Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hong Kong's market leader in providing competitive advertising and advertisement monitoring service through an online platform. Remote access is not available for this resource.
Data would be updated to 6 months prior to the current date. (Latest 6 months unavailable).
Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers. Art Source was developed from a merger of high-quality databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson.
EMI Music Library
EMI Music Library is a collection of pre-recorded music specially composed and recorded for use by producers for audio-visual productions. The music is made widely available to professionals working in production and post production. KDI/IVE(LWL), THEi, CW-, ST-, TY- and TM-IT users only.
The following subject headings may be used to locate materials about this subject when searching in VTC Discovery Service.
Good Music by Over the past two centuries Western culture has largely valorized a particular kind of "good" music--highly serious, wondrously deep, stylistically authentic, heroically created, and strikingly original--and, at the same time, has marginalized music that does not live up to those ideals. In Good Music, John J. Sheinbaum explores these traditional models for valuing music. By engaging examples such as Handel oratorios, Beethoven and Mahler symphonies, jazz improvisations, Bruce Springsteen, and prog rock, he argues that metaphors of perfection do justice to neither the perceived strengths nor the assumed weaknesses of the music in question. Instead, he proposes an alternative model of appreciation where abstract notions of virtue need not dictate our understanding. Good music can, with pride, be playful rather than serious, diverse rather than unified, engaging to both body and mind, in dialogue with manifold styles and genres, and collaborative to the core. We can widen the scope of what music we value and reconsider the conventional rituals surrounding it, while retaining the joys of making music, listening closely, and caring passionately.
Publication Date: 2018-11-29
The Technique of Film and Video Editing by This updated sixth edition of The Technique of Film and Video Editing provides a detailed, precise look at the artistic and aesthetic principles and practices of editing for both picture and sound. Ken Dancyger puts into context the storytelling choices an editor will have to make against a background of theory, history, and practice across a range of genres, including action, comedy, drama, documentary and experimental forms, featuring analysis of dozens of classic and contemporary films. This new sixth edition includes new chapters on the influence of other media on the editing form, on the importance of surprise in editing, on the contributions of Robert Altman to the art of editing and on the experimental documentary. This edition also includes expanded coverage in technology, creative sound, point of view, and the long take. New case studies explore Whiplash (2014), Room(2015), Lincoln (2012), Tangerine (2015), The Beaches of Agnès(2008), American Sniper(2014), Son of Saul (2015), The Revenant(2015), and many more.
Publication Date: 2018-11-22
On Screen Directing by With On Screen Directing, renowned filmmaker Edward Dmytryk distills a lifetime of experience as a director into a dozen short essays on the craft of directing, spanning every stage of the filmmaking process, from screenwriting, preproduction, and casting to set design, postproduction, and promotion. Originally published in 1984, this reissue of Dmytryk's classic directing book includes a new critical introduction by Bette Gordon and Eric Mendelsohn, as well as chapter lessons, discussion questions, and exercises.
Publication Date: 2018-10-09
Media Experiences by Media Experiences: Engaging with Drama and Reality Televisiontravels across people and popular culture, exploring the pathways to engagement and the various ways in which we shape and are shaped by the media landscapes in which we move. This exploration includes the voices and bodies, sights and sounds of audiences as they experience entertainment through television drama, reality TV, at live events, and within digital television itself as actors, participants and producers. It is about the people who create the drama, live events and reality entertainment that we experience. This book traverses the relationships between producers and audiences in shared places of a media imagination. Annette Hill's research draws on interviews and observations with over 500 producers and audience members to explore cultures of viewing across different genres, such as Nordic noir crime drama The Bridge, cult conspiracy thriller Utopia, and reality television audiences and participants in global formats MasterChefand Got to Dance. The research highlights how trends such as multi-screening, catch up viewing, amateur media and piracy work alongside counter-trends in retro television viewing where people relish the social ritual of watching live television, or create a social media blackout for immersive viewing. Media Experiencesbridges the divide between industry and academia, highlighting how producers and audiences co-create, shape and limit experiences within emerging mediascapes.
Publication Date: 2018-10-22
On Screen Acting by With On Screen Acting, director Edward Dmytryk and actress Jean Porter Dmytryk offer a lively dialogue between director and actress about the principles and practice of screen acting for film and television. Informal and anecdotal in style, the book spans auditioning, casting, rehearsal, and on-set techniques, and will be of interest to both aspiring and working actors and directors. Originally published in 1984, this reissue of Dmytryk's classic acting book includes a new critical introduction by Paul Thompson, as well as chapter lessons, discussion questions, and exercises.
