Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
admanGo Hong Kong's market leader in providing competitive advertising and advertisement monitoring service through an online platform. Remote access is not available for this resource.
Data would be updated to 6 months prior to the current date. (Latest 6 months unavailable).
Art Source Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers. Art Source was developed from a merger of high-quality databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson.
BMG Production Music Provides one-stop platform with 1,000,000+ music tracks for your production.
Vogue Archive A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
Worth Global Style Network-edu The world's leading online business-to-business news and information service for the fashion and style industries. Offers over 300,000 pages of the most comprehensive, invaluable and up-to-the-minute international style intelligence
The following subject headings may be used to locate materials about this subject when searching in VTC Discovery Service.
Public Art and Museums in Cultural Districts by Museums and public art have traditionally taken significantly different approaches to customer engagement, but throughout history they have also worked together in some urban contexts, notably as landmarks of so-called cultural districts. Public Art and Museums in Cultural Districtsreviews their changing interactions in many different types of cities since the Enlightenment, or even before, going back to the etymological origins of museums and monuments in classical antiquity. The type of historical enquiry presented within the volume is not intended as a total narrative, but the international study cases considered convey a global panorama of the shifting paradigms set in different periods by some cultural neighbourhoods and emulated worldwide. Blurring boundaries between art history, museology and urbanism, this critical account explores past tensions, achievements and failures, giving insightful consideration to present policies and pointing out reasonable recommendations for the future regarding public heritage. Presenting for the first time an insights into the role of collections of public art as landmarks of cultural districts, this book considers collections displayed outdoors from the double perspective of curatorial outreach and civic values. This book will fill a gap in the existing museum studies literature, hitherto mainly focused on indoor collecting and curatorial policies, but increasingly more and more attentive to their outside context. As such, the book should be of great interest to academics, researchers and students working in the fields of art, heritage, museum studies and urban history. It should also be of value to professionals working in the museum and art sectors.
Publication Date: 2018-08-14
Curating Live Arts by Situated at the crossroads of performance practice, museology, and cultural studies, live arts curation has grown in recent years to become a vibrant interdisciplinary project and a genuine global phenomenon. Curating Live Arts brings together bold and innovative essays from an international group of theorist-practitioners to pose vital questions, propose future visions, and survey the landscape of this rapidly evolving discipline. Reflecting the field's characteristic eclecticism, the writings assembled here offer practical and insightful investigations into the curation of theatre, dance, sound art, music, and other performance forms--not only in museums, but in community, site-specific, and time-based contexts, placing it at the forefront of contemporary dialogue and discourse.
Publication Date: 2018-11-29
Industrial Design by What is industrial design? How does it affect our everyday lives? Why do microwaves open with a swinging front door? Why aren't smartphones round? Why do drivers sit on the left in the United States? Industrial design is the study of the design process behind the products we use every day, from blenders to school buses to laptops. In Industrial Design: Why Smartphones Aren't Round and Other Mysteries with Science Activities for Kids, readers ages 10-15 engage in and learn about the engineering design process from its earliest beginnings when individuals designed and crafted their own tools to today, when engineers work to find the best design for products that are then manufactured in bulk by automated machines. Why does design matter? It's the design of a product that increases or decreases its chances at success. If the design of your phone isn't quite right and you feel uncomfortable or frustrated every time you use it, you probably won't buy that model again. Engineers consider the user experience of every product they design to ensure that users have the best experience possible. Good design combines the right materials, colors, details, and form to make a person want to buy and use a product. A well-designed product is easy to use and does what it is meant to do. In Industrial Design, readers practice their own engineering design skills using the engineering design process and learn how to create useful, aesthetically pleasing designs for a variety of products. They learn about the history of industrial design and the transition from craft-based design to mass production. Through fun science and engineering projects, they explore the steps of the industrial design process including brainstorming, idea sketching, technical drawings, creating models and prototypes, and product testing. Like a good designer, they learn how to evaluate products for function, usability, ergonomics, aesthetics, and green design. Throughout Industrial Design, inquiry-based activities, essential questions, links to online primary sources, and an extensive engineering glossary all promote critical and creative thinking and serve to highlight the importance and beauty of engineering design and the role it plays in our world. In the Technology for Today set, readers ages 10 to 15 explore the digital and tech landscapes of today and tomorrow through hands-on STEAM activities and compelling stories of how things work, who makes them work, and why. Titles in this set include Industrial Design: Why Smartphones Aren't Round and Other Mysteries with Science Activities for Kids; Big Data: Information in the Digital World with Science Activities for Kids; Projectile Science: The Physics Behind Kicking a Field Goal and Launching a Rocket with Science Activities for Kids; and Artificial Intelligence: Thinking Machines and Smart Robots with Science Activities for Kids. Nomad Press books integrate content with participation. Common Core State Standards, the Next Generation Science Standards, and STEM Education all place project-based learning as key building blocks in education. Combining content with inquiry-based projects stimulates learning and makes it active and alive. Nomad's unique approach simultaneously grounds kids in factual knowledge while allowing them the space to be curious, creative, and critical thinkers.
