Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following subject headings may be used to locate materials about this subject when searching in VTC Library Catalogue.
Selected Print References
Ergodesign Methodology for Product Design by This book presents a co-design detailed methodology that will enable the reader to develop human-centered product designs, considering the user's needs, skills, and limitations. The purpose of this book is to produce an ergonomic design methodology in which the "user's voice" can be translated into product requirements in a way that designers and manufacturers can use, characterizing it as a co-design methodology. It discusses important topics including ergonomics and product design, design specifications, project evaluation, modeling and prototyping, product safety, human error, kansei/affective engineering, usability and user experience, models of usability, methods for research and evaluation of usability, methods for evaluation of user-experience, preliminary strategic design planning, detailing design, and design, ergonomic and pandemics. The book offers a human-centered design methodology that allows the reader to carry out analysis and design projects for both products aimed at the disabled user population and those that serve the general population. It will be a valuable reference text for undergraduate and graduate students and professionals in the fields of ergonomics, design, architecture, engineering, and related fields. It can also be used by students and professionals of physiotherapy and occupational therapy interested in designing products for people with special needs.
Call Number: TS 171.4 .S63 2022
Publication Date: 2021-10-28
An Introduction to Fashion Retailing by If you're taking your first steps into the fast-paced world of retail, then merchandiser, store designer, retailer and educator Dimitri Koumbis is the ideal guide. In An Introduction to Fashion Retailing, he'll walk you through everything from the history of retail design, to the intricacies of consumer behavior, fast fashion and corporate social responsibility. You'll also learn professional techniques through detailed case studies of international retailers, including LVMH, Estée Lauder and ASOS. This revised edition includes expanded coverage of omnichannel retail approaches, retail KPIs as well as an outline of future retail trends in brick and mortar, e-commerce and technology. There's also a whole new chapter introducing visual merchandising, expanding on the importance of the store's overall design and visual representation of products.
Call Number: HD 9940 .A2 K68 2021
Publication Date: 2021-04-22
The practical guide to experience design : a guidebook for passionate, curious, and intentional people who enjoy designing for humans by Interior Design Masterscontains 300 biographical entries of people who have significantly impacted design. They are the people, historical and contemporary, that students and practitioners should know. Coverage starts in the late Renaissance, with a focus on the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. The book has five sections, with the entries alphabetical in each, so it can serve as a history textbook and a reference guide. The seventeeth- and eighteenth-century section covers figures from Thomas Chippendale to Horace Walpole. The nineteenth-century section includes William Morris and Candace Wheeler. The early twentieth-century section presents modernism's design heroes, including Marcel Breuer, Eileen Gray, and Gilbert Rohde. The post-World War II designers range from Madeleine Castaing to Raymond Loewy. The final contemporary section includes Ron Arad and the Bouroullec brothers. These are the canonical figures who belong to any design history. The book also contains less well-known figures who deserve attention, such as Betty Joel, the British art deco furniture designer; Paul Veysseyre, the Frenchman active in China in the 1930s; and more recently Lanzavecchia-Wai, the Italian-Singaporean duo whose work ranges from health care to helicopters. Global in its coverage, the book is richly illustrated with over 600 black-and-white and color photographs.
Call Number: TS 171.4 .T4775 2020
Publication Date: 2018-06-29
Woman Made by "Thoroughly international in scope, [Woman Made] is a compendium of disarming surprises." - Wall Street Journal The most comprehensive, fully illustrated book on women designers ever published - a celebration of more than 200 women product designers from the early twentieth century to the present day This glorious visual celebration of the most incredible and impactful design ever produced by women designers flips the script on what is historically considered a man's world. Featuring more than 200 designers from more than 50 countries, including icons and trailblazers past and present such as Ray Eames, Eileen Gray, Florence Knoll, Ilse Crawford, Faye Toogood, Nathalie du Pasquier, it records and illuminates the fascinating and overlooked history of women preeminent in the field. With each designer represented by a key product and short text, this fascinating A-Z survey shines a vital spotlight on the most extraordinary objects made by women designers but, more importantly, offers a compelling primer on the best in the field of design demonstrating that design is not - and never has been - a man's world.
Call Number: NK 1174 .H35 2021
Publication Date: 2021-10-13
101 Things I Learned® in Product Design School by An engaging, enlightening, and cleverly illustrated guide to product design, written by experienced professional designers and instructors. Products are in every area of our lives, but just what product designers do and how they think is a mystery to most. Product design is not art, engineering, or craft, even as it calls for skills and understandings in each of these areas--along with psychology, history, cultural anthropology, physics, ergonomics, materials technology, marketing, and manufacturing. This accessible guide provides an entry point into this vast field through 101 brief, illustrated lessons exploring such areas as * why all design is performed in relation to the body * why every product is part of a system * the difference between being clever and being gimmicky * why notions of beauty are universal across cultures * how to use both storytelling and argument to effectively persuade Written by three experienced design instructors and professionals, 101 Things I Learned® in Product Design School provides concise, thoughtful touch points for beginning design students, experienced professionals, and anyone else wishing to better understand this complex field that shapes our lives every day.
