The art and science of beauty therapy : a complete guide for beauty specialists by Jane Foulston; Fae Major; Marguerite Wynne"The Art & Science of Beauty Therapy is an indispensable reference for beauty therapists, providing up to the minute guidance for Level 2 qualifications and including full coverage of Facial Electrical treatments. Each treatment is explained using insights and practical advice from a team of industry experts, and the book clearly illustrates the personal qualities and professional skills that make a successful beauty specialist. Step-by-step photo sequences and diagrams; Checklists, key points and topic summaries; Anatomy & physiology for easy understanding; Maps learning objectives for core units at Level 2 VRQ."--Back cover.
Call Number: RA 778 .A78 2016
Publication Date: 2016
The A to Z of Plant Names by Allen J. CoombesBotanical names can be baffling to even the most experienced gardener. But a plant's botanical name is more than just a handy label—it can tell a plant's country of origin, the shape of its leaves, the color of its petals, and much more. The A to Z of Plant Names clears the confusion and allows every gardener to name plants with confidence. This comprehensive yet handy guide features the botanic names of the plants that gardeners really grow. Additional information includes suggested pronunciation, the common name, the derivation of the scientific name, the number of species currently accepted, the type of plant and the distribution. The A to Z of Plant Names helps demystify names, provides readers with the intriguing background information to naming conventions, and empowers gardeners everywhere to feel confident about naming plants.
Call Number: QK 96 .C78 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-29
Gale Encyclopedia of Diet by Kristin Key (Editor)The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets 2-vol. set presents authoritative, comprehensive information on special diets, popular diets, dietary concerns, nutrition basics, and effects of dietary choices on health. All entries are presented in a standardized and balanced format. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influenced the practice, and any public and regulatory concerns associated with the diet. Articles provide information across all age groups, from infants to the elderly, without the intention of endorsement of any one diet. Such subjects as the South Beach Diet, The Zone, nutrition literacy, diabetes, and obesity are covered.
Call Number: RA 784 .G353 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
Havard's Nursing Guide to Drugs by Adriana P. TizianiThe premier drug guide for nurses and midwives since 1983. Now in its 10th edition, Havard's Nursing Guide to Drugs continues to provide reliable, accurate drug information for nursing and midwifery students and practitioners. This user-friendly drug guide delivers safe, up-to-date drug administration information regarding form, action, use, dose, adverse effects and interactions in compliance with current pharmaceutical guidelines from the Therapeutic Goods Administration and MIMS. Nursing points and cautions highlight best practice in drug administration and expanded focus on Patient teaching and advice ensures quality patient care. All drugs listed by therapeutic class and by body system Both trade names and generic drug names are provided Icons indicate cautions for drugs used during pregnancy and breastfeeding, and drug specific restrictions in sport A quick reference guide for calculating drug dosages and drip rates Common abbreviations, units and concentrations Appendix 3 features the latest MIMS updates, including dual labelling of drug ingredients to demonstrate international alignment Fully revised section on antineoplastic agents New drugs added to immunomodifiers, pulmonary arterial hypertension agents and eye, ear and nose Companion mobile optimised site (http://www.elsevierhealthonline.com.au/guidetodrugs/) available with print book or as a separate purchase: - Provides easy online access to the trusted drug guide - Search by body system, therapeutic class or both - Perfect support for students and practitioners during study or clinical practice
Call Number: RM 301.12 T59 2017
Publication Date: 2017-08-21
McGraw-Hill Education Yearbook of Science and Technology 2015 by McGraw-Hill Education StaffAn annual roundup of the amazing breakthroughs in science and technology The McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science & Technology 2015 continues its tradition of making information on the latest advances in science and technology accessible to the nonspecialist through concise, richly illustrated articles. With entries written by international leaders in their respective fields, this new edition covers a broad range of scientific and technical disciplines, from Astronomy to Zoology. 200 experts in science and technology keep you informed about key developments and trends in more than 50 major disciplines Coverage includes forefront topics in areas such as genomics; cell and molecular biology; computer science; conservation and environmental science; regenerative medicine; climatology; materials science and engineering; neuroscience; nanotechnology; theoretical physics; and more 380 full-color images, illustrations, and tables complement and enhance the text An extensive index makes finding information easy Numerous cross-references in each article suggest background reading in the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 11th edition, as well as references to key literature All articles are invited, reviewed, and signed to ensure quality of content, and then edited and illustrated to aid the comprehension of nonspecialist readers
Call Number: Q 121 .M312 2015
Publication Date: 2014-12-29
Medical Terminology by Barbara Jansen Cohen; Shirley A. JonesMedical Terminology: An Illustrated Guide, Ninth Edition helps readers develop a fundamental knowledge of the medical terminology necessary for a career in any healthcare setting. The text opens with a general introduction to word parts and the human body as a whole, followed by an overview of diseases and treatments. Each subsequent chapter on the individual body systems begins with an illustrated overview of the system with definitions of key terms relevant to that system. Tables of word parts and exercises on using them follow. The sequence of the systems chapters follows the same order as that found in a tradition A&P courses.Turning to the abnormal, a section on diseases and treatments is included, followed by definitions of related key terms.
