Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hong Kong Institute of Vocation Education (Kwai Chung)
20 Hing Shing Road, Kwai Chung, N.T.
Tel : 2612 3569
Fax : 2612 3869
Useful Subject Heading
The following subject headings may be used to locate materials about this subject when searching in VTC Library Catalogue.
Core Reference Materials
The A to Z of Plant Names by Botanical names can be baffling to even the most experienced gardener. But a plant's botanical name is more than just a handy label—it can tell a plant's country of origin, the shape of its leaves, the color of its petals, and much more. The A to Z of Plant Names clears the confusion and allows every gardener to name plants with confidence. This comprehensive yet handy guide features the botanic names of the plants that gardeners really grow. Additional information includes suggested pronunciation, the common name, the derivation of the scientific name, the number of species currently accepted, the type of plant and the distribution. The A to Z of Plant Names helps demystify names, provides readers with the intriguing background information to naming conventions, and empowers gardeners everywhere to feel confident about naming plants.
Call Number: QK 96 .C78 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-29
A Dictionary of Chemical Engineering by A Dictionary of Chemical Engineering is one of the latest additions to the market leading Oxford Paperback Reference series. In over 3,400 concise and authoritative A to Z entries, it provides definitions and explanations for chemical engineering terms in areas including: materials, energybalances, reactions, separations, sustainability, safety, and ethics. Naturally, the dictionary also covers many pertinent terms from the fields of chemistry, physics, biology, and mathematics.Useful entry-level web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website to expand the coverage of the dictionary. Comprehensively cross-referenced and complemented by over 60 line drawings, this excellent new volume is the most authoritative dictionary of its kind. It is anessential reference source for students of chemical engineering, for professionals in this field (as well as related disciplines such as applied chemistry, chemical technology, and process engineering), and for anyone with an interest in the subject.
Call Number: TP 9 .S33 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-01
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity by Biodiversity and ecology are founded in evolutionary science. In order to understand why species of organisms occupy different parts of the world, it is important to comprehend how they evolved. Encyclopedia of Biodiversity examines this evolutionary framework with the help of more than 150 cross-referenced entries and five essays averaging at least 2,000 words each. High school teachers can use these entries—grouped by topic—to meet many of the science education goals established by the National Academy of Sciences. Written by a leading expert in the field, this comprehensive, full-color encyclopedia makes information about groups of organisms (from bacteria to mammals) and about ecological concepts and processes (such as biogeography and ecological succession) clearly and readily available to students and the general public. Tables at the end of each entry have a consistent structure, allowing readers to see how environmental conditions and biodiversity have changed through evolutionary time. Entries include: Acid rain and fog Biodiversity in the Jurassic period Darwin's finches Galápagos Islands Peter and Rosemary Grant Life in bogs Natural selection Population genetics Seedless plants Tropical rainforests and deforestation Alfred Russel Wallace.
