Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following subject headings may be used to locate materials about this subject when searching in VTC Library Catalogue.
Selected Print Reference
20th-Century Fashion in Detail by 20th-Century Fashion in Detail reveals the elaborate embroidery, intricate pleats, and daring cuts that make up some of the most beautiful garments in the twentieth- century fashion collection at the Victoria and Albert Museum, one of the world's top fashion and design museums. Authors Claire Wilcox and Valerie D. Mendes, leading fashion experts from the V&A, have written a book that will be an invaluable resource for students, collectors, and designers.Including exquisite haute-couture pieces, from sequined Chanel ensembles to embellished Dior evening gowns, this revised and expanded edition features more than 30 new garments. Each piece is accompanied by detail photography and line drawings showing its complete construction. An extraordinary exploration of the techniques used by couturiers, 20th-Century Fashion in Detail will delight all followers of fashion.
Call Number: TT 507 .W4555 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-16
House of Fashion by Since Charles Fredrick Worth established his luxurious Maison de Couture in 1858, the interior has played a crucial role in the display of fashion. House of Fashion provides a full historical account of the interplay between fashion and the modern interior, demonstrating how they continue to function as a site for performing modern, gendered identities for designers and their clientele alike. In doing so, it traces how designers including Poiret, Vionnet, Schiaparelli and Dior used commercial spaces and domestic interiors to enhance their credentials as connoisseurs of taste and style. Taking us from the early years of haute couture to the luxury fashion of the present day, Berry explores how the salon, the atelier and the boutique have allowed fashion to move beyond the aesthetics of dress, to embrace the visual seduction of the theatrical, artistic, and the exotic. From the Art Deco allure of Coco Chanel 's Maison to the luminous spaces of contemporary flagship stores, House of Fashion sets out fashion 's links with key figures in architecture and design, including Louis S e, Robert Mallet-Stevens, Eileen Gray, and Jean-Michel Frank. Drawing on photographs, advertisements, paintings and illustrations, this interdisciplinary study examines how fashionable interiors have shaped our understanding of architecture, dress, and elegance.
Call Number: NK 2113 .B45 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-12
Pretty Gentlemen by The term "macaroni" was once as familiar a label as "punk" or "hipster" is today. In this handsomely illustrated book devoted to notable 18th-century British male fashion, award-winning author and fashion historian Peter McNeil brings together dress, biography, and historical events with the broader visual and material culture of the late 18th century. For thirty years, macaroni was a highly topical word, yielding a complex set of social, sexual, and cultural associations. Pretty Gentlemen is grounded in surviving dress, archival documents, and art spanning hierarchies and genres, from scurrilous caricature to respectful portrait painting. Celebrities hailed and mocked as macaroni include politician Charles James Fox, painter Richard Cosway, freed slave Julius "Soubise," and criminal parson Reverend Dodd. The style also rapidly spread to neighboring countries in cross-cultural exchange, while Horace Walpole, George III, and Queen Charlotte were active critics and observers of these foppish men.
Call Number: TT 617 .M32 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-10
The Fashion Designer's Textile Directory by Here's the fabric and textile directory that fashion designers have been longing for! This book will help you find the fabrics that suit the affects you want to achieve, show you how the fabric will perform, and recommend ways of using it. This new edition has information that is key to industry professionals (including designers and owners of fashion businesses) and explains textile issues and their impact on the environment. Find the perfect fabric for every design: Do you want a fabric for structure, drape, added volume, definition, or decoration? Do you want something that clings or a silhouette? Do you want a finish that is simple and pretty or lustrous and magnificent? The directory is organized by function, so you'll always be able to find exactly what you need Each fabric in the directory is accompanied by color photos of samples that illustrate its properties, helping you understand how and why a particular fabric is suitable for specific items of apparel At the back of the book you will discover essential field guides to fiber properties, weaves, knits, weights, characteristics, and care advice
Call Number: TS 1309 .B34 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-01
The Associated Press Stylebook 2018 by A fully revised and updated edition of the bible of the newspaper industry. The style of The Associated Press is the gold standard for news writing. With The AP Stylebook in hand, you can learn how to write and edit with the clarity and professionalism for which their writers and editors are famous. The AP Stylebook will help you master the AP's rules on grammar, spelling, punctuation, capitalization, abbreviation, word and numeral usage, and when to use "more than" instead of "over." To make navigating these specialty chapters even easier, the Stylebook includes a comprehensive index. Fully revised and updated to keep pace with world events, common usage, and AP procedures, The AP Stylebook is the one reference that all writers, editors and students cannot afford to be without.
