higher learning. * encourages students to refine their reading strategies through a variety of task-based and problem-solving activities. * gives direct advice on how to improve reading efficiency. This Second edition has been updated to include not only more recent texts in the disciplines represented but also to take account of new media with the growth of on-line resources. For the first time too, activities are included for IELTS practice.
Call Number: LB 2395.3 .G57 2004
Publication Date: 2004-10-14
Study Speaking by Study Speaking is for intermediate level and above students who need to speak English in connection with their academic work. It is intended primarily for use on language programmes preparing learners of English for study at university or college. The course is designed to improve students' speaking skills by: * activating and extending their linguistic competence * increasing their confidence in using spoken English * developing their ability to analyse and evaluate spoken performance * sharpening their strategic competence in face-to-face interaction. Study Speaking is part of a the Study Skills series.
Call Number: PE 1128 .L964 2004
Publication Date: 2004-10-14
Essential Academic Skills by Essential Academic Skills encourages and supports students to develop their skills to become the best learners they can be. It takes a step-by-step approach to the essential skills required to complete a university degree, and provides activities which give students the power to understand andimprove how they learn.
Call Number: LB 1049 .E78 2011
Publication Date: 2012-10-19
Success in Academic Writing by Helps students to develop confidence, technique and clarity of purpose as a writer in their discipline. Takes the reader through the complete writing process from understanding the task through researching, reading and planning, to drafting and composing, reviewing and finalising their copy with many self-study exercises included throughout.
Call Number: P 301.5 .A27 D39 2013
Publication Date: 2013-11-18
Assessing and Improving Student Writing in College by Step-by-step guidance for shaping better writers while keeping faculty workloads manageable Effective communication is a critical skill for many academic disciplines and careers, and so colleges and universities and their faculty members are rightfully committed to improving student writing across the curriculum. Guiding and assessing student writing in classrooms, general education, and departments takes knowledge, planning, and persistence, but it can be done effectively and efficiently. Written in the concise, accessible style Barbara Walvoord is known for, Assessing and Improving Student Writing in College: A Guide for Institutions, General Education, Departments, and Classrooms offers administrators, program chairs, general education leaders, and classroom instructors the guidance they need. The book provides concrete suggestions for how to: Articulate goals for student writing Measure student writing Improve student writing Document that improvement The book begins by addressing four basic concepts: what we mean by writing, what we mean by "good" writing, how students learn to write, and the purposes of assessment. Next, Walvoord explains the various approaches and methods for assessing writing, urging a combination of them adapted to the institution's purposes and political context. After this introduction, successive chapters offer realistic, practical advice to institution-wide and general education leaders, department members, and classroom instructors. Walvoord addresses issues such as how to engage faculty, how to use rubrics, how to aggregate assessment information at the department and institutional levels, and how to report assessment information to accreditors. The chapter for classroom instructors offers practical suggestions: how to add more writing to a course without substantially increasing the grading load; how to construct writing assignments, how to make grading and responding more effective and time-efficient, how to address grammar and punctuation, and how to support students whose native language is not English. The book also includes four helpful appendices: a taxonomy of Writing Across the Curriculum (WAC) and Writing in the Disciplines (WID) programs; sample outlines for faculty development workshops; a student survey on teaching methods instructors can use to inform their choices in the classroom; and a student self-check cover sheet designed to help students take ownership of their own learning and responsibility for turning in complete, correct assignments. Practical, step-by-step guidance for each point in the assessment and improvement process creates a cohesive, institution-wide system that keeps students, faculty, and administrators on the same page.
Publication Date: 2014-08-18
Critical English for Academic Purposes by Critical English for Academic Purposes: Theory, Politics, and Practiceis the first book to combine the theory and practice of two fields: English for academic purposes and critical pedagogy. English for academic purposes (EAP) grounds English language teaching in the cognitive and linguistic demands of academic situations, tailoring instruction to specific rather than general purposes. Critical pedagogy acknowledges students' and teachers' subject-positions, that is, their class, race, gender, and ethnicity, and encourages them to question the status quo. Critical English for academic purposes engages students in the types of activities they are asked to carry out in academic classes while inviting them to question and, in some cases, transform those activities, as well as the conditions from which they arose. It takes into account the real challenges non-native speakers of English face in their discipline-specific classes while viewing students as active participants who can help shape academic goals and assignments. Critical English for Academic Purposes: Theory, Politics, and Practice: * relates English for academic purposes and critical pedagogy, revealing and problematizing the assumptions of both fields, * provides theoretical and practical responses to academic syllabi and other institutional demands to show that teachers can both meet target demands and take students' subjectivities into account in a climate of negotiation and possibility, * offers "rights analysis" as a critical counterpart to needs analysis, * discusses the politics of "coverage" in lecture classes and proposes alternatives, and * features teaching examples that address balancing the curriculum for gender; building community in an EAP class of students from diverse economic and social backgrounds; students' rights; and organizing students to change unfavorable conditions. This book is intended for undergraduate and graduate courses for preservice and in-service ESL and EAP teachers. It is also a professional book for those interested in critical approaches to teaching and EAP.
