Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers. Art Source was developed from a merger of high-quality databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson.
Environmental Science & Pollution Management
Provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Greenr stands for Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources. This database is to focus on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. It also covers energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.
The following subject headings may be used to locate materials about this subject when searching in VTC Discovery Service.
A Handbook of Sustainable Building Design and Engineering by The second edition of this authoritative textbook equips students with the tools they will need to tackle the challenges of sustainable building design and engineering. The book looks at how to design, engineer and monitor energy efficient buildings, how to adapt buildings to climate change, and how to make buildings healthy, comfortable and secure. New material for this edition includes sections on environmental masterplanning, renewable technologies, retrofitting, passive house design, thermal comfort and indoor air quality. With chapters and case studies from a range of international, interdisciplinary authors, the book is essential reading for students and professionals in building engineering, environmental design, construction and architecture.
Publication Date: 2018-10-18
Sustainable Landscape Planning in Selected Urban Regions by This book provides a unique contribution to the science of sustainable societies by challenging the traditional concept of rural-urban dichotomy. It combines environmental engineering and landscape sciences perspectives on urban region issues, making the book a unique work in urban study literatures. Today's extended urban regions often maintain rural features within their boundaries and also have strong social, economic, and environmental linkages with the surrounding rural areas. These intra- and inter- linkages between urban and rural systems produce complex interdependences with global and local sustainability issues, including those of climate change, resource exploitation, ecosystem degradation and human wellbeing. Planning and other prospective actions for the sustainability of urban regions, therefore, cannot solely depend on "urban" approaches; rather, they need to integrate broader landscape perspectives that take extended social and ecological systems into consideration. This volume shows how to untangle, diagnose, and transform urban regions through distinctive thematic contributions across a variety of academic disciplines ranging from environmental engineering and geography to landscape ecology and urban planning. Case studies, selected from across the world and investigating urban regions in East Asia, Europe, North America and South-East Asia, collectively illustrate shared and differentiated drivers of sustainability challenges and provide informative inputs to global and local sustainability initiatives.
Publication Date: 2017-01-26
Design Is Invisible by With Design is Invisible, Lucius Burckhardt was one of the first to point out that factors that are invisible can be integrated - they determine the use of objects and should be part of the design. What is the use of the most attractive tramway if it does not operate at night? Burckhardt expands on the meaning of design, in this case by including the timetable, which can also be optimized. The relevance of these articles dating from between 1965 and 1999 can be appreciated today in the current debate on architecture. Problems arising from social polarization, rural depopulation, and migration can only be resolved on an interdisciplinary basis. The articles, for the first time available in English, finally allow access to key source texts for the purpose of international debate.
Publication Date: 2017-04-10
Representing Landscapes by The fourth book in Nadia Amoroso's Representing Landscapes series, this text focuses on traditional methods of visual representation in landscape architectural education. Building on from the previous titles in the series, which look at digital and hybrid techniques, Representing Landscapes: Analogue is a return to the basic foundations of landscape architecture's original medium of visual communication. Each of the 20 chapters includes contributions from leading professors teaching studio and visual communication courses from landscape architecture programs across the globe, showcasing the best student examples of analog techniques. It demonstrates the process from graphics as a form of research, design development, and analysis, to the final presentation through drawings, models and descriptive captions of the methods, styles and techniques used. It features critical and descriptive essays from expert professors and lecturers in the field, who emphasise the importance of the traditional medium as an intrinsic part of the research, design and presentation process. Over 220 full colour images explore the range of visual approaches students and practitioners of landscape architecture can implement in their designs. With worked examples in the chapters and downloadable images suitable for class use, this is an essential book for visual communication and design studios.