Nursing2022 Drug Handbook by Lippincott Williams & WilkinsTHE #1 Drug Guide for nurses & other clinicians...always dependable, always up to date! Look for these outstanding features: Completely updated nursing-focused drug monographs featuring 3,500 generic, brand-name, and combination drugs in an easy A-to-Z format NEW! 32 brand-new FDA-approved drugs in this edition, including the COVID-19 drug remdesivir--tabbed and conveniently grouped in a handy "NEW DRUGS" section for easy retrieval NEW! Thousands of clinical updates--new dosages and indications, Black Box warnings, genetic-related information, adverse reactions, nursing considerations, clinical alerts, and patient teaching information Special focus on U.S. and Canadian drug safety issues and concerns Photoguide insert with images of 439 commonly prescribed tablets and capsules Plus FREE online companion Toolkit Monthly FDA updates featuring newly approved drugs, indications, and warnings Pharmacology videos, audio pronunciation guide, and English-Spanish translator Equianalgesic dosing guidelines for opioid drugs Mechanisms and sites of action graphics for selected drugs NCLEX®-style questions, free CE tests, plus bonus discounts...and more!
Call Number: RM 301.12 .N88 2022
Publication Date: 2021-05-27
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine by Murray Longmore; Ian Wilkinson; Andrew Baldwin; Elizabeth WallinNow in its ninth edition, the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine continues to be the definitive pocket-friendly guide to medicine. The culmination over 25 years of experience at the bedside and in the community, this handbook is packed with practical advice, wit, and wisdom. The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine presents clinical information in a clear way that makes it easy to revise, remember, and implement on the ward. It gives reliable advice on what to do, when to do it, and how to do it, with clinical photographs and diagrams that bring theory to life. Uniquely for a medical text, this book weaves history, literature, art, and philosophy into its survey of medicine, casting new light on the specialties and encouraging the reader to see beyond the practical aspects of medicine and adopt a patient-centred approach to care. The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine looks better than ever, with a more modern design and over 600 colour images and illustrations. The History and Examination chapter has been completely revamped with systematic flowcharts and new illustrations so that it better reflects real bedside practice. The index, cross-references, and references have been overhauled to make them even easier to use. Every chapter has been written with supervision from experts in each field to ensure accuracy, and updated to reflect relevant guidelines from the NHS, NICE, the Resuscitation Council and other key professional bodies. Loved and trusted by generations of doctors, the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine continues to be an indispensable companion for the practice of modern medicine.
Call Number: RC 59 .H67 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-09
Pearson Nurse's Drug Guide 2017 by Billie A. Wilson; Margaret Shannon; Kelly ShieldsPearson Nurse's Drug Guide 2017 is ideal for courses in nursing curricula covering drugs and/or drug administration. It also serves as a useful reference for nursing professionals. The information nurses need for safe, effective drug administration in any setting The new 2017 edition of the Pearson Nurse's Drug Guide provides safe, effective, current, and accurate drug information in a quickly accessible format. Comprehensive and complete, it lists all drugs alphabetically by generic names for quick reference, with an index listing both generic and trade names. It presents important clinical information for hundreds of drugs, with adverse reactions, interactions, side effects, and impacts on lab results.
Call Number: RM 125 .P43 2015
Publication Date: 2016-05-12
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, 9th Edition by Don W. Green; Marylee Z. SouthardPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Up-to-Date Coverage of All Chemical Engineering Topics―from the Fundamentals to the State of the Art Now in its 85th Anniversary Edition, this industry-standard resource has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with vital information, data, and insights. Thoroughly revised to reflect the latest technological advances and processes, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Ninth Edition, provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering. You will get comprehensive details on chemical processes, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation, process and chemical plant safety, and much more. This fully updated edition covers: Unit Conversion Factors and Symbols * Physical and Chemical Data including Prediction and Correlation of Physical Properties * Mathematics including Differential and Integral Calculus, Statistics , Optimization * Thermodynamics * Heat and Mass Transfer * Fluid and Particle Dynamics *Reaction Kinetics * Process Control and Instrumentation* Process Economics * Transport and Storage of Fluids * Heat Transfer Operations and Equipment * Psychrometry, Evaporative Cooling, and Solids Drying * Distillation * Gas Absorption and Gas-Liquid System Design * Liquid-Liquid Extraction Operations and Equipment * Adsorption and Ion Exchange * Gas-Solid Operations and Equipment * Liquid-Solid Operations and Equipment * Solid-Solid Operations and Equipment *Chemical Reactors * Bio-based Reactions and Processing * Waste Management including Air ,Wastewater and Solid Waste Management* Process Safety including Inherently Safer Design * Energy Resources, Conversion and Utilization* Materials of Construction
Call Number: TP 151 .P45 2019
Publication Date: 2018-08-29
Principles Biochemistry by David NelsonThe number one bestselling textbook for the introductory biochemistry course because it brings clarity and coherence to an often unwieldy discipline, offering a thoroughly updated survey of biochemistry's enduring principles, definitive discoveries, and groundbreaking new advances with each edition. This new Seventh Edition maintains the qualities that have distinguished the text since Albert Lehninger's original edition--clear writing, careful explanations of difficult concepts, helpful problem-solving support, and insightful communication of contemporary biochemistry's core ideas, new techniques, and pivotal discoveries. Again, David Nelson and Michael Cox introduce students to an extraordinary amount of exciting new findings without an overwhelming amount of extra discussion or detail. With this edition, W.H. Freeman and Sapling Learning have teamed up to provide the book's richest, most completely integrated text/media learning experience yet, through an extraordinary new online resource; SaplingPlus. See 'Instructor Resources' and 'Student Resources' for further information.