Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Learning Resources
Offers searchable platform to standards published by ASTM International.
BSI (British Standards Institution)
The National Standards Body of the UK, with a globally recognized reputation for independence, integrity and innovation in the production of standards.
Construction Information Service (CIS)
The Construction Information Service for the UK is an expert knowledge tool that delivers key technical information critical to all construction projects in one easy-to-use, online package. CIS is produced jointly by IHS and the National Building Specification (NBS), it provides instant full-text access to current regulations, standards, technical advice and a vast array of related news and briefings. The comprehensive range of full-text documents covers all aspects of the building, engineering, design and construction processes.
One of the world largest content providers, which covers databases such as Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Medline, Hospitality & Tourism Complete and etc.
IEEE STEM Journals Collection
Covers numerous technology areas such as Aerospace, Biometrics, Computer Hardware & Software, Electronics, Optics, Medical Devices, Electrical engineering, Nanotechnology, Optics, Robotics,
Telecom, Wireless Technology and more; plus ~45 IEEE e-periodicals and also IEEE spectrum. Remote access is not available for this resource.
IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission)
An international standard covers a vast range of technologies from power generation, transmission and distribution to home appliances and office equipment, semiconductors, fibre optics, batteries, solar energy, nanotechnology and marine energy as well as many others.
Provides seamless access to and navigation of more than 9,000 newspaper and periodical titles in multiple fields, from art, business, and social science to science, technology and medicine. Databases include ABI/INFORM, Academic Research Library, Banking Information Source and etc.
RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create his/her own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources. Users can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.
SAE Digital Library
Provides thousands of SAE Technical Papers and/or SAE Standards covering the latest advances and research in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, manufacturing technology, fuels and lubricants, emissions, electronics, brakes, restraint systems, noise, engines, materials, lighting, and more.
Project Management, Planning and Control by Covering the principles and techniques you need to successfully manage an engineering or technical project from start to finish, Project Management, Planning and Control is an established and widely recommended project management handbook. With clear and detailed coverage of planning, scheduling and control, which can pose particular challenges in engineering environments, this sixth edition includes new chapters on Agile project management and project governance, more real-life examples and updated software information. Ideal for those studying for Project Management Professional (PMP) qualifications, Project Management, Planning and Control is aligned with the latest Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK) for both the Project Management Institute (PMI) and the Association of Project Management (APM), and includes questions and answers to help you test your understanding. It is also updated to match the latest BS 6079 standard for project management in construction. Focused on the needs and challenges of project managers in engineering, manufacturing and construction, and closely aligned to the content of the APM and PMI 'bodies of knowledge'. Structured according to the logical sequence of a major project, with a strong focus on planning, scheduling, budgeting, and control--critical elements in the management of engineering projects. Includes project management questions and answers, compiled by a former APM exam assessor, to help you test your knowledge and prepare for professional examinations.
Publication Date: 2013-09-16
Project management toolkit [electronic resource] : the basics for project success by This book provides you with the tools required to approach and manage projects. These effective skills will impact positively on the success of both the projects you are involved with and of your organization. Key features * A practical handbook for both career project managers and those involved intermittently with projects throughout their career * Provides simple step-by-step tools for understanding and managing each of the project value-add stages: - Developing a business case - Robust planning - Staying in control - Delivering benefits * Focussed on the needs of engineering and other technical project managers, but generic enough to support projects in other areas * Brief and visually led, the Toolkit is designed to get you up and running fast and to increase the certainty of a positive project outcome from day one * Comprehensive real world case studies demonstrate the use of tools * Supported by downloadable online project planning templates that enable the techniques developed in the book to be applied in practice Project Management Toolkit introduces the whole project life-cycle. It is the first of four project management titles that separately build skills in critical PM areas and together provide a powerful project management resource. . Focussed on the needs of engineering and other technical project managers, this book recognises that most non-routine work completed by an organization is a project . A practical, hands-on guide to aid those tasked with real industry projects - not a lengthy theoretical textbook, it gets to the point and delivers REAL benefits . Fully supported by online project planning and delivery tools, templates, workflow organizers and data sheets, the book is suitable for both career project managers and those involved with projects intermittently
Publication Date: 2007-08-17
The maritime engineering reference book [electronic resource] : a guide to ship design, construction and operation by The Maritime Engineering Reference Book is a one-stop source for engineers involved in marine engineering and naval architecture. In this essential reference, Anthony F. Molland has brought together the work of a number of the world's leading writers in the field to create an inclusive volume for a wide audience of marine engineers, naval architects and those involved in marine operations, insurance and other related fields. Coverage ranges from the basics to more advanced topics in ship design, construction and operation. All the key areas are covered, including ship flotation and stability, ship structures, propulsion, seakeeping and maneuvering. The marine environment and maritime safety are explored as well as new technologies, such as computer aided ship design and remotely operated vehicles (ROVs). Facts, figures and data from world-leading experts makes this an invaluable ready-reference for those involved in the field of maritime engineering. Professor A.F. Molland, BSc, MSc, PhD, CEng, FRINA. is Emeritus Professor of Ship Design at the University of Southampton, UK. He has lectured ship design and operation for many years. He has carried out extensive research and published widely on ship design and various aspects of ship hydrodynamics. * A comprehensive overview from best-selling authors including Bryan Barrass, Rawson and Tupper, and David Eyres * Covers basic and advanced material on marine engineering and Naval Architecture topics * Have key facts, figures and data to hand in one complete reference book
Publication Date: 2008-10-14