Publication Date: 2019-02-06
The Routledge Companion to Landscape Studies by This new edition of The Routledge Companion to Landscape Studies contains an updated and expanded selection of original chapters which explore research directions in an array of disciplines sharing a concern for ¿landscape¿, a term which has many uses and meanings. It features 33 revised and/or updated chapters and 14 entirely new chapters on topics such as the Anthropocene, Indigenous landscapes, challenging landscape Eurocentrisms, photography and green infrastructure planning. The volume is divided into four parts: Experiencing landscape; Landscape, heritage and culture; Landscape, society and justice; and Design and planning for landscape. Collectively, the book provides a critical review of the various fields related to the study of landscapes, including the future development of conceptual and theoretical approaches, as well as current empirical knowledge and understanding. It encourages dialogue across disciplinary barriers and between academics and practitioners, and reflects upon the implications of research findings for local, national and international policy in relation to landscape. The Companion provides a comprehensive and up-to-date guide to current thinking about landscapes, and serves as an invaluable point of reference for scholars, researchers and graduate students alike.
Publication Date: 2018-08-30
Landscape Architecture and Environmental Sustainability by Winner of the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects (AILA) National Excellence Award (Research and Communication) 2017Winner of the AILA VIC Excellence Award (Research and Communication) 2017Highly Commended (Communication and Presentation) Landscape Institute Awards 2018Landscape architecture has a pivotal role in ensuring environmental sustainability through design interventions. This book takes a broad look at strategies and completed projects to provide the reader with a strong understanding of the sustainability challenges being faced by designers today, and potential routes to addressing them. The book covers essential concepts of landscape architecture and environmental sustainability, including: - Ecology, multifunctional landscapes and sensitive intervention- Remediation, cleansing and environmental infrastructure- Social sustainability, design activism and healthy landscapes - Food systems, productive landscapes and transportation- Performance ratings, materials and life cycles Through case studies from around the world and interviews with leading landscape architects and practitioners, this book invites discussion about possible future scenarios, relevant theories and project responses in landscape environmental design. With hundreds of color images throughout the book, and additional study material in the companion website, Joshua Zeunert provides an overview of the multidimensional qualities of landscape sustainability.
Publication Date: 2017-01-12
The New Landscape Declaration by Consider this ... How do we handle the convergence of landscape architecture, ecological planning, and civil engineering? What are convenient terms and metaphors to communicate the interplay between design and ecology? What are suitable scientific theories and technological means? What innovations arise from multidisciplinary and cross-scalar approaches? What are appropriate aesthetic statements and spatial concepts? What instruments and tools should be applied? Revising Green Infrastructure: Concepts Between Nature and Designexamines these questions and presents innovative approaches in designing green, landscape or nature as infrastructure from different perspectives and attitudes instead of adding another definition or category of green infrastructure. The editors bring together the work of selected ecologists, engineers, and landscape architects who discuss a variety of theoretical aspects, research projects, teaching methods, and best practice examples in green infrastructure. The approaches range from retrofitting existing infrastructures through landscape-based integrations of new infrastructures and envisioning prospective landscapes as hybrids, machines, or cultural extensions. The book explores a scientific functional approach in landscape architecture. It begins with an overview of green functionalism and includes examples of how new design logics are deducted from ecology in order to meet economic and environmental requirements and open new aesthetic relationships toward nature. The contributors share a decidedly cultural perspective on nature as landscape. Their ecological view emphasizes the individual nature of specific local situations. Building on this foundation, the subsequent chapters present political ideas and programs defining social relations toward nature and their integration in different planning systems as well as their impact on nature and society. They explore different ways of participation and cooperation within cities, regions, and nations. They then describe projects implemented in local contexts to solve concrete problems or remediate malfunctions. These projects illustrate the full scope presented and discussed throughout the book: the use of scientific knowledge, strategic thinking, communication with municipal authorities and local stakeholders, design implementation on site, and documentation and control of feedback and outcome with adequate indicators and metrics. Although diverse and sometimes controversial, the discussion of how nature is regarded in contrast to society, how human-natural systems could be organized, and how nature could be changed, optimized, or designed raises the question of whether there is a new paradigm for the design of social relations to nature. The multidisciplinary review in this book brings together discussions previously held only within the respective disciplines, and demonstrates how they can be used to develop new methods and remediation strategies.
Publication Date: 2018-02-13