Publication Date: 2018-10-10
Avengers Assemble! by Avengers Assemble! explores the cinematic and televisual branches of the Marvel Cinematic Universe from a diverse range of critical perspectives. Beginning with Iron Man, it considers them as both embodiments of the changing blockbuster film and affective cultural artifacts that are immersed in the turbulent political climate of their era.
Publication Date: 2018-09-24
The Eye by They're often behind the scenes, letting their work take center stage. But now Nathan Williams, founder and editor in chief of Kinfolk magazine and author of The Kinfolk Table, The Kinfolk Home, and The Kinfolk Entrepreneur -with over 250,000 copies in print combined - brings 80 of the most iconic and influential creative directors into the spotlight. In The Eye, we meet fashion designers like Dries van Noten and Kris Van Assche. Directors like Spike Jonze and Melina Matsoukas. Tastemakers like Grace Coddington and Linda Rodin. We learn about the books they read, the mentors who guided them, their individual techniques for achieving success. We learn how they developed their eye--and how they've used it to communicate visual ideas that have captured generations and will shape the future. As an entrepreneur whose own work is defined by its specific and instantly recognizable aesthetic, Nathan Williams has a unique vision of contemporary culture that will make this an invaluable book for art directors, designers, photographers, stylists, and any creative professionals seeking inspiration and advice.
Publication Date: 2018-10-30
Global Animation Theory by Scanning historical and current trends in animation through different perspectives including art history, film, media and cultural studies is a prominent facet of today's theoretical and historical approaches in this rapidly evolving field. Global Animation Theory offers detailed and diverse insights into the methodologies of contemporary animation studies, as well as the topics relevant for today's study of animation. The contact between practical and theoretical approaches to animation at Animafest Scanner, is closely connected to host of this event, the World Festival of Animated Film Animafest Zagreb. It has given way to academic writing that is very open to practical aspects of animation, with several contributors being established not only as animation scholars, but also as artists. This anthology presents, alongside an introduction by the editors and a preface by well known animation scholar Giannalberto Bendazzi, 15 selected essays from the first three Animafest Scanner editions. They explore various significant aspects of animation studies, some of them still unknown to the English speaking communities.
Publication Date: 2018-11-01
The Documentary Filmmaker's Roadmap by The Documentary Filmmaker¿s Roadmap is a concise and practical guide to making a feature-length documentary film ¿ from funding to production to distribution, exhibition and marketing. Using her award-winning film Musicwood¿a New York Times Critics¿ Pick¿as a case study, director Maxine Trump guides the reader through the complex lifecycle of the documentary film, focusing on the practical business aspects of the process. Her interviews with lawyers, funders, distributors and festival programmers provide a behind-the-scenes look that will assist readers on their own filmmaking journey. Written from the perspective of a successful documentary filmmaker, the book covers mistakes made and lessons learned, a discussion on documentary genre, pre-production through post, test screenings, the festival circuit, and more. Perfect for documentary filmmaking students and aspiring filmmakers alike, this book emphasizes the skills needed to succeed in a competitive production market. An appendix includes useful web links for further study, a list of films for recommended viewing, and sample release forms. This concise guide is ideal for the classroom or as a quick reference out in the field, at a budget meeting or in the editing room.
Publication Date: 2018-07-13
The Business of Film by The updated second edition of this text introduces readers to the business of film at every stage of the filmmaking lifecycle, from planning and production to distribution. Authors Paula Landry and Stephen R. Greenwald offer a practical, hands-on guide to the business aspects of this evolving industry, exploring development, financing, regional/global/online distribution, business models, exhibition, multi-platform delivery, marketing, film festivals, production incentives, VR/AR, accounting, and more. The book is illustrated throughout with sample financing scenarios and charts/graphics, and includes detailed case studies from projects of different budgets and markets. This new and expanded edition has further been updated to reflect the contemporary media landscape, including analysis on major new players and platforms like Netflix, Amazon, Google and Vimeo, shifting trends due to convergence and disruption from new technology, as well as the rise of independent distribution and emergent mobile and online formats. A companion website also includes downloadable forms and templates, PowerPoint slides, quizzes and test banks, and other additional resources.
Publication Date: 2018-06-07