Introduction to naval architecture, fifth edition [electronic resource] by Written by an award-winning naval architecture author and former vice-president of the Royal Institution of Naval Architects (RINA), the fifth edition of Introduction to Naval Architecture has been fully updated to take in advances in the field and is ideal both for those approaching the subject for the first time and those looking to update or refresh their knowledge on areas outside of their direct expertise. This book provides a broad appreciation of the science and art of naval architecture, explaining the subject in physical rather than in mathematical terms. While covering basic principles, such as hull geometry, propulsion, and stability, the book also addresses contemporary topics, such as computer aided design and computer aided manufacture (CAD/CAM). The new edition reflects the continuing developments in technology, changes in international regulations and recent research. Knowledge of the fundamentals of naval architecture is essential not only for newcomers to the field but also the wealth of non-naval architects working in the marine area, including marine engineers, marine surveyors and ship crews. This book provides the most well-known and trusted introduction to the topic, offering a clear and concise take on the basics of this broad field. Praise for previous edition "...a clear and concise introduction to the subject, giving a good grasp of the basics of naval architecture." - Maritime Journal "...my go-to book for understanding the general principles of naval architecture. The book is well-written and easy to understand." - Amazon.com reviewer Provides a perfect introduction to naval architecture for newcomers to the field and a compact overview for related marine professionals needing a working knowledge of the area Updated to cover key developments including double-hulled tankers and the increased use of computational methods and modeling in ship design Draws on the experience of renowned naval architecture author Eric Tupper to provide extensive scope and authoritative detail, all in an accessible and approachable style
Publication Date: 2013-03-11
International recent issues about ECDIS, e-Navigation and safety at sea [electronic resource] : marine navigation and safety of sea transportation by The TransNav 2011 Symposium held at the Gdynia Maritime University, Poland in Junenbsp;2011 has brought together a wide range of participants from all over the world. The program has offerednbsp;a variety of contributions,nbsp; allowing to look atnbsp;many aspects of the navigational safety from various different points of view. Topics presented and discussed at the Symposium were: navigation, safety at sea, sea transportation, education of navigators and simulator-based training, sea traffic engineering, ship's manoeuvrability, integrated systems, electronic charts systems, satellite, radio-navigation and anti-collision systems and many others. This book is part of a series of six volumes and provides an overview of International recent issues aboutnbsp;ECDIS, E-Navigation and Safety at Sea and is addressed to scientists and professionals involved in research and development of navigation, safety of navigation and sea transportation.
Publication Date: 2012-01-13
Finance of International Trade by Introduction to International Trade Finance covers the complete cycle of international trade and explains the roles of the specialist operators. Introduction to International Trade Finance aims to: *Guide the reader through every phase of typical trade transactions, examining in detail the relationships between the various parties involved and explaining the facilities employed. *Demonstrate the range of banking instruments and techniques available to exporters and importers which enable them to enter into contracts, confident that whichever method of settlement they agree upon can be provided with the minimum of risk. *Provide a firm understanding of when to apply a particular form of finance, what risks are involved and how they can be counteracted Now updated to include the UCP600. *Inspired from the basic entry level training courses that have been developed by major international banks worldwide. *Will enable MSc Finance students, MBA students and those already in the finance profession to gain an understanding of the basic information and principles underlying the topic under discussion *Questions with answers, study topics, practical "real world" examples and text with an extensive bibliography and references ensure learning outcomes can be immediately applied Now updated to include the UCP600.
Publication Date: 2003-11-24
Flagging standards [electronic resource] : globalization and environmental, safety, and labor regulations at sea by Shipping is among the most globalized of industries. Shipowners can choose where to register their vessels, based on cost, convenience, and the international and domestic regulations that would govern their operation. This system of open registration, also known as flags of convenience (FOC), can encourage a competition in regulatory laxity among states that want to attract shipping revenues--a race to the regulatory bottom. In Flagging Standards, Elizabeth DeSombre examines the effect of globalization on environmental, safety, and labor standards in the shipping industry. She finds that the economic advantages of lowered standards can be offset by the collective action of international organizations, states, and nongovernmental actors to exclude low-standard ships from the advantages of globalization. Open registries are pressured to raise their standards while traditional maritime states lower theirs somewhat when they create international or second registries. The result is a competition not for the regulatory bottom but for the middle ground.DeSombre examines the decisions made by states and shipowners that lead to this race to the middle and explores the effectiveness of strategies used by both state and nonstate actors aimed at raising regulatory standards, including port control, labor actions against FOC ships that fail to meet international labor standards, and trade restrictions against shipped goods that were not obtained within the requirements of international agreements. Globalization, DeSombre finds, may lead to a downward trend in regulatory standards but has also created many opportunities to raise these standards and does not necessarily signal a reduction of state control.
Publication Date: 2006-09-29
Human systems integration to enhance maritime domain awareness for port/harbour security The piecemeal fashion in which human factors research has been conducted in the maritime domain makes information retrieval available only by scanning through numerous research journals and conference papers. Bringing together human factors information from this and other domains, Human Factors in the Maritime Domain integrates a common body of knowledge into one single volume. The book provides the vital background information necessary to acquire a core knowledge base and a much-needed overview of human factors within the maritime domain. It starts by putting the topic into an historical and theoretical context, moves onto more specific and detailed topics and contemporary thinking in human factors, then reviews new maritime technology. The authors take a holistic approach based on a model of the socio-technical system of work in the maritime domain. They synthesize available knowledge and research, then present in an easily acceptable framework with example, illustrations, and case studies whenever possible, making the text rigorous, useful, and enjoyable. The three authors draw on a range of diverse backgrounds including working as a maritime surveyor, transport consultant, human factors lecturer, and mechanical engineer. They have undertaken maritime research in Denmark, Australia, Malta, and the UK. They have published several other human factor books on related topics. This combination of human factors knowledge, maritime wisdom, and substantial publication experience results in a book that is effective and practical.
Publication Date: 2010