Skip to main content

Information Technology

This guide introduces you to some sources about Information Technology available in VTC Libraries. All materials can be searched in the VTC Library Catalogue. Internet links to relevant sites can also be accessed vic Library Homepage.

Encore Search

Advanced Search

Call numbers with the prefix "REF" indicate that the publications are in the Reference Collection. These materials will assist you in finding background information, key concepts, terms and bibliographies that related to the subject. Examples are as follows:

   PRINTED Printed material

香港資訊科技指南 = Hong Kong IT directory

HD 9696.63 .H85 X53

PRINTED Printed material

實用日英漢電腦辭典 = Personal computer encyclopedia 21st century  

QA 76.15 .A3312 2007

PRINTED Printed material

電腦專有名詞寶典

 QA 76.15 .D497 2003

 Book Cover

Oxford dictionary of Computing

QA 76.15 .D526 2008

Book Cover 

Wiley encyclopedia of computer science and engineering

QA 76.15 .W545 2009

Book Cover

Encyclopedia of database systems

QA 76.9 .D32 E63 2009

PRINTED Printed material                     

The Software encyclopedia

QA 76.753 .S67

PRINTED Printed material  

21 世紀IT網路科技詞典

TK 5105.875 .I57 H43 2005

PRINTED Printed material  

Web site source book

TK 5105 .888 .W43

eBooks can be accessed via Library Homepage (http://library.vtc.edu.hk/english/eres/ebk.htm)

The following eBooks are some examples:

Books

24 X 7

PRINTED 

Innovation for Media Content Creation: Tools and Strategies for Delivering Successful Content / Marlon Quintero , 2015

PRINTED 

Mastering Mobile Learning: Tips and Techniques for Success / Chad Udell and Gary Woodill, 2015  

PRINTED 

Applying Learning Theory to Mobile Learning / Margaret Driscoll and Angela van Barneveld, 2015

PRINTED 

The Visual Organization: Data Visualization, Big Data, and the Quest for Better Decisions / by  Phil Simon, 2014

PRINTED 

Cloud Computing: The Glide Of Story / by  Donald Leka and Claire Leka, 2013

PRINTED 

Information, Technology, and Innovation : Resources for Growth in a Connected World / by  John M. Jordan, 2012 

eBrary

Gaming the System : Designing with Gamestar Mechanic /Katie Tekinbas,  Gresalfi Salen, Peppler Melissa, 2015

 

Reality Mining : Using Big Data to Engineer a Better World / Nathan   Eagle, Kate Greene, 2014  

book cover

FOCUS Series : Smart SOA Platforms in Cloud Computing Architectures / Ernesto Exposito, Codé Diop, 2014

book cover

Wiley Series on Parallel and Distributed Computing : High-Performance Computing on Complex Environments / Emmanuel Jeannot, Julius Zilinskas, 2014

CRCnetBASE

PRINTED eBook

Get Certified: A Guide to Wireless Communication Engineering Technologies

E-Books (Wiley)

 

Data mining methods and models / Daniel T. Larose

 

 

Concept data analysis : theory and applications / Claudio Carpineto, Giovanni Romano

book cover

Database design and development : an essential guide for IT professionals / Paulraj Ponniah

book cover

Managing IP networks : challenges and opportunities

 

These provide full text or bibliographic information to journal articles and conference papers via Library Homepage

(http://library.vtc.edu.hk/english/eres/edb.htm).

 

ACM Digital Library

BSI (British Standards Institution)

ProQuest Telecommunications

 

Call numbers with prefix "PER" can be found in the Periodical / Serials Section. Listed below are some current journal titles:

PRINTED  PRINTED

Information and software technology

PER

HF 5548.2 .I535

PRINTED  PRINTED

ISACA journal

PER

HF 5548.35 .I8

PRINTED  PRINTED

資訊與電腦 = Intelligent times

PER

QA 75.5 .T9

PRINTED  PRINTED

IEEE micro

PER

QA 76.5 .I16

PRINTED  PRINTED

Oracle magazine

PER

QA 76.75 .O7

PRINTED  PRINTED

Mac format

PER

QA 76.76 .O63 M334

PRINTED  PRINTED

CGM = 數字娛樂技術

PER

T 385 .C36

PRINTED  PRINTED

Computer graphics world

PER

T 385 .C558

PRINTED  PRINTED

The journal of the Institute of Telecommunications professionals

PER

TK 5101 .A1 B76

PRINTED  PRINTED

.Net

PER

TK 5105.888 .P73

PRINTED  PRINTED

Web designer

PER

TK 5105.888 .W4323

eJournal

Journal of technology management in China

 

 

Note: Some electronic journals can also be found on the Library Homepage (http://library.vtc.edu.hk/english/eres/ejou.htm)

 

Audio-visual materials (e.g. audio-cassettes, computer disks, video tapes, CD-ROMs, video cassettes ... ) are indicated by a prefix "AV" to the call number and they are generally available for use in the Audio-visual / Multi-media Section. Prefixes for AV materials are as follows:

Prefix

Format

AVD

Compact discs, Computer disks, Digital video discs, Laser discs, Video compact discs

AVO

Kits, Microforms, Slides

The following is a list of some examples of the AV materials:

Book Cover

A+ guide to managing and maintaining your PC

QA 76.3 .A56 2011

Book Cover

A+ guide to software

QA 76.3 .A632 2011

Book Cover

Ubuntu Linux starter kit

QA 76.76 .O63 U28 2010

Book Cover

 

XHTML / Anthony Knox

QA 76.76 .H94 K662 2008

DVD disk disk

TCP/IP for Windows

TK 5105.585 .D57 2008

Book Cover

New perspectives on Adobe Dreamweaver CS4 : comprehensive

TK 5105.8885 .D74 H3784 2010

Loading
VTC