Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following subject headings may be used to locate materials about this subject when searching in VTC Library Catalogue.
Selected Print References
The Fashion Designer's Textile Directory by Here's the fabric and textile directory that fashion designers have been longing for! This book will help you find the fabrics that suit the affects you want to achieve, show you how the fabric will perform, and recommend ways of using it. This new edition has information that is key to industry professionals (including designers and owners of fashion businesses) and explains textile issues and their impact on the environment. Find the perfect fabric for every design: Do you want a fabric for structure, drape, added volume, definition, or decoration? Do you want something that clings or a silhouette? Do you want a finish that is simple and pretty or lustrous and magnificent? The directory is organized by function, so you'll always be able to find exactly what you need Each fabric in the directory is accompanied by color photos of samples that illustrate its properties, helping you understand how and why a particular fabric is suitable for specific items of apparel At the back of the book you will discover essential field guides to fiber properties, weaves, knits, weights, characteristics, and care advice
Call Number: TS 1309 .B34 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-01
House of Fashion by Since Charles Fredrick Worth established his luxurious Maison de Couture in 1858, the interior has played a crucial role in the display of fashion. House of Fashion provides a full historical account of the interplay between fashion and the modern interior, demonstrating how they continue to function as a site for performing modern, gendered identities for designers and their clientele alike. In doing so, it traces how designers including Poiret, Vionnet, Schiaparelli and Dior used commercial spaces and domestic interiors to enhance their credentials as connoisseurs of taste and style. Taking us from the early years of haute couture to the luxury fashion of the present day, Berry explores how the salon, the atelier and the boutique have allowed fashion to move beyond the aesthetics of dress, to embrace the visual seduction of the theatrical, artistic, and the exotic. From the Art Deco allure of Coco Chanel 's Maison to the luminous spaces of contemporary flagship stores, House of Fashion sets out fashion 's links with key figures in architecture and design, including Louis S e, Robert Mallet-Stevens, Eileen Gray, and Jean-Michel Frank. Drawing on photographs, advertisements, paintings and illustrations, this interdisciplinary study examines how fashionable interiors have shaped our understanding of architecture, dress, and elegance.
Call Number: NK 2113 .B45 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-12
A Philosophy of Software Design by Karl Aspelund takes readers on a guided tour of seven stages of design, from Inspiration, Identification, Conceptualization, Exploration/Refinement, Definition/Modeling, Communication and Production. "Perspectives" features highlight individual designers and artists, and end-of-chapter exercises help transform design projects to reality.With a thoroughly updated illustrations, the Third Edition of this successful book includes more on sustainability, globalization and collaborative teamwork. Additional Perspectives features provide further inspiration from real-life designers.
Call Number: QA 76.76 .D47 O988 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-10
Ingenious by The main task for modern product designers is how to combine creativity and functionality. This book showcases different types of products such as furniture and industrial designs for the household and personal use, introducing projects from all over the world. It includes product descriptions, photographs, and designers' sketches showing the design processes.
Call Number: NK 2230 .I54 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-02
Codify by Codify: Parametric and Computational Design in Landscape Architecture provides a series of essays that explore what it means to use, modify and create computational tools in a contemporary design environment. Landscape architecture has a long history of innovation in the areas of computation and media, particularly in how the discipline represents, analyses, and constructs complex systems. This curated volume spans academic and professional projects to form a snapshot of digital practices that aim to show how computation is a tool that goes beyond methods of representation and media. The book is organized in four sections; syntax, perception, employ, and prospective. The essays are written by leading academics and professionals and the sections examine the role of computational tools in landscape architecture through case studies, historical accounts, theoretical arguments, and nascent propositions.
Call Number: SB 475.9 .D37 C63 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-29
Composing Architecture and Interior Design by Composing Architecture and Interior Design introduces different ways of creating architectural space, based on controlled transformations of physical models. It explains how to compose architectural spaces step by step and can be used from the first years of architecture and interior design studies - and beyond. This book demonstrates how generative design can be applied in architectural practice, regardless of having any knowledge of digital design software. If explained in one sentence, the base of generative digital design is the design logic of transformations. The book starts by introducing different spatial configurations using basic elements, being walls, floors and ceilings, in order to create spaces with different architectural qualities, such as collective or transition spaces. Throughout the book, the most contemporary approaches of composing space, such as folding surfaces or combining curves are explained step by step with diagrams and physical models. Each chapter begins with a globally acknowledged, built project.