Publication Date: 2018-08-03
Design Management by Design Management is the essential handbook to all things design. As a discipline, design management is continually in motion; changing, responding and adapting to the dynamics of social and business transformation. As a business function, it combines project management, design, strategy and supply chain techniques to enable the creation of more effectively designed products, services, communications and brands. As such, it is relevant to a very broad range of industries and sectors, and Design Management recognizes this by structuring content around four key universal perspectives: values, horizons, visions, and futures. These perspectives give an overview of the development, key issues and future direction of design management. Meticulously researched, Design Management goes beyond individual project-level implementation to explore design strategy at both organizational and macro levels. By showcasing its impact all the way up to industrial and national application, students will gain a deep understanding of the nuances, scope and scalability of design. Filled with vibrant case studies and guest perspectives from a spectrum of industry leaders and policy makers, this book is an invaluable real-world commentary on design's role as a key asset in organiZational activity. The book's engaging and accessible style provides students and practitioners with everything needed to foster a climate of creative engagement. Online resources include a valuable toolkit of PowerPoint slides, review questions, project questions, activity worksheets and further reading.
Publication Date: 2017-11-28
Design Thinking for the Greater Good by Facing especially wicked problems, social sector organizations are searching for powerful new methods to understand and address them. Design Thinking for the Greater Good goes in depth on both the how of using new tools and the why. As a way to reframe problems, ideate solutions, and iterate toward better answers, design thinking is already well established in the commercial world. Through ten stories of struggles and successes in fields such as health care, education, agriculture, transportation, social services, and security, the authors show how collaborative creativity can shake up even the most entrenched bureaucracies--and provide a practical roadmap for readers to implement these tools. The design thinkers Jeanne Liedtka, Randy Salzman, and Daisy Azer explore how major agencies like the Department of Health and Human Services and the Transportation and Security Administration in the United States, as well as organizations in Canada, Australia, and the United Kingdom, have instituted principles of design thinking. In each case, these groups have used the tools of design thinking to reduce risk, manage change, use resources more effectively, bridge the communication gap between parties, and manage the competing demands of diverse stakeholders. Along the way, they have improved the quality of their products and enhanced the experiences of those they serve. These strategies are accessible to analytical and creative types alike, and their benefits extend throughout an organization. This book will help today's leaders and thinkers implement these practices in their own pursuit of creative solutions that are both innovative and achievable.
