Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following subject headings may be used to locate materials about this subject when searching in VTC Library Catalogue.
Selected Print References
Visual Design Concepts for Mobile Games by This book is geared towards both students as well as professionals who are looking to enter the mobile (tablet/smartphone) and PC (personal computer) industry as concept artists (for both 2D and 3D production pipelines) or 2D production artists (game-ready assets). This book is not specifically focused on game design or game development and is also not a 3D modeling or animation guide. However, certain aspects of game design, game development, and 3D modeling and animation will impact the visual development and art creation process. So, at points throughout we will explore topics such as game engine performance and game mechanics, though at a very high-level, bird's-eye, vantage point and only as they pertain to the visual development of the various assignments throughout this book. Through the completion of the exercises and assignments contained within Visual Development for Web & Mobile Games readers will be guided through the visual development process and execution of a variety of concepts and assets (final game art). This includes categories such as characters, props, and backgrounds, within an isometric design template. The categories themselves will relate more to their function within a very simple game design template than their completed visual representation (e.g., the "big build-able" category could be anything from a town square to a fire breathing dragon as long as it fits within the bare bones parameters of the asset types functionality). The concept, theme, and style of these assets, as well as the world they inhabit, will be completely up to the individual artist.
Call Number: QA 76.65 .C37 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-12
3D Printing for Artists, Designers and Makers by Fully revised and with a new chapter and international case studies, this second edition of the best-selling book traces how artists and designers continue to adapt and incorporate 3D printing technology into their work and explains how the creative industries are directly interfacing with this new technology. Covering a broad range of applied art practice from fine art and furniture-design to film-making Stephen Hoskins introduces some of his groundbreaking research from the Centre for Fine Print Research along with an updated history of 3D print technology, a new chapter on fashion and animation, and new case studies featuring artists working with metal, plastic, ceramic and other materials. A fascinating investigation into how the applied arts continue to adapt to new technologies and a forecast of what developments we might expect in the future, this book is essential reading for students, researchers studying contemporary art and design and professionals involved in the creative industries.
Call Number: TS 171.95 .H675 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-08
Call Number: TK 5105.888 .N489 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-21
Graphic Artists Guild Handbook of Pricing and Ethical Guidelines by From the Graphic Artists Guild comes the complete pricing and ethical reference for designers--helping members and non-members alike navigate the world of charging and collecting payment for their designs as well as building their freelance business. Graphic Artists Guild Handbook: Pricing & Ethical Guidelines, 15th Edition is an indispensable resource for people who create graphic art and those who buy it. As the graphic art marketplace continues to evolve to meet the needs of both digital and print media and as clients struggle with shrinking budgets in the current economy, the demand for up-to-date information on business, ethical, and legal issues is greater than ever. The fully updated 15th Edition includes: --The latest pricing guidelines for buyers and sellers --Current salary information with job descriptions --Formulas for determining hourly and per diem freelance rates --Hourly freelance rates by discipline --Copyright registration information --Model contracts and forms that can be adapted for specific needs --A totally revised and updated chapter on Surface Pattern Design --An expanded chapter of additional professional, business, and legal resources with the latest contact information This one-stop resource provides all the professional and legal guidance every graphic designer needs to build their business and enhance their careers.
Call Number: NC 1001.6 .G7 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-03
Adobe Dreamweaver CC Classroom in a Book (2018 Release) by Creative professionals seeking the fastest, easiest, most comprehensive way to learn Adobe Dreamweaver CC (2018 release) choose Adobe Dreamweaver CC Classroom in a Book (2018 release) from the best-selling series of hands-on software training workbooks from Adobe Press. The 14 project-based step-by-step lessons in this book show users the key techniques for working in Dreamweaver. Learn how to create webpages for the modern web; use and customise web frameworks to build responsive designs for a wide variety of desktop computers and mobile devices with a minimum of hand coding; incorporate graphics, and text; add links to text and images; add interactive elements to your sites, such as HTML5-compatible interactivity; work with the latest HTML5 and CSS3 code and structures; and publish a finished site to the web. A 15th lesson (online) provides valuable hands-on experience in working with code. The online assets also include bonus exercises for HTML and Cascading Style Sheets, essential to your understanding of web design and website development. The online companion files include all the necessary assets for readers to complete the projects featured in each lesson as well as ebook updates when Adobe releases relevant new features for Creative Cloud customers. All buyers of the book get full access to the Web Edition: a Web-based version of the complete ebook enhanced with video and multiple-choice quizzes.
