IVE(KC) Learning Resources Centre

This set provides more than 1,200 alphabetically arranged entries, covering topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. It covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.

Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format to address recent developments in medicine.

Through a rich selection of reference entries, country profiles, and interviews, this two-volume set introduces students and general interest readers to the fascinating and multifaceted fields of global and cross-cultural health studies. The health challenges facing people around the world today are diverse, yet we all share common needs for physical, psychological, and social well-being. It is these factors that drive the study and mission of global health. Wellness around the World: An International Encyclopedia of Health Indicators, Practices, and Issues serves as a broad introduction to the field of global health. Volume 1 includes a collection of accessibly written entries covering a wide variety of integral topics in this multidisciplinary subject. Readers will discover how various factors interact with one another to form a complex and multilayered picture of health around the world. Volume 2 features profiles of every country on Earth, detailing each nation's unique health landscape and pressing health concerns. These profiles, which follow a standardized format, allow readers to compare and contrast multiple countries and regions. This set also includes a collection of 10 in-depth interviews with researchers and activists working to improve health around the globe, offering readers a look at how abstract concepts and principles are applied to foster real-world change.