COVID-19 and the Coronavirus Sourcebook by
Omnigraphics' Health Reference Series is designed for the general reader seeking guidance on how to avoid serious illness by following preventive lifestyles and recognizing early warning signs. It also supports the layperson who has received a diagnosis of a serious disease or disorder as well as the family member or nonprofessional caregiver who must learn to care and to cope with the illness. Each volume in the series deals comprehensively with a particular area of medical concern and contains material found in publications issued by the National Institutes of Health and other agencies and associations. Nowhere else can general readers find this information conveniently collected, coordinated, and indexed in book form. COVID-19 and the Coronavirus Sourcebook, First Edition Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) was caused fay severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2). In December 2019. this contagious virus was first identified in Wuhan, China, and rapidly spread around the world. The symptoms of coronavirus include respiratory problems similar to cold. flu. or pneumonia. The virus attacks the kings and the respiratory system and men in most cases affects the other parts of the body. COVID-19 in people started with mild symptoms leading to severe illness-mostly for people with underlying medical conditions. Some with zero to minor symptoms suffered from post-COVID or long COVID conditions. The United States reported about a million deaths due to COVID-19 infection. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), in December 2020, just a year after the first case of COVID-19 was detected, the first COVID-19 vaccine doses were administered, which allowed the immune system to fight the virus. COVID-19 and the Coronavirus Sourcebook, First Edition offers basic information on the coronavirus and COVID-19 infection. It provides facts about its origin, how it spreads, earlier outbreaks, variants, symptoms, risk factors, clinical presentation in specific populations and pets and animals, and the statistics of its cases and deaths. It explains the protective and control measures such as social distancing, self-isolation, face masks, and disinfecting. The guidance for COVID-19 measures in schools, workplace, and other places are discussed. Detailed information is provided on the investigation, clinical care and treatment, vaccines, management, and ongoing research. Furthermore, this book illustrates long COVID infection, mental health issues, and the impact on the global economy and social and lifestyle issues. It concludes with a glossary of terms related to COVID-19 and other infectious diseases and a list of resources for additional help and information about COVID-19 and other communicable diseases.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by
This set provides more than 1,200 alphabetically arranged entries, covering topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. It covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
Guide to the Healthcare Industry by
Healthcare′s advancements are undeniable, but delivering good value remains a challenge. Costs rise while quality improvements lag, leading some to call for removing business from healthcare entirely. This book offers a different perspective, inviting students and professionals to consider the potential of evidence-based business practices to improve healthcare and reduce costs. This engaging guide explores the unique complexities of the healthcare industry, highlighting why it′s ripe for disruption through innovative business solutions. By delving into how traditional models might not fit healthcare perfectly, the book paves the way for understanding how better business practices can unlock the potential for higher quality care at a lower cost.
Human Body Systems by
Do you wonder about all of Earth's living things, including people? Do you know how organs help us eat, move, breathe, and interact with the world around us? In this book, learn what systems make up the human body. After Reading Questions. Includes a support page of teaching tips for caregivers and teachers. Downloadable Teacher's Notes available.
Jobs in Health Care by
Health-care workers play an important role in keeping people happy and healthy. Doctors, nurses, and psychologists diagnose diseases and injuries, caring for patients of all ages. Other health-care professionals educate people about healthy habits, respond to emergencies, or help hospitals run smoothly. Jobs in Health Care explores a wide variety of careers in the field, covering the education and skills needed for each job. Easy-to-read text, vivid images, and helpful back matter give readers a clear look at this subject. Features include a table of contents, infographics, a glossary, additional resources, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Core Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Living with Anxiety by
Anxiety is an overwhelming feeling of distress and worry. There are several types of anxiety disorder. This book describes ways to treat symptoms of these disorders, including therapy, medication, and lifestyle changes.
Living with Bipolar Disorder by
People with bipolar disorders have severe mood swings. They have periods of high mood and low mood. This book describes ways to treat bipolar disorders, including medication and therapy.
Living with Depression by
People with depression experience periods of low, sad mood. Depression can cause difficulties with everyday life. This book describes different depressive disorders and ways to treat them, including therapy, medication, and brain stimulation.
Living with Gender Dysphoria by
Some transgender people experience gender dysphoria. This is a feeling of distress that can be caused when a person's appearance does not match their gender identity. This book describes ways to treat gender dysphoria, including social transitioning, hormone therapies, and gender affirmation surgeries.
Living with Psychotic Disorders by
Psychotic disorders affect a person's thoughts, emotions, and behaviors. They disconnect people from reality. This book describes symptoms and types of psychotic disorders as well as treatment, including medication, therapy, and lifestyle changes.
Magill's Medical Guide by
Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format to address recent developments in medicine.
Move by
Millions of young people face mental health challenges, such as depression, anxiety, and even everyday stress. Regular physical activity can promote the release of natural "feel good" chemicals in the brain, boost energy levels, improve self-esteem, make you feel more connected to others, and help ease the types of stress we all experience from time to time. This book shows how physical activity helps reduce mental health risks and maintain overall well-being.
Nutrition, Weight, and Digestive Health by
This book serves as a definitive nutritional reference for medical practitioners who care for patients with digestive diseases. This first-of-its-kind title explores the critical link between nutrition and weight and digestive health and organizes the necessary information for easy use for clinicians across specialties. The book is divided into four sections; the first section outlines basic nutritional concepts that lay a foundation for future chapters. This includes discussion of the gastrointestinal tract's role in digestion and metabolism, an outline of dietary composition and associated deficiencies, and a review of nutritional assessment and general therapeutic principles. Next, the second section outlines dietary and nutritional implications of specific digestive diseases organized by affected gastrointestinal organs. Following this, the third section discusses appetite regulation, weight management, and obesity's association with gastrointestinal diseases. It also discusses the importance of comprehensive, multi-disciplinary obesity care including a review of dietary, pharmacological, endoscopic, and surgical options that promote weight loss. In concluding the book, the fourth section discusses foundational nutritional support concepts. Nutrition, Weight, and Digestive Health is an invaluable reference for medical practitioners seeking a title that explores important and revolutionary elements to the medical care of those with digestive diseases.
Thinking Critically by
New edition. Despite growing evidence of health risks, e-cigarettes and vaping have become extremely popular--among both adults and teenagers. Through a narrative-driven pro/con format--supported by relevant facts, quotes, anecdotes, and full-color illustrations--this title examines issues related to e-cigarettes and vaping. Topics include: Do E-Cigarettes Have a Positive or Negative Effect on Public Health? Should Flavored Vaping Liquids Be Banned? Is Vaping a Safer Method of Using Nicotine?
Wellness around the World: An International Encyclopedia of Health Indicators, Practices, and Issues by
This set serves as a broad introduction to the field of global health. It includes a collection of accessibly written entries covering a wide variety of integral topics in this multidisciplinary subject, and profiles detailing each nation's unique health landscape and pressing health concerns. It also includes a collection of interviews with researchers and activists working to improve health around the globe.
What Are the Risks of Vaping? by
Vaping has become widely popular among teens, but what are its risks? This book explores that question, looking at the history of vaping, how it affects the health of individuals, and the impact it has had on society.