Call Number: QH 541.15 .B56 R53 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care by "The information in this book] is amazing. I reviewed topics in which I have expertise and was very satisfied. This is an excellent addition to my library and I will refer to it often, much like a medical dictionary. Score: 90, 4 Stars.--Doody's Medical Reviews "The third edition of this encyclopedia provides 273 comprehensive, yet succinct, entries on a variety of topics related to elder care. ... In addition, many of the entries include see also references that help readers easily navigate the book. Entries are written at an undergraduate level and would be useful for practitioners, students, and caregivers...Recommended."--Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries This interdisciplinary clinical reference encompasses more than 310 current entries on a broad range of topics related to geriatrics and geriatric care across multiple health care disciplines. The third edition reflects the many advances in geriatrics that have occurred since the publication of the second edition in 2006. It contains the updated, evidence-based contributions of more than 260 nationally recognized geriatric healthcare professionals regarding elder-care concerns relating to society, community, caregiving, and the individual. Completely new entries address Geriatric Care Models (acute care for elders, Project BOOST), Geriatric Health Issues (diarrhea in adults, prolonged hospitalization, frailty, fronto-temporal dementia, re-hospitalization, acute urinary retention, personality and aging, primary palliative care), Technology and Aging (Smart home sensors, Telehealth, Surveillance technology), and more. The Encyclopedia is organized alphabetically and includes links to important Web-based resources and Apps. Clinical topics comprehensively address diagnosis, treatment, and disease management. Health care clinicians across the continuum will find this reference--the only one of its kind--to be a valuable guide to making appropriate referrals to social service providers, and social service professionals will be well informed by highly accessible descriptions of diagnoses, clinical syndromes, and care management. Key Features: Includes over 310 updated geriatric and geriatric care clinical entries across multiple healthcare disciplines Contains state-of-the-art contributions from over 260 nationally recognized geriatric healthcare experts Provides clinical content for social service professionals and social care information for clinicians Offers new information on multiple topics relating to Geriatric Care Models, Geriatric Health Concerns, and Technology and Aging References numerous Web-based resources and Apps
Call Number: RC 954 .E53 2014
Publication Date: 2013-12-01
Encyclopedia of Lifestyle Medicine and Health by The Encyclopedia of Lifestyle Medicine and Health offers thorough coverage of relevant topics and issues in historical and contemporary context, with information on lifestyle habits and practices and their impact on health. These three volumes sort out the science behind nightly news reports and magazine cover stories, helping the reader to discern sound, evidence-based advice from that which is merely fad. The volumes convey the latest research on lifestyle medicine, incorporating content from such areas as health psychology, communication, public policy and health promotion, and disease prevention, among others. Researchers are empowered to lead and promote healthier lifestyles after perusing the hundreds of signed, authoritative entries written by leading experts in their respective fields. Accompanying bibliographies and suggested readings provide guidance toward more in-depth resources. This comprehensive reference resource is written accessibly, making it useful for a broad audience, including students and academics in the fields of health, physical education, biology, medicine, nursing and allied health, physical therapy, nutrition, public health, and health communication, as well as for lay readers interested in learning how to leader a healthier lifestyle.
Call Number: RA 427 .E53 2012
Publication Date: 2012-02-14
Gale Encyclopedia of Diet by The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets 2-vol. set presents authoritative, comprehensive information on special diets, popular diets, dietary concerns, nutrition basics, and effects of dietary choices on health. All entries are presented in a standardized and balanced format. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influenced the practice, and any public and regulatory concerns associated with the diet. Articles provide information across all age groups, from infants to the elderly, without the intention of endorsement of any one diet. Such subjects as the South Beach Diet, The Zone, nutrition literacy, diabetes, and obesity are covered.
Call Number: RA 784 .G353 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
McGraw-Hill Education Yearbook of Science and Technology 2015 by An annual roundup of the amazing breakthroughs in science and technology The McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science & Technology 2015 continues its tradition of making information on the latest advances in science and technology accessible to the nonspecialist through concise, richly illustrated articles. With entries written by international leaders in their respective fields, this new edition covers a broad range of scientific and technical disciplines, from Astronomy to Zoology. 200 experts in science and technology keep you informed about key developments and trends in more than 50 major disciplines Coverage includes forefront topics in areas such as genomics; cell and molecular biology; computer science; conservation and environmental science; regenerative medicine; climatology; materials science and engineering; neuroscience; nanotechnology; theoretical physics; and more 380 full-color images, illustrations, and tables complement and enhance the text An extensive index makes finding information easy Numerous cross-references in each article suggest background reading in the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 11th edition, as well as references to key literature All articles are invited, reviewed, and signed to ensure quality of content, and then edited and illustrated to aid the comprehension of nonspecialist readers
Call Number: Q 121 .M312 2015
Publication Date: 2014-12-29
Milady's MediSpa Dictionary by Milady's Medispa Dictionary provides students with a convenient reference to be used in the classroom or in the treatment room.