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Style by "The best book on the art of writing that I know is F. L. Lucas's Style"- Joseph Epstein, New Criterion, June 2011Lost for almost forty years, Style has acquired the status of a legend. Loved by some of the greatest modern authors and acclaimed by critics, this guide to recognising and writing stylish prose was written by a Cambridge don and veteran of Bletchley Park. Imbued with a lifetime of wit and wisdom, it retains its power today. Writing forcefully and persuasively has never mattered so much - and Style is the perfect guide for the busy, the ambitious, and the creative. With unique authority and good humour, F. L. Lucas takes us through his ten points of effective prose style and provides a tour of some of the best (and worst) that has been written in a number of languages and literatures. Wry, perceptive and rich in quotation and anecdote, the book reads like a personal conversation on the art of writing well - with a master of the art.
Publication Date: 2012-06-14
Stylish Academic Writing by Elegant data and ideas deserve elegant expression, argues Helen Sword in this lively guide to academic writing. For scholars frustrated with disciplinary conventions, and for specialists who want to write for a larger audience but are unsure where to begin, here are imaginative, practical, witty pointers that show how to make articles and books a pleasure to read--and to write. Dispelling the myth that you cannot get published without writing wordy, impersonal prose, Sword shows how much journal editors and readers welcome work that avoids excessive jargon and abstraction. Sword's analysis of more than a thousand peer-reviewed articles across a wide range of fields documents a startling gap between how academics typically describe good writing and the turgid prose they regularly produce. Stylish Academic Writing showcases a range of scholars from the sciences, humanities, and social sciences who write with vividness and panache. Individual chapters take up specific elements of style, such as titles and headings, chapter openings, and structure, and close with examples of transferable techniques that any writer can master.
Publication Date: 2012-04-02
The Handbook of Academic Writing by Writing is one of the most demanding tasks that academics and researchers face. In some disciplines we learn some of what we need to know to be productive, successful writers; but in other disciplines there is no training, support or mentoring of any kind.This book will help those in both groups not only to improve their writing skills and strategies, but, equally important, to find satisfaction and meaning in what often seems like one big 'game'. Drawing on literatures as diverse as rhetoric and organisational behaviour, this book addresses the different dimensions of writing: in order to write well and regularly, we argue, you have to take a good look at both your rhetorical knowledge and your writing behaviours.This book will help writers in academic contexts to develop a productive writing strategy, not only for research monitoring exercises, but also for the long term.
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
How to Write a Thesis by "This book has become a trusted resource for students from a wide range of disciplinarybackgrounds. Not only does it take you through the steps and stages of thesis writing,but more importantly, it offers rich advice and support that helps build confidence,sets up effective writing habits and generates a positive orientation towards thecomplex task of thesis writing." Professor Sarah Moore, Associate Vice President Academic,University of Limerick, Ireland "I've found Rowena's shrewd and insightful suggestions for writing helpful, not onlyfor others but also for me." Peter Elbow, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA "This book is a brilliant resource for all doctoral students to help guide them through the completion of their doctoral thesis. The book develops students' confidence and motivates them to start the writing process." Emma Jackson,Second Year PhD Student, University of Worcester, UK Providing down-to-earth guidance to help students shape their theses, Rowena Murray offers valuable advice and practical tips and techniques. Useful summaries and checklists help students to stay on track or regain their way. Moving beyond the basics of thesis writing, the book introduces practical writing techniques such as freewriting, generative writing and binge writing. Issues such as working out the criteria for your thesis, writer's block, writing a literature review and making notes into a draft are also covered. New to this edition: New introduction by students - 'How I used this book' Update on doctoral skills set and Training Needs Analysis Extended treatment of plagiarism - and how to avoid it Expanded section on students' well-being Learning outcomes for each chapter
Publication Date: 2011-03-01