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Designing Brand Identity by The bestselling guide to branding, updated with emerging trends and technologies Designing Brand Identity provides in-depth guidance for the entire branding team, with a universal five-stage process for brand development and implementation. From research and analysis through launch and governance, this book provides expert insight on all aspects of the process, and describes the best practices that build better brands. This updated fifth edition includes new and expanded coverage of social media cross channel synergy, crowdsourcing, SEO, experience branding, mobile devices, wayfinding, and placemaking, with 30 all-new case studies of top brands from various industries around the world. Fuel recognition, amplify market differentiation, create cohesion, and project value with the essential concepts and practices that build and maintain strong brands. Brand identity is key to an organization's success, helping customers navigate their options in an expanding marketplace rife with competition. How does your brand stand out? How do you attract your target? It's all in the process. This book delivers a clear roadmap to brand development and maintenance, with in-depth guidance every step of the way. Infuse your brand with authenticity and meaning Create a cohesive suite of branding products Design for flexibility, durability, and sustainability Develop solid strategy around positioning, architecture, and more A successful brand requires zero context, and is recognizable when stripped down to its barest bones; Coca-Cola, Apple, Nike, Disney, McDonalds'the strongest brands are immediately recognized as a safe bet and a better value over the competition anywhere in the world. It's no coincidence that certain brands endure, while others undergo repeated revamps to remain relevant. Designing Brand Identity shows you how to recognize the myriad factors that contribute to strength, and merge them into your organization's winning brand.
Publication Date: 2017-10-16
Making and Breaking the Grid - Updated and Expanded by Effective layout is essential to communication and enables the end user to not only be drawn in with an innovative design, but to digest information easily. Making and Breaking the Grid is a comprehensive layout design workshop that assumes that in order to effectively break the rules of grid-based design, one must first understand those rules and see them applied to real-world projects. Basics include composing typographic space, format determination, and sequencing and systemization. Various types of grids manuscript, column, modular, hierarchical are also covered. Text reveals top designers' work in process and rationale. Projects with similar characteristics are linked through a simple notational system that encourages exploration and comparison of structure ideas. Each project is shown comprehensively so readers can see its structure revealed over several pages, at a size that allows for inspection of detail. Also included are historical overviews that summarize the development of layout concepts, both grid-based and non-grid based, in modern design practice.
Publication Date: 2017-07-01
Design for Personalisation by The principle of personalisation appears in a range of current debates among design professionals, healthcare providers and educationalists about the implications of new technologies and approaches to consumer sovereignty for 'mass' provision. The potential of new technologies implies systems of provision that offer bespoke support to their users, tailoring services and experiences to suit individual needs. The assumption that individual choice automatically increases wellbeing has underlain the re-design of public services. Ubiquitous personalisation in screen-based environments gives individuals the sense that their personality is reflected back at them. Advances in Artificial Intelligence mean our personal intelligent agents have begun to acquire personality. Given its prevalence, it is appropriate to identify the scope of this phenomenon that is altering our relationship to the 'non-human' world. This book presents taxonomy of personalisation, and its potential consequences for the design profession as well as its ethical and political dimensions through a collection of essays from a range of academic perspectives. The thought-provoking introduction, conclusion and nine chapters present a well-balanced mixture of in-depth literature review and practical examples to deepen our understanding of the consequences of personalisation for our professional and personal lives. Collectively, this book points towards the implications of personalisation for design-led social innovation. This will be valuable reading for professionals in the design industry and health provision, as well as students of product design, fashion and sociology.
Publication Date: 2017-05-23
Pencil Art Workshop by In Pencil Art Workshop, well-known artist and illustrator Matt Rota demonstrates several techniques in graphite, then ties it together with an international gallery of artists for inspiration. The humble pencil is the world's most flexible and forgiving drawing material. Pencil Art Workshop is the platform for artist and educator Matt Rota (author of The Art of Ballpoint) to show you key techniques that every artist should know. Following along with Matt is easy as he explores the pencil's phenomenal, and sometimes surprising, range. Turn to any chapter--Drawing with Line, Drawing with Tone, Drawing Quickly, Photorealism, Adding Color--and you'll discover, through step-by-step instructions and illustrations, how to choose the right pencil for your specific project, and how to use it to its fullest in every drawing style. Each chapter in Pencil Art Workshop also includes a gallery of edgy and inspiring works by contemporary pencil artists to enjoy and to receive inspiration from.