Call Number: R 123 .H55 2012
Publication Date: 2011-01-03
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine by Now in its ninth edition, the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine continues to be the definitive pocket-friendly guide to medicine. The culmination over 25 years of experience at the bedside and in the community, this handbook is packed with practical advice, wit, and wisdom. The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine presents clinical information in a clear way that makes it easy to revise, remember, and implement on the ward. It gives reliable advice on what to do, when to do it, and how to do it, with clinical photographs and diagrams that bring theory to life. Uniquely for a medical text, this book weaves history, literature, art, and philosophy into its survey of medicine, casting new light on the specialties and encouraging the reader to see beyond the practical aspects of medicine and adopt a patient-centred approach to care. The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine looks better than ever, with a more modern design and over 600 colour images and illustrations. The History and Examination chapter has been completely revamped with systematic flowcharts and new illustrations so that it better reflects real bedside practice. The index, cross-references, and references have been overhauled to make them even easier to use. Every chapter has been written with supervision from experts in each field to ensure accuracy, and updated to reflect relevant guidelines from the NHS, NICE, the Resuscitation Council and other key professional bodies. Loved and trusted by generations of doctors, the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine continues to be an indispensable companion for the practice of modern medicine.
Call Number: RC 59 .H67 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-09
Pearson Nurse's Drug Guide 2017 by Pearson Nurse's Drug Guide 2017 is ideal for courses in nursing curricula covering drugs and/or drug administration. It also serves as a useful reference for nursing professionals. The information nurses need for safe, effective drug administration in any setting The new 2017 edition of the Pearson Nurse's Drug Guide provides safe, effective, current, and accurate drug information in a quickly accessible format. Comprehensive and complete, it lists all drugs alphabetically by generic names for quick reference, with an index listing both generic and trade names. It presents important clinical information for hundreds of drugs, with adverse reactions, interactions, side effects, and impacts on lab results.
Call Number: RM 125 .P43 2015
Publication Date: 2016-05-12
Textbook List published by McGraw Hill
ALL McGraw Hill textbooks listed in the below document are available online. Please contact your lecturers for more details.
Users can request the physical books (from item 7 to item 11 in the list) via VTC Library Catalogue. The direct links are provided in the document.
Benson's Microbiological Applications by Benson's Microbiological Applications has been the "gold standard" of microbiology laboratory manuals for over 35 years. This manual has a number of attractive features that resulted in its adoption in universities, colleges, and community colleges. These features include user-friendly diagrams that students can easily follow, clear instructions, and an excellent array of reliable exercises suitable for beginning or advanced microbiology courses. In revising the lab manual for the fourteenth edition, we have tried to maintain the proven strengths of the manual and further enhance it. We have updated the introductory material of the fungi, protozoa, and algae to reflect changes in scientific information. Finally, the names of microorganisms used by the American Type Culture Collection. This is important for those users who rely on the ATCC for a source of cultures.
Publication Date: 2016-09-27
Microbiology by This book is suited for all kinds of students and doesn't require any prerequisite knowledge of biology or chemistry. If you are interested in entering the health care profession in some way, this book will give you a strong background in the biology of microorganisms, without overwhelming you with unnecessary details. Don't worry if you are not in health professions. A grasp of this topic is important for everyone and can be attained with this book.
Publication Date: 2017-02-08
Seeley's Anatomy and Physiology by This text is written for the two semester anatomy & physiology course. The writing is comprehensive, providing the depth necessary for those courses not requiring prerequisites, and yet, is presented with such clarity that it nicely balances the thorough coverage. Clear descriptions and exceptional illustrations combine to help students develop a firm understanding of the concepts of anatomy and physiology and to teach them how to use that information. Great care has been taken to select important concepts and to perfectly describe the anatomy of cells, organs, and organ systems. The plan that has been followed for ten editions of this popular text is to combine clear and accurate descriptions of anatomy with precise explanations of how structures function and examples of how they work together to maintain life. To emphasize the concepts of anatomy and physiology, the authors provide explanations of how the systems respond to aging, changes in physical activity, and disease, with a special focus on homeostasis and the regulatory mechanisms that maintain it. This text has more clinical content than any other A & P book on the market.