Call Number: NA 2850 .V37 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-14
Design School: Layout by Design School: Layout is an instructive guide for students, recent graduates, and self-taught designers. It provides a comprehensive introduction to creating and changing layouts: a crucially important skill that underpins practically every aspect of graphic design. You'll get in-depth analysis of all the major areas of theory and practice used by experienced professional designers. Each section provides explanation and visual examples of grid systems and in-depth discussion of compositional principles and strategies. The text is interspersed with tests designed to help you retain key points you've covered in the preceding spreads, and includes illustrations sections with real world scenarios. This in-depth guide avoids the temptation to stray into other areas of design technique, preferring to cover the essential, detailed skills of the professional graphic designer to arm you with the knowledge needed for a successful start to your chosen career.
Call Number: Z 246 .P68 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-16
Visual Design Concepts by This book is geared towards both students as well as professionals who are looking to enter the mobile (tablet/smartphone) and PC (personal computer) industry as concept artists (for both 2D and 3D production pipelines) or 2D production artists (game-ready assets). This book is not specifically focused on game design or game development and is also not a 3D modeling or animation guide. However, certain aspects of game design, game development, and 3D modeling and animation will impact the visual development and art creation process. So, at points throughout we will explore topics such as game engine performance and game mechanics, though at a very high-level, bird's-eye, vantage point and only as they pertain to the visual development of the various assignments throughout this book. Through the completion of the exercises and assignments contained within Visual Development for Web & Mobile Games readers will be guided through the visual development process and execution of a variety of concepts and assets (final game art). This includes categories such as characters, props, and backgrounds, within an isometric design template. The categories themselves will relate more to their function within a very simple game design template than their completed visual representation (e.g., the "big build-able" category could be anything from a town square to a fire breathing dragon as long as it fits within the bare bones parameters of the asset types functionality). The concept, theme, and style of these assets, as well as the world they inhabit, will be completely up to the individual artist. Key Features Weaves knowledge of classic visual development principles and web/mobile game art production practices. Assignments and exercises at the end of every chapter allow the reader to create a game art project from start to finish. Examines both 2D/3D game art pipelines. Includes a companion website with project files, asset downloads & author created video tutorials.
Call Number: QA 76.65 .C37 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-16
Fiesta by Fiesta: The Branding and Identity of Festivalsis a compilation of remarkable branding designs and campaigns for a variety of renowned festivals from around the world. The festivals examined span the worlds of music, cinema, design, gastronomy, culture, and art. The identity and communication campaign strategies deployed by festivals encompass an endless array of design techniques, from graphic elements such as logos, posters, web pages, advertisements, mobile apps, tickets, and wristbands to collectible items like T-shirts, bags, and cups. This volume will inspire and serve as a useful tool for graphic designers and branding agencies that seek to handle challenging and wide-ranging festival projects with the highest degree of creativity and imagination, as well as for festival organizers and anyone interested in visual culture in general. The events featured, which include Flow Festival, Green Film Fest, ADC Awards, Forward Design Festival, and Barcelona Design Week, show that the successof a festival has a close connection to its tailor-made branding and design and that no matter what the subject of the festival is, it is essential to have a coherent identity strategy.
Call Number: GT 3935 .F54 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
The Design Thinking Playbook by A radical shift in perspective to transform your organization to become more innovative The Design Thinking Playbook is an actionable guide to the future of business. By stepping back and questioning the current mindset, the faults of the status quo stand out in stark relief--and this guide gives you the tools and frameworks you need to kick off a digital transformation. Design Thinking is about approaching things differently with a strong user orientation and fast iterations with multidisciplinary teams to solve wicked problems. It is equally applicable to (re-)design products, services, processes, business models, and ecosystems. It inspires radical innovation as a matter of course, and ignites capabilities beyond mere potential. Unmatched as a source of competitive advantage, Design Thinking is the driving force behind those who will lead industries through transformations and evolutions. This book describes how Design Thinking is applied across a variety of industries, enriched with other proven approaches as well as the necessary tools, and the knowledge to use them effectively. Packed with solutions for common challenges including digital transformation, this practical, highly visual discussion shows you how Design Thinking fits into agile methods within management, innovation, and startups. Explore the digitized future using new design criteria to create real value for the user Foster radical innovation through an inspiring framework for action Gather the right people to build highly-motivated teams Apply Design Thinking, Systems Thinking, Big Data Analytics, and Lean Start-up using new tools and a fresh new perspective Create Minimum Viable Ecosystems (MVEs) for digital processes and services which becomes for example essential in building Blockchain applications Practical frameworks, real-world solutions, and radical innovation wrapped in a whole new outlook give you the power to mindfully lead to new heights. From systems and operations to people, projects, culture, digitalization, and beyond, this invaluable mind shift paves the way for organizations--and individuals--to do great things. When you're ready to give your organization a big step forward, The Design Thinking Playbook is your practical guide to a more innovative future.
Call Number: T 49.5 .L49 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-22
DILWL eDatabase Workshop 2014-15 : Vogue Archive