Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hotel, Service & Tourism Studies
The following subject headings may be used to locate materials about this subject when searching in VTC Library Catalogue.
Successful event management : a practical handbook by Provides an overview of the events business including market demand for events, the role of suppliers and the social and economic impact of the event business. This title focuses on aspects of event organization including planning an event, financial management, logistics, legal aspects, marketing, public relations and legacies.
Call Number: GT 3405 .S56 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Managing recreation, parks, and leisure services : an introduction by Managing Recreation, Parks, and Leisure Services considers three critical changes in the leisure services field: technology and information resolution, nature of the workforce, and the basic revision of our economy. These changes have greatly impacted the management of human resources, which is the main focus of this book.
Call Number: GV 181.5 .E33 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Bath and Spa by The evolution from yesterdayss bathroom to todays wellness oasis continues to open new frontiers. New spa areas as such can hardly be distinguished at first glance, and could as easily be taken for lounges, meditation rooms or even museums for modern art. Bath design will be increasingly marked by the identity of the user. The deployment of new technologies and materials, the treatment of light and color creates dream-worlds, in which it pays to immerse oneself. With its international selection of projects, Bath & Spa represents the spectrum ranging from small and intimate baths to wide open spa landscapes, all with their own invitation to immerse, relax and let go. With a multitude of design concepts this volume presents the coming together of solid and fluid elements in architecture and interior design.
Call Number: NK 2117 .B33 K89 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The Science of Wine by Praise for the First Edition "Winemaking these days is a complicated process that cannot always be understood intuitively. Fortunately Jamie Goode’s The Science of Wine: From Vine to Glass explains some of the terms that critics toss around. . . . Mr. Goode manages to make then lively and provocative.”--Eric Asimov, New York Times A thoroughly revised and updated Second Edition of this essential and groundbreaking reference gives a comprehensive overview of one of the most fascinating, important, and controversial trends in the world of wine: the scientific and technological innovations that are now influencing how grapes are grown and how wine is made. Jamie Goode, a widely respected authority on wine science, details the key scientific developments relating to viticulture and enology, explains the practical application of science to techniques that are used around the world, and explores how these issues are affecting the quality, flavor, and perception of wine. The only complete and accessibly written resource available on the subject, The Science of Wine: From Vine to Glass engagingly discusses a wide range of topics including terroir, biodynamics, the production of "natural” or manipulation-free wines, the potential effect of climate change on grape growing, the health benefits of wine, and much more. A must-have reference for a wide audience of students, winemakers, wine professionals, and general readers interested in the science of wine. The Second Edition features: * A fresh new design with 100 color illustrations throughout * Discussions of some of the most hotly debated issues including genetically modified grapevines, sulphur dioxide, the future of cork, and wine flavor chemistry * New chapters on soils and vines, the science of grape varieties, oxygen management and wine quality, red wine production techniques, and the role of language to describe the subtleties of taste
Call Number: TP 548 .G66 2014
Publication Date: 2014
飲料與調酒概論 by 飲料 [Beverage] 是泛指不屬於餐食, 而可以飲用的液體 (A Drinkable Liquid). 具有補充人體水份, 或供給養份提供熱量, 有的可以促進食慾, 幫助消化, 有的具興奮提神的作用, 本書探討內容深入, 就各種非酒精性飲料的源起, 製作, 種類等做深入介紹, 並詳實完整介紹酒的流傳, 葡萄酒的生產趨勢, 蒸餾酒的熟成, 合成酒的種類, 香檳酒的傳統生產方法, 雞尾酒酒譜......等. 每一個國家, 因民風習俗, 地理環境, 人文歷史因素等各種差異都有其具代表性的飲料, 調配的方式和飲用的習慣, 更各有巧妙不同, 但無論是那一個國家, 那一地的營業場所, 莫不竭盡所能的以各種方式, 調配出五彩繽紛, 口感宜人, 能吸引客人, 可以搭配餐食, 滿足客人需求, 以期達到飲料調製的最佳境界.
Call Number: TX 815 .Y56 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Educational Strategies for the Next Generation Leaders in Hotel Management by As the hospitality industry continues to grow, managers and educators are faced with the task of preparing future hospitality professionals for a rewarding but challenging career. Due to the impact of an ever-changing economy on the industry as a whole, the education of hotel managers and professionals has become an increasingly important area of study. Educational Strategies for the Next Generation Leaders in Hotel Management combines practical experience with the effective pedagogical approaches being implemented in higher learning institutions and hospitality programs internationally. Highlighting key issues surrounding the current and future scope of hotel management and the skills and knowledge necessary for career success in the hospitality industry, this publication is an essential reference source for hospitality managers, educators, and students interested in the future of the industry and the best practices for hospitality education. This publication features timely, research-based chapters and analysis relevant to topics in the hospitality industry including, but not limited to, craft-based learning, e-learning, higher education, hospitality management, human resources, opening delays, professional development, six sigma, women in global leadership, and work integrated learning.
Call Number: TX 911.5 .E38 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Catering by Catering: A Guide to Managing a Successful Business Operation, Second Edition provides the reader with the tools to fully understand the challenges and benefits of running a successful catering business. Catering was written as an easy-to-follow guide using a simple step-by-step format and provides comprehensive coverage of all types of catering. This is a significant contrast to other texts which are geared to a specific segment of catering such as on-premise, off-premise, or corporate dining. The graduate who decides to enter into catering will be charged with providing the "restaurant" experience to their clients and optimizing profits for their employer. Catering will assist them in achieving these goals.