Publication Date: 2016-01-04
Mader's Understanding Human Anatomy and Physiology by Renowned for her effective learning systems respected author Sylvia Mader has helped thousands of entry-level students understand and enjoy the principles of human anatomy and physiology. Beginning with the sixth edition Susannah Longenbaker has been building on Dr. Mader's format and engaging writing style while adding her own personal touch to this successful title. The writing is clear direct and user-friendly and enriched with new clinical information terminology and classroom-tested features such as "Focus on Forensics" readings and in-text "Content Check-Up" questions. Drawing on over twenty years of teaching experience Sue Longenbaker writes for the next generation of students that will learn anatomy and physiology from this classic textbook.
Publication Date: 2016-01-11
Publication Date: 2017-10-01
Ecology by Ecology: Concepts and Applications, 8th edition by Molles and Sher places great emphasis on helping students grasp the main concepts of ecology while keeping the presentation more applied than theoretical. An evolutionary perspective forms the foundation of the entire discussion. The book begins with the natural history of the planet, considers portions of the whole in the middle chapters, and ends with another perspective of the entire planet in the concluding chapter. Its unique organization of focusing only on several key concepts in each chapter sets it apart from other ecology texts. Users who purchase Connect receive access to the full online ebook version of the textbook.
Publication Date: 2018-02-02
Stern's Introductory Plant Biology by This introductory text assumes little prior scientific knowledge on the part of the student. It includes sufficient information for some shorter introductory botany courses open to both majors and nonmajors, and is arranged so that certain sections can be omitted without disrupting the overall continuity of the course. Stern emphasizes current interests while presenting basic botanical principles. This latest edition incorporates measurable learning outcomes and updated readings. Students will be introduced to the new classification of plants and plant-related species, integration of biotechnology into several chapters and inclusion of new text boxes addressing the areas of ecology, evolution and molecular biology. New photos have replaced older pictures or have been added also.
Publication Date: 2017-02-09
Genetics by Genetics: Analysis and Principles is a one-semester, introductory genetics textbook that takes an experimental approach to understanding genetics. By weaving one or two experiments into the narrative of each chapter, students can simultaneously explore the scientific method and understand the genetic principles that have been learned from these experiments. Rob Brooker, author of market leading texts in Genetics and Intro Biology for majors, brings his clear and accessible writing style to this latest edition.
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Nutrition for Health, Fitness and Sport by Nutrition for Health, Fitness & Sport, now in its Eleventh edition, provides the reader with thorough coverage of the role nutrition plays in enhancing one's health, fitness, and sport performance. Current research and practical activities are incorporated throughout. This edition welcomes the addition of author, J. David Branch, along with the return of author Eric S. Rawson from the tenth edition, both of whom are actively involved in the disciplines of exercise physiology and sports nutrition, and who have used this textbook over the years to teach their university classes. The eleventh edition truly moves into blending the latest technology for individuals to utilize in combining nutritional and exercise choices for health and sports performance. Featured nutritional information includes the introduction to the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics position stand on the total approach to healthy eating and to the latest report on Dietary Guidelines for Americans, while exercise and physical activity featured content includes the introduction to High Intensity Interval Training (HITT) and its possible application to exercise for health, along with the Compendium of Physical Activities. Enhanced discussion of the latest trends of various exercise applications (apps) and personal digital fitness measurement equipment, such as fitness bands and fitness watches, are also hallmarks of the eleventh edition. More than 300 new references, including clinical studies, reviews, and meta-analyses, have also been added to the text.
Publication Date: 2016-01-21