Call Number: TS 171 .J37 2020
Publication Date: 2020-10-13
Product Sense by Attempting to land a new job in product management is daunting. For starters, there have been no comprehensive blueprints for success. The interview process is grueling. Few candidates receive offers. Product Sense is the only comprehensive, yet accessible, resource available to help navigate a complex process and succeed an a hyper-competitive market. What will you learn from this book?The required PM common traits - ones that all PMs need to embody to get a job (regardless of industry, company, or product).The single, most crucial PM problem -What it is, why it is key to the role, and how to tackle it in four steps.Master our brand new "Compass Framework" - We designed our own proprietary interview framework from the ground up, which you can use to navigate product sense, execution, and leadership PM interview questions.How to get a job - A step-by-step hand-holding on what to do to land the most desired roles. Including take-home assignments, recruiter & hiring manager screens, and crafting your unique narrative - your PM Superpower. What's also inside?A detailed breakdown of the hiring criteria for PMs at FAANG and other tech companiesSuper-detailed example answers to tough PM interview case questions.An inside look at PM. Dozens of first-hand stories, interviews, real life examples, and no-fluff adviceA robust glossary of PM terms used throughout the industry for easy reference This book will benefit those who are considering becoming PMs, those who are attempting to switch into product management from another role, or folks who are already PMs but want to be most prepared when applying for a new job. Here's what readers say about Product Sense: "Product Sense helped me understand if PM is the right career path for me. Easy to read, clear, concise, and jam-packed full of insight and examples that illustrate all the concepts, this is the perfect starting point for anyone new to the field, and goes well beyond that for those looking to advance their career." "Peter is one of the best strategic and tactical product minds I've ever worked with. For that reason, I'm not at all surprised that what he and Braxton have written here is a definitive guide to Product Management in today's ultra-competitive market." "After reading Cracking the PM Interview, I was still lost as to how to structure my answers to case questions. While I understand that there is no "right way" to answer these interview questions, I appreciated that Product Sense gave me firm and clear guidance, walking me through the basics of PM thinking and how to adopt it in my interview answers. It was reassuring to see that the best mock interviews have all of the elements of Product Sense's Compass Framework. If CTPMI is the first step to prepare for landing a PM Role, then Product Sense is definitely the second step."
Call Number: HF 5415.15 .K58 2021
Publication Date: 2021-07-20
Meaningful Stuff by An argument for a design philosophy of better, not more. Never have we wanted, owned, and wasted so much stuff. Our consumptive path through modern life leaves a wake of social and ecological destruction--sneakers worn only once, bicycles barely even ridden, and forgotten smartphones languishing in drawers. By what perverse alchemy do our newest, coolest things so readily transform into meaningless junk? In Meaningful Stuff, Jonathan Chapman investigates why we throw away things that still work, and shows how we can design products, services, and systems that last. Obsolescence is an economically driven design decision--a plan to hasten a product's functional or psychological undesirability. Many electronic devices, for example, are intentionally impossible to dismantle for repair or recycling, their brief use-career proceeding inexorably to a landfill. A sustainable design specialist who serves as a consultant to global businesses and governmental organizations, Chapman calls for the decoupling of economic activity from mindless material consumption and shows how to do it. Chapman shares his vision for an "experience heavy, material light" design sensibility. This vital and timely new design philosophy reveals how meaning emerges from designed encounters between people and things, explores ways to increase the quality and longevity of our relationships with objects and the systems behind them, and ultimately demonstrates why design can--and must--lead the transition to a sustainable future.
Call Number: TS 171.4 .C464 2021
Publication Date: 2021-08-03
Call Number: RA 394.9 .K82 2020
Publication Date: 2020-03-17
The Design Thinking Toolbox by How to use the Design Thinking Tools A practical guide to make innovation happen The Design Thinking Toolbox explains the most important tools and methods to put Design Thinking into action. Based on the largest international survey on the use of design thinking, the most popular methods are described in four pages each by an expert from the global Design Thinking community. If you are involved in innovation, leadership, or design, these are tools you need. Simple instructions, expert tips, templates, and images help you implement each tool or method. Quickly and comprehensively familiarize yourself with the best design thinking tools Select the appropriate warm-ups, tools, and methods Explore new avenues of thinking Plan the agenda for different design thinking workshops Get practical application tips The Design Thinking Toolbox help innovators master the early stages of the innovation process. It's the perfect complement to the international bestseller The Design Thinking Playbook.
Call Number: HD 30.29 .L4913 2020
Publication Date: 2020-04-14
How to Create Better Ideas by With examples ranging from Precious Plastic to the Sheltersuit, How to Create Better Ideas provides insights into the design process - and into how to produce better ideas in general. The concepts are divided into two sections: the right brain and the left brain. The first section analyses the general design process. The second introduces six self-developed methods that teach you to create more and better visual ideas relevant to all design disciplines. This book is for anyone who would like to understand design more deeply and in more detail. It is for anyone who wants to know, What is design? What is creativity? What mentality and conditions are needed to guarantee a productive design process? It is for design educators and students, and for those working with designers as clients or commissioners. And it is most certainly a guide for design professionals who want to advance their ability to create visual ideas.
Call Number: NK 1170 .R66 2020
Publication Date: 2021-03-09