Call Number: TK5105.8885.D74 M37 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-16
Digital Marketing Analytics by Distill Maximum Value from Your Digital Data! Do It Now! Why hasn't all that data delivered a whopping competitive advantage? Because you've barely begun to use it, that's why! Good news: neither have your competitors. It's hard! But digital marketing analytics is 100% doable, it offers colossal opportunities, and all of the data is accessible to you. Chuck Hemann and Ken Burbary will help you chop the problem down to size, solve every piece of the puzzle, and integrate a virtually frictionless system for moving from data to decision, action to results! Scope it out, pick your tools, learn to listen, get the metrics right, and then distill your digital data for maximum value for everything from R&D to customer service to social media marketing! Prioritize--because you can't measure and analyze everything Use analysis to craft experiences that profoundly reflect each customer's needs, expectations, and behaviors Measure real digital media ROI: sales, leads, and customer satisfaction Track the performance of all paid, earned, and owned digital channels Leverage digital data way beyond PR and marketing: for strategic planning, product development, and HR Start optimizing digital content in real time Implement advanced tools, processes, and algorithms for accurately measuring influence Make the most of surveys, focus groups, and offline research synergies Focus new marketing investments where they'll deliver the most value * Identify and understand your most important audiences across the digital ecosystem "Chuck and Ken lead marketers clearly and efficiently through the minefield of digital marketing measurement. And they do so with a lightness of touch and absence of jargon so rare in this overhyped, much-misunderstood ecosystem." --Sam Knowles, Founder & MD of Insight Agents; author of Narrative by Numbers: How to Tell Powerful & Purposeful Stories with Data
Call Number: HF 5415.1265 .H46 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-09
Art in the Age of the Internet, 1989 to Today by A richly illustrated and expansive investigation of how the internet has influenced contemporary artistic practice over the past thirty years Featuring essays by leading curators, scholars, and critics, this book provides an in-depth look at how the internet has impacted visual art over the past three decades. From the fall of the Berlin Wall to Black Lives Matter, the internet's promise to foster communication across borders and democratize information has evolved alongside its rapidly developing technologies. While it has introduced radical changes to how art is made, disseminated, and perceived, the internet has also inspired artists to create inventive and powerful work that addresses new conceptions of community and identity, modes of surveillance, and tactics for resistance. Art in the Age of the Internet, 1989 to Today traces the relationship between internet culture and artistic practice through the work of contemporary artists such as Ed Atkins, Camille Henrot, and Anicka Yi, and looks back to pre-internet pioneers including Nam June Paik. Conversations between artists reveal how they have tackled similar issues using different technological tools. Touching on a variety of topics that range from emergent ideas of the body and human enhancement to the effects of digital modes of production on traditional media, and featuring more than 200 images of works including painting, performance, photography, sculpture, video, and web-based projects, this volume is packed with insightful revelations about how the internet has affected the trajectory of contemporary art.
Call Number: NX 180 .I57 A77 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
Artist's Market 2018 by A successful art career at your fingertips! Do you want to establish or expand a career for yourself in fine art, illustration, or design? Artist's Market 2018 is the must-have reference guide you need. Thousands of successful artists have relied on us to help develop their careers and navigate the changing business landscape. Artist's Market 2018 includes the most up-to-date, individually verified market contacts possible. Grow your art business with these resources: Up-to-date contact information for more than 1,800 art market resources, including galleries, magazines, book publishers, greeting card companies, ad agencies, syndicates, art fairs, and more Articles on the business of freelancing--from basic copyright information to tips on promoting your work Information on grants, residencies, organizations, publications, and websites that offer support and direction for visual artists of all types NEW! Articles on social media marketing, monitoring your copyright, how to get your work into a gallery, what art students need to know to prepare for a successful career, and a look at whether art loan programs might be right for you. In addition, read great interviews with successful artists Aaron Becker, Brianna Scharstein, and Katherine Chang Liu.
Call Number: N 8600 .A78 2017
Publication Date: 2017-11-16
Graphic Design Discourse by If the aim of graphic design is to communicate meaning clearly, there's an irony that the field itself has struggled between two contradictory opposites: rote design resulting from a rigorous, fixed set of rules, and eccentric design that expresses the hand of the artist but fails to communicate with its audience. But what if designers focused on process and critical analysis over visual outcome? Through a carefully selected collection of more than seventy-five seminal texts spanning centuries and bridging the disciplines of art, architecture, design history, philosophy, and cultural theory,Graphic Design Discourse: Evolving Theories, Ideologies, and Processes of Visual Communication establishes a new paradigm for graphic design methodologies for the twenty-first century. This illuminating anthology is essential reading for practicing designers, educators, and students trying to understand how to design in a singular, expressive way without forgoing clear and concise visual communication.
Call Number: P 93.5 .G67 2018
Publication Date: 2017-12-19