Call Number: PN 4783 .A87 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-12
Fashion by Revealing the fashion industry as never before, this beautiful book contains a wealth of invaluable information every fashionista should know. Written by fashion insider and bestselling author Karen Homer, and featuring stunning original illustrations, this stylish visual guide tells the stories behind trends such as the most iconic fabrics and prints, glasses as the ultimate fashion accessory, the ubiquitous Little Black Dress, and the rise of the metrosexual. Plus shining the spotlight on key fashion figures, such as Audrey Hepburn, Victoria Beckham, and Kate Moss.
Call Number: TT 506 .H66 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-03
Streetwear by The story begins in 1972 in Jersey City, the birthplace of Trash and Vaudeville, the first- ever streetwear shop; it then moves on to the start of punk, which was a decisive influence on what is considered "streetwear" today. From the dresser/casual movement born out of British soccer culture to the skater scene of California, from the paninari poseurs of Milan to the surfer dudes of Hawaii, the authors show how streetwear has permeated a vast range of seemingly disparate tribes. Streetwear recounts the remarkable history of how subcultural fashion trends have grown into a multi-billion-dollar global industry taking both high-end and fast fashion by storm. The intent behind streetwear remains the same: a powerful sense of identity and belonging. With more than 500 photographs and illustrations, exclusive interviews, profiles of industry pioneers, spotlights on significant brands, and snapshots of key cities, this is the complete history of fashion's fastest- growing and most influential trend.
Call Number: GT 511 .A25 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-17
Making the Cut by Bespoke tailoring has been synonymous with Savile Row for more than 150 years. Its venerable institutions are responsible for producing the world's most exquisite suits for elite clients, who include celebrated entertainers, athletes, businessmen, politicians, and royals. Now, as the Row moves firmly into the twenty- first century, its tailors are embracing unusual fabrics, new colors, and modern tastes to update its long- held traditions and reach an ever broader client base.Master cutter Richard Anderson has worked on Savile Row for more than thirty-five years. In Making the Cut, he combines memoir with tailoring know- how, showcasing twenty- five classic menswear designs that have been creatively adapted in new and unusual ways for the modern gentleman. Anderson tells the story of each piece, from a rakish red seersucker coat to a show-stopping black sequined dinner jacket, and uncovers the fascinating history behind the diverse fabrics and cuts. Original sketches, patterns, and photographs reveal the time, dedication, and precision that go into creating a truly custom- made piece.Divided into five sections--Light Fare, Strong Suits, Atypical Tweeds, Top Coats, and Regalia Redux-- Making the Cut is both lively and practical, a must-have for the sartorially sophisticated man.
Call Number: TT 590 .A65 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-15
Fashion in Detail: 1600 - 1800 by This beautifully illustrated book reveals sharp pleats, high collars, gleaming pastes, colorful beads, elaborate buttons, and intricate lacework that make up some of the garments in the Victoria and Albert Museum's extensive fashion collection. With an authoritative text, exquisite color photography of garment details, and line drawings and photographs showing the complete construction of each piece, the reader has the unique opportunity to examine up close historical clothing that is often too fragile to be on display. It is an inspirational resource for students, collectors, designers, and anyone who is fascinated by fashion and costume.This new edition features an updated design, fresh content and new research, a comprehensive index, and an introduction that focuses on the makers and processes involved in producing 18th-century fashion.
Call Number: GT 736 .N67 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-19