Call Number: TX 921 .M38 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Call numbers with the prefix "REF" indicate that the publications are in the Reference Collection. These materials will assist you in finding background information, key concepts, terms and bibliographies that related to the subject. Examples are as follows:
Yearbook of tourism statistics by Understanding, for each country, where its inbound tourism is generated is essential for analysing international tourism flows and devising marketing strategies, such as those related to the positioning of national markets abroad. Deriving from the most comprehensive statistical database available on the tourism sector, the Yearbook of Tourism Statistics focuses on data related to inbound tourism (total arrivals and overnight stays), broken down by country of origin.
Call Number: G 155 .A1 Y42 2014
Trailer Life RV Parks, Campgrounds, and Services Directory 2009 by Life on the road is always easier, more secure, and more fun with this massive directory. The experts at Trailer Life have assembled complete listings and information for over 11,000 parks, service centers, and attractions. Featuring 70 digital maps complete with bridge, ferry, tunnel, and toll information, the book includes online reservations at a glance (a handy index of campgrounds and RV parks that let the RVer book online); a list of North American campgrounds with Internet and WiFi access; and phone numbers giving up-to-the-minute readings on weather and traffic in each state and Canada. The Directory also lists the "rules of the road" and towing laws from Alabama to Wyoming. This guide, the official directory of the Good Sam Club, makes sure travelers are never lost, in danger, or unprepared for what lies ahead.
Call Number: GV 198.56 .T73 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Dictionary of Flavors by <i>Dictionary of Flavors</i> provides information on flavors, flavor chemistry and natural products, as well as a perspective on the related fields of regulatory, sensory, chemistry, biology, pharmacology, business, bacteriology, marketing and psychology. Flavors covered include those used in food and beverages, tobacco flavorings, alcoholic beverages, and pet and animal foods. Comparative flavor chemistry is used to evaluate and describe homologous groups of similar chemical structures. Author and flavor chemist De Rovira has collated the G.R.A.S. ingredients into chemically similar groups, where those structural relationships would dictate flavor attribute similarities, allowing predictable aroma types that can be more easily recalled and developed. Coverage in the second edition is extended to include the many significant and recent changes in the fields of flavor chemistry, food technology, and regulatory. Definitions of many items are expanded and inclusion of new items is extensive. <p>To view figures from the book in full color please visit <a href="http://www.flavordynamics.com/">www.flavordynamics.com.</p>
Call Number: TP 418 .D4 2008
Publication Date: 2008-04-28
Hugh Johnson's wine companion : the encyclopedia of wines, vineyards, & winemakers by This new full-color extended sixth edition of Hugh Johnson's Wine Companion is the most up-to-date, comprehensive, authoritative, and easy-to-use source of information on the world's wines and winemakers. Hugh Johnson's Wine Companion presents a unique approach to wine and wine producers, combining detailed information with practical advice on how to enjoy wine to the fullest. Already praised for its wealth of information, the book has been extensively revised and updated by Stephen Brook, with over 70% of the content changed, to take account of the latest developments in the fast-changing world of wine, be they human, cultural, or geographic. Color maps and photographs and detailed glossaries of the wines of each region are just two of the additions for this exciting new edition.
Call Number: TP 546 .J63 2009
Publication Date: 2009-09-15
Larousse gastronomique by This reference work is a cookery encyclopaedia, known for its authoritative and comprehensive account of the culinary world, past and present. It covers nearly every ingredient and cooking style in history, offers advice on appliances and recipes, and presents developments in nutrition. It includes recipes and a recipe index.
Call Number: TX 349 .M613 2009
Publication Date: 2009
英漢餐飲詞典 by English-Chinese dictionary of food and drink.
Call Number: TX 350 .Y45 2008
Publication Date: 2008
A Consumer's Dictionary of Food Additives, 7th Edition by An Essential Household Reference...Revised and Updated With our culture's growing interest in organic foods and healthy eating, it is important to understand what food labels mean and to learn how to read between the lines. This completely revised and updated edition of "A Consumer's Dictionary of Food Additives" gives you the facts about the safety and side effects of more than 12,000 ingredients-such as preservatives, food-tainting pesticides, and animal drugs-that end up in food as a result of processing and curing. It tells you what's safe and what you should leave on the grocery-store shelves. In addition to updated entries that cover the latest medical and scientific research on substances such as food enhancers and preservatives, this must-have guide includes more than 650 new chemicals now commonly used in food. You'll also find information on modern food-production technologies such as bovine growth hormone and genetically engineered vegetables. Alphabetically organized, cross-referenced, and written in everyday language, this is a precise tool for understanding food labels and knowing which products are best to bring home to your family.
Call Number: TX 553 .A3 W55 2009
Publication Date: 2009-04-14
Call Number: TX 724.5 .C5 Z4662 2007
Publication Date: 2007
International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management by The International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management is the definitive reference work for any individual studying or working in the hospitality industry. There are 185 Hospitality Management degrees in the UK alone. This new edition updates and significantly revises twenty five per cent of the entries and has an additional twenty new entries. New online material makes it the most up-to-date and accessible hospitality management encyclopedia on the market. It covers all of the relevant issues in the field of hospitality management from a sectoral level (lodging, restaurants/food service, time-share, clubs and events) as well as a functional one (accounting and finance, marketing, strategic management, human resources, information technology and facilities management). Its unique, user-friendly structure enables readers to find exactly the information they require at a glance; whether they require broad detail that takes a more cross-sectional view across each subject field or more focused information that looks closely at specific topics and issues within the hospitality industry today.
Call Number: TX 905 .I58 2010
Publication Date: 2010-06-21