Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art & Architecture Source
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers. Art Source was developed from a merger of high-quality databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson
The following subject headings may be used to locate materials about this subject when searching in VTC Discovery Service.
The Alchemy of Things by The Alchemy of Things represents the swing of the decorating pendulum away from the instant gratification of popular culture through the interior design and style of 18 fascinating homes from around the world. The Alchemy of Things showcases incredible homes that come from a truly creative place, transcending conventional notions of collection and display. This new beauty taps into a craving for a personal space with rich layers, a little bit of oddity and an irrepressible joie de vivre. A mix of artists, interior designers, architects, collectors, gallerists, stylists, furniture designers and vintage retailers open the doors to their own homes - many for the first time. To create a consistent look, feel and overall vision for the book, photographer Michael Wee and stylist David Harrison embarked on a month-long odyssey from London to Paris, The Hague, Antwerp, Ghent, Toulouse, Arezzo and Milan. Properties include Nina Yasher's Treasured Space in her 1940s apartment in Milan, Veerle Wenes Gallery house in Antwerp, Italian architect Roberto Baciocchi and his wife Rosella's House of curiosities in the Tuscan city of Arezzo, the Parisian and theatrical apartment of Michael Coorengel and Jean-Pierre Calvagrac and Tamsin and Patrick Johnson's ethemeral brick beachside cottage overlooking the beach at Sydney's Tamarama. The word 'decorating' doesn't really do the interiors in this book justice - it is often a lifetime of acquisition, a care or, in some instances, a devil-may-care approach to space and the things which inhabit it. This book does not deliver 'how-to' or 'ideas to steal' (although, of course, you are welcome to do so). Each chapter brings a richness in terms of philosophy, ideas and execution - some people are keepers and hoarders, others are hunters and traders - but all have this incredibly intense approach to their living space which is rarely defined by money spent. An interior should be so personal that it exposes all your passions, quirks and interests. Nobody wants to read as a blank page and that is what The Alchemy of Things is all about.
Publication Date: 2018-10-02
Seasons at the Country House by A celebration of hospitality and leisurely meals in a historic country home. Step into the romance of country home living with 75 simple recipes by the author of Through the French Doorand A Romance with French Living. In her newest book, lifestyle designer and blogger Carolyn Westbrook shares menus, recipes, tablescapes, and other signature hospitality approaches alongside the picturesque backdrop of her Texas country home. Celebrate special occasions in every season, from a summer Fish Fry to a winter Night Before Christmas dinner; a spring Southern Brunch, to an Autumn Dinner Al Fresco. Sample recipes include:Spicy Stuff CornbreadScratch Buttermilk BiscuitsDown Home Chicken and DumplingsSouthern Salmon PattiesFencerow Blackberry PreservesSugar-Free Pecan PieStrawberry Layer Cake Those who have yearned to spend a season at a country house will love getting lost in the pages of Celebrations at the Country House.
Publication Date: 2017-08-15
The Routledge Handbook of Sustainable Product Design by As a cultivated form of invention, product design is a deeply human phenomenon that enables us to shape, modify and alter the world around us - for better or worse. The recent emergence of the sustainability imperative in product design compels us to recalibrate the parameters of good design in an unsustainable age. Written by designers, for designers, the Routledge Handbook of Sustainable Product Designpresents the first systematic overview of the burgeoning field of sustainable product design. Brimming with intelligent viewpoints, critical propositions, practical examples and rich theoretical analyses, this book provides an essential point of reference for scholars and practitioners at the intersection of product design and sustainability. The book takes readers to the depth of our engagements with the designed world to advance the social and ecological purpose of product design as a critical twenty-first-century practice. Comprising 35 chapters across 6 thematic parts, the book's contributors include the most significant international thinkers in this dynamic and evolving field.
Publication Date: 2017-05-12
Managing Packaging Design for Sustainable Development by Packaging design is a powerful vehicle for making our lives friendlier, our planet greener and our businesses richer. It is an essential link between the producer and the customer, where it contributes to the positioning and presentation of a product; and on many occasions, the use of the product after purchase. What is missing is a compass that can guide practitioners in the right direction. This is particularly so in the field of packaging where the routes you take may contradict rather than contribute to sustainable development. Managing Packaging Design for Sustainable Development: A Compass for Strategic Directions emphasizes the need to rethink packaging system design, by presenting a strategic packaging design tool; a compass. The compass encourages you to go off-road, to develop and innovate, and to remake the packaging design solution that previously was best practice. Theory and practical applications are balanced by outlining the most crucial tenets of packaging design for sustainability and by illustrating wide range of real-life cases that will inspire and challenge the mindsets of those who apply the compass in packaging design related projects. This is a must-have book for designers, engineers, logisticians, marketers, supply chain professionals and other managers who seek guidance on sustainable solutions through packaging design.
Publication Date: 2017-01-17
Hacking Product Design by Understand how designing a technology product in a startup environment is markedly different from product design at established companies. This book teaches product designers how to think and frame problems in the dynamic context of startups. You will discover how to enhance your soft skills that are often not taught, but are crucial to your success. In the emerging field of design for technology products, there are many books and resources covering the hard skills--such as visual design, interface design, prototyping, and motion design. These skills are necessary to design work; however, without an understanding of the true potential of design and the skills required to unleash that potential in a startup setting, the impact of design may remain at a production level and not reach a position where it can positively impact product strategy and the business bottom line. Hacking Product Design addresses that gap in knowledge. What You'll Learn Gain foundational knowledge: know what startups are, the mindset designers should have when working in startups, and how to solve problems Generate product ideas, collaborate with others, and prioritize what to do to maximize the potential of those ideas Discover how to be successful in designing great products--know what to focus on and the principles to follow Who This Book Is For Those interested in becoming product designers in startups, including design students, junior designers, front-end engineers, and graphic and web designers who want to transition to designing technology products
Publication Date: 2018-09-28
Designing Across Senses by Today we have the ability to connect speech, touch, haptic, and gestural interfaces into products that engage several human senses at once. This practical book explores examples from current designers and devices to describe how these products blend multiple interface modes together into a cohesive user experience. Authors Christine Park and John Alderman explain the basic principles behind multimodal interaction and introduce the tools you need to root your design in the ways our senses shape experience. This book also includes guides on process, design, and deliverables to help your team get started. The book covers several topics within multimodal design, including: New Human Factors: learn how human sensory abilities allow us to interact with technology and the physical world New Technologies: explore some of the technologies that enable multimodal interactions, products, and capabilities Multimodal Products: examine different categories of products and learn how they deliver sensory-rich experiences Multimodal Design: learn processes and methodologies for multimodal product design, development, and release
Publication Date: 2018-04-01