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
FORCE: Dynamic Life Drawing by Bring your artwork to life with the power of the FORCE! Watch, listen, and follow along as Mike Mattesi demonstrates the fundamental FORCE line and explains dynamic figure drawing techniques through 30 videos that are launched through the book's companion App. Packed with superb, powerfully drawn examples, the updated third edition of FORCE features an all-new section on the "FORCE blob," and dozens of fresh illustrations. Mike Mattesi's 10th anniversary edition of FORCE will teach readers how to put thought and imagination to paper. Whether you are an illustrator, animator, comic book artist, or student, you'll learn to use rhythm, shape, and line to bring out the life in any subject. The 10th Anniversary Edition contains numerous improvements. Around 30 videos are embedded within the book and accessible through the FORCE Drawing App. In the App, click on the image of the camera, point your mobile device's camera at the page with the symbol, and then finally tap the video card image floating above the drawing to launch the video. Then sit back and watch the video that shows me creating that drawing and discussing my process. Many new drawings can be found within this edition and the addition of color now further clarifies the theory of FORCE. mage floating above the drawing to launch the video. Then sit back and watch the video that shows me creating that drawing and discussing my process. Many new drawings can be found within this edition and the addition of color now further clarifies the theory of FORCE.
Publication Date: 2017-03-29
Taking Design Thinking to School by Design thinking is a method of problem-solving that relies on a complex set of skills, processes and mindsets that help people generate novel solutions to problems. Taking Design Thinking to School: How the Technology of Design Can Transform Teachers, Learners, and Classrooms uses an action-oriented approach to reframing K-12 teaching and learning, examining interventions that open up dialogue about when and where learning, growth, and empowerment can be triggered. While design thinking projects make engineering, design, and technology fluency more tangible and personal for a broad range of young learners, their embrace of ambiguity and failure as growth opportunities often clash with institutional values and structures. Through a series of in-depth case studies that honor and explore such tensions, the authors demonstrate that design thinking provides students with the agency and compassion that is necessary for doing creative and collaborative work, both in and out of the classroom. A vital resource for education researchers, practitioners, and policymakers, Taking Design Thinking to School brings together some of the most innovative work in design pedagogy.
Publication Date: 2016-12-01
Color by Artist Toolbox: Color explains how color captures mood and helps communicate meaning, as well as how to use color to create personal, expressive works of art. In Artist Toolbox: Color, painters will learn how to create impactful work with an understanding of basic color theory. Topics include the color wheel, hue, saturation, value, temperature, relativity, color relationships, and color mixing. You will learn how color captures mood and to communicate meaning with nothing more than color as you create personal, expressive works of art. Step-by-step projects and accessible technique demonstrations show color theory in action, making this book a useful reference for any beginning artist's library. The Artist Toolbox series provides easy-to-use reference guides for beginning and aspiring artists. While many instructional art books gloss over important concepts, focusing instead on how to replicate a piece of art, the Artist Toolboxseries breaks down the whats, whens, whys, and hows of each relevant tool or technique, clearly demonstrating its purpose and how to employ it to achieve the desired effects.
Publication Date: 2017-12-05
Painting Tools and Materials by Artist Toolbox: Painting Tools & Materials is an easy-to-use guide which focuses on teaching you the fundamentals of working with paint and the tools that come with it. In Artist Toolbox: Painting Tools & Materials, artists will discover the important differences in brush styles, sizes, shapes, and types; how each brush is used to create different types of strokes; and how different types of brushes interact with various paints and supports. You will learn how to properly load brushes with paint, how to shape brushes to create specific strokes and effects, when to choose synthetic hair over natural hair, and much more. Experienced art instructors focus on the key concepts and practical aspects of working with specific tools, materials, and mediums to impart a complete understanding for those seeking to learn the fundamentals of painting. The Artist Toolbox series provides easy-to-use reference guides for beginning and aspiring artists. While many instructional art books gloss over important concepts, focusing instead on how to replicate a piece of art, the Artist Toolbox series breaks down the whats, whens, whys, and hows of each relevant tool or technique, clearly demonstrating its purpose and how to employ it to achieve your desired effects.
Publication Date: 2017-12-05
DILWL eDatabase Workshop 2014-15 : Vogue Archive